• November 18, 2019, 04:34:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: Backup to 3TB USB drive  (Read 14705 times)

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2015, 11:41:19 AM »

Primary partition, GPT. Ext4. Nothing. It doesn't mount it.
Logged

philphil61

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2015, 11:52:18 AM »

Primary partition, GPT. Ext4. Nothing. It doesn't mount it.

I wonder if there is a size restriction - meaning it'll accept/work with any 2TB drive but not with anything bigger?


@jkayca - could you be more specific in how you partitioned the USB hard drive?
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2015, 12:08:05 PM »

I wonder if there is a size restriction - meaning it'll accept/work with any 2TB drive but not with anything bigger?

The fact is with fat32 partitioning there is no size restriction and I was using it with no problem (it's a 4TB and with fat32 it worked). But I needed to store larger files so I changed it and since then, it's not working.
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #18 on: August 25, 2015, 01:51:45 AM »

This will help you, I guess.
After the first attempt with NTFS filesystem, I had upgraded my firmware to Security Patch Firmware (1.06.B03). Now, to test once more the HD, I formatted it to FAT32 again, but still I wasn't able to get it working.
So I downgraded to 1.04.B12 and now it's correctly reading the FAT32 formatted HD. So it seems that this new firmware has some problems mounting USB devices.
But still, I formatted again with GPT + ext3 and it doesn't mount it. What can I do?
Logged

philphil61

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #19 on: August 25, 2015, 06:03:17 AM »

This will help you, I guess.
After the first attempt with NTFS filesystem, I had upgraded my firmware to Security Patch Firmware (1.06.B03). Now, to test once more the HD, I formatted it to FAT32 again, but still I wasn't able to get it working.
So I downgraded to 1.04.B12 and now it's correctly reading the FAT32 formatted HD. So it seems that this new firmware has some problems mounting USB devices.
But still, I formatted again with GPT + ext3 and it doesn't mount it. What can I do?

I'm no specialist or geek BUT

Why EXT3? it's a linux based format yet the USB port should AFAIK accept standard formats
I understand the restriction of file size for FAT32 so did you try EXFAT? - check with other sources/knowledgeable people first

Again I go back to my first "thought" is there possibly a restriction of HD size using the USB port?
Logged

jkayca

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2015, 06:22:15 AM »

Sorry for the late response. I tried redoing what I did previously so I could record the exact steps to get this all going. Unfortunately, I'm running into the same issues and more! When I reboot the NAS with my USB drive attached, the NAS never finishes powering up. The power light is blinking and the USB light is orange/red. If I disconnect the drive, the power sequence completes. I can plug the drive back in but the drive isn't recognized properly. FYI, I also upgraded recently to 1.05 firmware.

I'm going to play around with this some more tonight.
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2015, 06:53:09 AM »

@philphil61

I tried one of the linux filesystems just to see if it worked (and ext3 would have been good since it would let me store large files). But since it doesn't, I will check exfat and shall come back to you.

@ jkayca

Oh, no! I'm really sorry you missed the only thing important you had got for yourself. I'm really sorry. I have the same error: lights are all blue as if it was working correctly, but it doesn't mount (and now I'm back with old firmware). I'll let you know with exfat reformatting. Hold on!
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2015, 07:08:16 AM »

No way. Exfat is being seen by NAS, but can't be mounted.
Logged

philphil61

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #23 on: August 25, 2015, 09:37:20 AM »

No way. Exfat is being seen by NAS, but can't be mounted.

Apologises qiuvax - I don't understand what you mean by "Exfat is being seen by NAS, but can't be mounted"

Unless it's this 2Tb size restriction I keep going on about

I don't want to waste your time but I know how frustrating it can be to find a fix....  therefore can you try to partition the 3Tb so that the size of the "active partition is 2Tb or less

HTH
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2015, 09:48:18 AM »

Apologises qiuvax - I don't understand what you mean by "Exfat is being seen by NAS, but can't be mounted"

You don't need to apologize at all :)
I mean this. In the NAS control panel, in the page Management -> System Management -> USB devices, I can see a "Manufacturer   Intenso Product   USB 3.0 Device" line. But when disks are really mounted, in this section a new line is added, which shows the size and the label of the volume. When the disk was formatted as FAT32, the third line was showing "UsbDisk1_1 - xxxGB - etc.". Now the third line with these infos is missing, and I can't see the disk in every other menu, for example the one who manages the network shares. It's the same thing when a disk has an error and the computer can see it (for example in gparted) but cannot mount it.
With FAT32 I could see it entirely as it was though it is 3TB. I'm gonna try make two partitions smaller than 2 TB to test your hypothesis.
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #25 on: August 25, 2015, 09:56:48 AM »

Nothing. Two partitions smaller than 2TB and still it doesn't mount them.
Logged

philphil61

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 256
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2015, 12:59:25 PM »

Nothing. Two partitions smaller than 2TB and still it doesn't mount them.

Thanks for understanding ;)

Well it rules out the 2Tb restriction I had thought of

Maybe it's software related - inability of D Link to recognise any USB storage media unless it's FAT32?  IDK

maybe a quick email to D Link via the support tab on mydlink will get some answers...  hopefully
Logged

giuvax

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #27 on: August 25, 2015, 11:16:57 PM »

I just sent a message to mydlink support. I'll let you know. Thank you guys.
Logged

Budgey

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #28 on: December 04, 2016, 04:59:51 AM »

I just sent a message to mydlink support. I'll let you know. Thank you guys.

Hi, Did you by any chance get a resolution from D-Link regarding this problem?
I'm a fellow sufferer.  :)
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1454
Re: Backup to 3TB USB drive
« Reply #29 on: December 04, 2016, 07:56:35 AM »

To add a bit of information.

The maximum volume size for FAR32 formatted volumes depends on how you format it.

You need to setup the format with the size of both sectors and clusters otherwise it defaults to 2TB maximum.  The list below gives the necessary information:

2 TiB (with 512 byte sectors)
8 TiB (with 2 KiB sectors and 32 KiB clusters)
16 TiB (with 4 KiB sectors and 64 KiB clusters)

Use this information to correctly format a USB device because if you don't you will have problems.  It can appear to format with the incorrect settings but most Linux based equipment will not 'see' it or mount it.

Edit:
I should add that there can also be problems when using old USB caddies, some of them have restrictions on the size of the drive they can use.  It should also be noted that USB sticks/thumb drives with a USB 3 interface may not work as expected on older NAS boxes with USB 2 interfaces.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2016, 08:05:36 AM by ivan »
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3