• November 19, 2019, 01:52:49 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05  (Read 10550 times)

FayeC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
« on: September 19, 2013, 05:15:21 AM »

I've been reading the forums looking for information on this issue.
Found other routers with similar problem and tried their fixes (when possible) to no avail.
I don't have the router registered on mydlink anymore as it was one of the reported causes of this issue. It's a brand new, clean set up using OpenDNS servers in the Setup>>Internet>>Manual Internet Setup
Configuration is saved and I have flushed the DNS resolver as well as cleaned the cache on the browser but yet, the OpenDNS updater still reports as not using OpenDNS and all sites are accessible.
Someone on the 825 forum mentioned parental controls but the 850 UI doesn;t have parental controls under Setup.
Can someone tell me if upgrading to the latest FW might solve this issue?

Thank you,

Flavia
« Last Edit: September 19, 2013, 06:19:28 PM by FayeC »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: OenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2013, 07:30:54 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Ya, Parental Control is not listed in the user manual and is probably not a main feature for the 850L. I presume that if you need OPEN DNS and Parental Control, you'll need to find a different model DIR series, that has this. I know the DIR-865L has this Parental Control feature.

Doing any FW updates will not install the feature that you need. However you could install the latest and see. I highly recommend that you phone contact D-Link support and ask them which models specifically support OPEN DNS and the Parental Controls that you need. D-Link makes various model routers and not all carry the same features.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FayeC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2013, 08:44:07 AM »

Ok...follow up on the issue.
I have HW: A1
Had originally the FW 1.05 as posted in the subject line.

Called D-Link support and was told to upgrade FW to 1.09.

I did and it now works.
So for those having the same issue, upgrade to 1.09 and it should fix the issue. No exchanging hardware for me.

Thanks,

Flavia
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SOLVED: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2013, 08:47:23 AM »

Awesome and thanks for sharing and glad its working for you now. Enjoy.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FayeC

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2013, 06:20:58 PM »

Have to take a step back on that. The issue was fixed for a short time but then it is now not working again. I've checked the configuration on the router, on OpenDNS, flushed the resolver cache again and yet, nothing.
Calling them back tomorrow.
Will keep you updated.

Flavia
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2013, 07:11:02 PM »

    Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
    • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
    • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
    • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
    • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
    • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
    Logged
    Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
    Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

    FayeC

    • Level 1 Member
    • *
    • Posts: 20
    Re: OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
    « Reply #6 on: September 20, 2013, 12:02:54 PM »

    Here are the answers:

    1- Cogeco Communications, Ontario, Canada - Cable
    2 - Arris TM722G (http://www.wavebroadband.com/support/internet/docs/TM722-Telephony-Modem-User-Guide.pdf)
    3-http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/2980573685
    4- MTU tests say 1472 but I'm on cable. So that's confusing.
    Maybe that's the issue.

    Fayec


      Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
      • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
      • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
      • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
      • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
      • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
      [/list]
      Logged

      FurryNutz

      • Poweruser
      •   ▲
        ▲ ▲
      • *****
      • Posts: 47912
      • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
        • Router Troubleshooting
      Re: OPEN: OpenDNS and DIR-850L /FW 1.05
      « Reply #7 on: September 20, 2013, 12:33:46 PM »

      What the setting for now? 1500? Technically it should be however you could try 1472 as a test. You can always go back to 1500. You might phone contact your ISP and see what they support or should be on there system.

      Also this ISP modem is not a router as well so that rules that out. I'm not particularly a fan of Arris modems.  :-\
      Logged
      Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
      Go Here>Router Troubleshooting