• April 07, 2020, 10:52:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI  (Read 50534 times)

Mosty

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2015, 10:12:00 AM »

Hi guys,

Just resurrecting this to see if there was a resolution, am experiencing the same situation (also VM SuperHub router).

Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2015, 10:28:48 AM »

Does the DNS power up when not connected to any router?
Check the power adapter for correct voltages, if the output voltage is a bit low or not the same as listed on the sticker, this could cause the DNS to fail to start correctly. Remove the drives and test as well. Try a different out let.

If any of this fails, I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.


Hi guys,

Just resurrecting this to see if there was a resolution, am experiencing the same situation (also VM SuperHub router).

Thanks
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

laomai

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2015, 07:17:12 AM »

Am a long sufferer of the blue blinking light problem and I finally found the solution!
Thanks to cmazzi and dslguru in the post http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55647.0

The problem is really due to a faulty temperature sensor. I used to have to wait many hours after restarting or upgrading firmware before the NAS can boot again. The same happen to me again after I upgraded to 1.06 firmware and had to reboot. Because I stayed in Singapore and it's so warm here, it could not boot up despite more than 24hrs' wait. Finally I decided to try what dslguru did which was to put it in a fridge (not freezer). 10 mins later, I plugged it in and it boot successfully.

Am so grateful that I registered an account here to share the solution. Thanks everyone here. especially JavaLawyer.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2015, 04:08:52 PM »

Can you put the DNS on top of a Laptop cooler to help keep the device cool?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

laomai

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2015, 04:46:13 PM »

Hmm I don't have a laptop cooler to try so I don't know. May not help a lot in my instance as the ambient temperature is high. Also the DNS works fine after booting up so I only need to cool it down when rebooting.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2015, 04:48:36 PM »

Might give it a try. Or place some forum of air induction behind the unit to help draw the heat out from the inside...It won't hurt to have some additional air flow. Also you might try to find a cooler place for the unit as well if possible.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

drc954

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2015, 09:38:40 PM »

I'll second the laptop cooler method. Same as Singapore, Jakarta is not any cooler and my DNS320L occasionally shutdowns because it exceeds the temperature threshold . Then it won't boot up, gives the blinking blue LED symptoms. What I do is to dismantle/take out the HDD, and let it cool down on a laptop cooler. I also have those cheapo USB fan, which I use to cool down the main unit (the fridge trick is nice, I'll try it next time). It takes about 10 to 15 minutes for the HDD to be "cold," I mean, you know when metal is not hot or warm. Reassemble, and plug back to the network, boots back as expected. But frankly, it does show that this design, isn't for tropical countries  :-\
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser

  • ▲▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #22 on: November 02, 2015, 07:20:55 AM »

Thanks for posting feed back. Ya, seems that these units need additional cooling in warmer climates.  ::)

I'll second the laptop cooler method. Same as Singapore, Jakarta is not any cooler and my DNS320L occasionally shutdowns because it exceeds the temperature threshold . Then it won't boot up, gives the blinking blue LED symptoms. What I do is to dismantle/take out the HDD, and let it cool down on a laptop cooler. I also have those cheapo USB fan, which I use to cool down the main unit (the fridge trick is nice, I'll try it next time). It takes about 10 to 15 minutes for the HDD to be "cold," I mean, you know when metal is not hot or warm. Reassemble, and plug back to the network, boots back as expected. But frankly, it does show that this design, isn't for tropical countries  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

fjl

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #23 on: June 26, 2016, 09:01:31 AM »

I also found that the 320L has a BIOS battery located at the bottom of the motherboard (under the drives). Once this battery dies the system will not boot properly. Replacing it solved the problem.
Logged

jsslave

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #24 on: June 26, 2016, 09:40:26 AM »

Same problem. In the beginning it was irregular and after some attempt it started. But the last time there is no way to power on, the led blinks and the NAS doesn't start. I try with and without HDD, I try to remove the battery, nothing to do. So I just buy the DNS-327L.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #25 on: June 26, 2016, 01:39:31 PM »

Just a quick question.  Have you checked the power supply is producing 12volts @ 3Amps? 

Just measuring the voltage will not give a correct reading because it is a 'switching' power supply and if a component is faulty it can show 12v without load but that can drop under load (below 10v the NAS box circuits do not work correctly even though the LEDs might flash - the disks need a minimum of 11.8v to be able to spin the platter up and 4.8v for the control firmware to position the heads).
Logged

c.crush

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2016, 01:40:41 AM »

Hello
I have the same problem or similar
Every time I turn off and on or restart the device, it starts blinking and never stops.
But if I leave it off for an hour or more and turn it on then it starts without problems
It happens to me with the last firmware and with several previous ones.
It's not a temperature problem, when is working it reaches only 100F/38
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #27 on: December 10, 2016, 07:09:07 AM »

Most probably your power supply has a capacitor that is losing capacity when hot.  Try another power supply that can supply 12v @ 3A.

If that does not work check the cmos battery in the unit (sorry but this does mean you have to take it apart so mark the drives with which slot they are in so they go back in the same place).

Anything else requires some knowledge of electronics to know what to look for.
Logged

c.crush

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #28 on: December 11, 2016, 01:27:49 AM »

It is neither the power supply or the battery, I have tried with another
 power supply and does the same and the battery I put it new a short time ago.
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1471
Re: 320L Unable to use - Power light flashing, no web UI
« Reply #29 on: December 11, 2016, 04:19:36 AM »

OK, that has eliminated the usual reasons for what you are seeing.

The next thing you need to do is make a full backup of your data in the NAS (make sure you can read the backup data), because it could stop working if it is a component failing and I include the disks as components here.

Since you only see this when you switch off your NAS and switch it on again after a short time why not leave it on 24/7/365 as we do?  All our, and our clients, NAS boxes get switched off once a year when they are cleaned out inside.  In the years we, and our clients, have been using D-Link NAS boxes we have seen power supplies that have died and a couple of disks that didn't pass the full SMART test, other than that no problems.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3