• October 21, 2020, 09:43:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-636L Web Admin Bug?  (Read 8250 times)

oliverleung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DIR-636L Web Admin Bug?
« on: September 22, 2013, 05:04:29 AM »

In shortly, 3 questions, if any one encountered the following questions, please feel free to share.
1)   DIR-636L no “logout” button? Only can wait for its auto logout?
2)   Cannot load web admin page but Internet/Intranet connections normal.
3)   Wait for over 4 minutes to connect to Internet after DIR-636L rebooted.



I am using DI-624S for few years and recently bought this DIR-636L as it supports gigabit Ethernet and LAN. The following test I have tried several times already.

Post my current firmware version first: [My Internet connection is DHCP, no modem, no switch, Internet cable is directly connected to DIR-636L]



Details:
1)   I cannot found where I can logout the admin page…. Or this model didn’t support this function? Any security issue??

2)   I found that when I do the following action, the web page cannot be loaded anymore. (from local LAN and remote admin) I didn’t know why this will happen! I have tested it for several times, 100% cannot load the web admin page and I need to reboot the router by hand manually.


Go to the Ping Test page, and try to ping “www.google.com”


Press the “Ping” and it just shown “Ping Test”


ping again with IPv6, same result.


Then, the admin page cannot be loaded anymore! At this moment, the Internet/Intranet connection is still working properly. It got response while pinging router IP and Google.



3)   It takes long time to connect to the Internet after router reboot.

After router reboot and the two lights in router turns green. I can access the web admin login page.


After 2:30 minutes, still cannot ping www.google.com


About 4:30 minutes, it can ping google and connection resumed to normal. Is it a normal aspect? As I have tried to renew the ip address in the following page and it can update immediately after I can load the following page. Unfortunately, I cannot ping external websites (by Domain Name or IP address) even I can update IP address in router page! I have checked the routing table and it is normal and correctly configured.


Please help to check for this case, thank you!

Regards,
Oliver
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-636L Web Admin Bug?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2013, 07:13:07 AM »

        Link>
Welcome!
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.


Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection

 
D-Link products do not have a log out feature.[/list][/list][/list]
« Last Edit: September 23, 2013, 07:16:39 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

oliverleung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DIR-636L Web Admin Bug?
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2013, 09:11:23 AM »

        Welcome!

            What region are you located?
Hong Kong
    Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Wired
    Has a Factory Reset been performed? Bought two months before and updated to the newest firmware and found these problems.
    Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch? /
    Was the router working before any firmware updates? I don't remember what is the previous firmware version..


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations

    What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? DSL
    What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? No modem
    What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? 100Mbps
    If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Just one router, 192.168.0.1 is the web admin page
    Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values Not related
    For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled. Not related


Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.

    Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel. Disabled already.
    Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP. Set obtain from ISP
    Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
    Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench Not related
    Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting. Set a list of IP for DHCP
    Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
    If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6. Used IPv4
    Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall. Enable or Disable SPI to test. Not related
    Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used. Disabled
    Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced. Not related
    WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed Set auto
    Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time. Time is sync


    Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended. Not related


Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using? IE 10, Firefox
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again. Tried
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings. Not related
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors Not related
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar Not related
Predict network actions to improve page load performance Not related
Enable phishing and malware protection Not related

 
D-Link products do not have a log out feature.[/list][/list][/list]



I would like a more precise feedback to my questions.... and I would like you to test for my scenario and troubleshoot the problem. Thank you!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49275
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-636L Web Admin Bug?
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2013, 09:49:13 AM »

You'll need to phone contact your regional D-Link support office for your region and get help on this. FW is region specific as are the languages and how they are displayed. I do not have this particular model router nor language pack so I would not be able to test this for you.

Let us know how it goes. Good Luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!