• November 22, 2019, 11:53:32 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?  (Read 22373 times)

Need2Knw

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11

Does anyone know how to activate a PCMCIA card like the Pantech PX-500 air card so that I can connect it into the DIR-450?
I am thinking about buying it but I don't have a PCMCIA slot on my desktop or my laptop computer, and I'd like to create a continuous wireless network with internet access with the DIR-450 and the air card. (There isn't any DSL where I live  :-[ )
I know that the Sierra 250U I had to connect to my PC to finish the activation process so I'm assuming that I'd have to do the same with the air card.
Only so that I can just remove it to stick in to the DIR-450.  :P
Any ideas?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2012, 02:21:57 PM »

You should contact PANTECH and ask them if they have a particular process for activating cards. I would also talk to your ISP as well and make sure they service and support this particular card on there network. I presume they do. They might also know how to activate it.

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Need2Knw

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2012, 02:44:17 PM »

Yeah this is a legacy device. Meaning...no longer supported. :(
First I'd have to install the Windows 7 compatible software program then connect the device to install the drivers and then finish the activation process.  :P

OR... I could buy a PCI to PCMCIA Controller Card ENE Chipset and install it on my desktop and then activate it and then remove the card and insert it into the router.  ::)

« Last Edit: November 20, 2012, 02:52:46 PM by Need2Knw »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: How do I activate a PCMCIA air card w/out PCMCIA Card Slot on computer?
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2012, 01:41:21 PM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting