• April 07, 2020, 06:15:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: SMB  (Read 14038 times)

whsbuss

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
SMB
« on: September 15, 2013, 08:32:12 PM »

I need to replace my netgear router however I need SMB access to the USB. I have a NAS that does backups to the network attached USB connected to my netgear router. I looked through the manual for the 868L and could not find a Workgroup setting which means my NAS will not find it on the local network and cannot mount it.

Can someone confirm?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SMB
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 07:08:10 AM »

I believe you can access the connected USB drive using the follow example:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52676.0
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

out180

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: SMB
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 08:58:27 AM »

I can also confirm that the method FurryNutz posted works.  I just did it on my 868L w/ FW 1.02.  You do _not_ need to turn on the HTTP(s) SharePort access to mount the attached drive via SMB, which the article states as well.

However, I believe there is a size limit to the attached drive.  FurryNutz can confirm that.
Logged

whsbuss

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMB
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2013, 12:10:40 PM »

Thanks for the replies. But I don't see where you can set the Workgroup in the UI. My NAS (MybookLive) requires seeing the share on the local network when setting up the safepoint backup. On my netgear R6300 (which needs replacing for failing ethernet ports) has the Workgroup field which then is discoverable on the LAN.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SMB
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2013, 12:50:07 PM »

You'll find this under Setup/Network Settings/Local Domain Name for most D-Link routers.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2013, 12:55:01 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

whsbuss

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMB
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2013, 01:15:59 PM »

You'll find this under Setup/Network Settings/Local Domain Name for most D-Link routers.

Really? That's for DNS not the local LAN discovery (I believe).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SMB
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2013, 01:18:52 PM »

Thats for LOCAL LAN discovery. I use this as well and when I look at My Network places, its listed there. I format mine in the following manor:
RouterModel Rev and FW version, i.e. DIR868LA1v102

Makes it intuitive.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

whsbuss

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMB
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2013, 02:01:15 PM »

Thats for LOCAL LAN discovery. I use this as well and when I look at My Network places, its listed there. I format mine in the following manor:
RouterModel Rev and FW version, i.e. DIR868LA1v102

Makes it intuitive.

Thanks for the dialogue on this. Here's my situation.....

I currently have a netgear R6300 that needs to be replaced. It supports USB connections over the local network. I also have a MybookLive NAS that has a feature called Safepoint. Its a backup utility for external devices and when I set it up, it looks on the local network for discoverable network devices. Once found, it sets up the remote mount point to do the backups.

With my R6300 router in the UI for USB admin, it has a field for device name and workgroup. So when the MybookLive sees it, it can identify. There is no way for me to specify an IP address in the MybookLive to discover the device, only via network discovery. Do you think it will work with the 868L? I really want to get this top rated router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SMB
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2013, 02:18:14 PM »

I'm really not sure of this. There isn't a specific USB and workgroup name that is configurable in this type of application. There is SharePort and Cloud access when thats configured. All I know is that if a USB drive is connected, on a MAC or PC, we can map to the drive by using SMB://192.168.0.1/A1_USB or in Windows: \\192.168.0.1\A1_USB. It would seem that interaction of the NAS code and programming of how it behaves and discovers USB drives and possible and if the 868L automatically sends out information when a USB drive is connected could be a point of contention and possible that it might not work. Only way would be to test it out and see. I presume that if you connected a USB drive to a online PC as a test, the NAS would discover the USB drive correctly?

I personally don't use the USB connections for any back ups or large file xfers as USB is not the best in performance compared to wired LAN networking. If your not too concerned about performance then don't worry about it.

I really can't offer much more advise at this point. I would highly recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for level 2 or higher support and see if they can offer you more information and help regarding this if your not going to buy and try one on for size. You might also get a hold of of the Mfr of the NAS and see what they have tested, recommend and support. I presume that they might have done testing on some level with all the various Mfr routers with there NAS, maybe.  :-\

Keep us posted.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2013, 02:21:22 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

whsbuss

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: SMB
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2013, 02:49:26 PM »

Well thanks for all the input. I never used the USB on any router for anything else besides backups. All routers suck with USB throughput. I am going to try that Local Domain name setting and see if the NAS can see it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48553
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: SMB
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2013, 03:30:17 PM »

Let us know how it goes.  ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!