• October 21, 2018, 03:13:32 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped  (Read 6715 times)

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« on: October 19, 2013, 02:04:12 AM »

I have recently got internet hooked up via a business partner. My internet is run of a radio transmitter on my roof to the tower on his office about 1.2 km away. I have a dedicated 7MBPS sustained and 4 MBPS Upload. On xbox live I get an error stating that my nat is moderate and that my "experience will be down graded. My provider doesnt use a NAT at all. Ive tried, DMZ, Port Forwarding, QoS, Application Rules, Upnp. Restored factory settings on my xbox, restored factory settings on my router. Ive noticed some lag and slow downs, I know its not my connection since I have 7mbps dedicated at all times for one xbox and 4 mbps upload. So im thinking there is a block somewhere. What exactly does the NAT do and how big of a factor is it. Any advice would be great. Oh and my router is a DIR-850L

oh and I am hardwired to the router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 10:44:59 AM »

      Link>
Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.


Also FYI, those speeds are kind of low for playing on XBL and in multi-player games. I have a friend with similar speeds and it's really hard for him to game well, however he's on DSL. 2ndly, gaming over a wireless ISP connection will be problematic as well in regards to game performance and lag. I've gamed with others on wireless ISP services and it's very hard to get good gaming performances and it effect everyone your connected with in the game.

Let see if we can at least get your NAT OPEN and go from there. What game are you seeing this in?

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2013, 02:05:31 PM »

Ive been seeing this in Call of duty Black Ops 2 and When I test my connection to xbox live it says moderate nat as well. I used to have 50mbps down and 3 mbps up with telus. I am a million times faster speeds due to the fact that telus is burstable and not sustained. I have 100 % signal strength and I am running 7 - 8 True Megs down which is hard to find. Unless your a business and wanting to spend about 600 a month. Up here is Alberta anyway
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2013, 02:08:43 PM »

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

I play BO2 as well...
« Last Edit: October 19, 2013, 02:11:53 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2013, 02:58:04 PM »

D Link DIR 850L
Model : DIR 850LA1

and I dont have a modem, It goes straight from my AT Receiver on my roof to the router, nothing in between
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2013, 03:12:11 PM »

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2013, 06:54:46 PM »

I attempted to follow your guide, but your screen shots dont match up to my interface or settings. seems different
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2013, 10:57:08 AM »

ok, does it look like this one?
DIR-645/835/868L/865L/826L Gaming and QoS for XBL

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2013, 01:34:24 PM »

sure if its not too much trouble, already have team viewer installed, ill be back on the forums within the hour
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2013, 10:13:15 AM »

Send me a PM with the ID and PW and please be wired to the back of the router....
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2013, 04:01:29 PM »

I am happy to report that the NAT is now open, After upgrading firmware to 1.09 and resetting the router we are now running an open nat. What I am now curious about is QOS settings. I should be able to follow your directions on that to give this priority right?
Logged

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2013, 04:21:29 PM »

QOS Settings are in, Port forwarding settings are in, Ill report back soon ;D
Logged

infamousgamer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2013, 05:30:27 PM »

all runs perfect, green bars every round and open nat
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 46015
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Avid Xbox Live Gamer, Stumped
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2013, 06:02:51 PM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!