• November 23, 2020, 08:13:20 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless  (Read 11039 times)

DHuitema

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« on: July 23, 2013, 09:20:57 AM »

It works fine with no security, but neither WPA2 or Auto, AES or TKIP, Mixed b/g/n or Mixed g/n or just n works.  I've replaced the automatically created Pre-Shared Key with my own 21 character pass-phrase, too and that didn't fix it. 

I've set up our own ID and 13-character password and set up follows Fuzzy's recommendations .

The devices attempting to access the router all work with other routers, namely 2 iPhones and a MacBook.

Thoughts?

****
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 09:36:01 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try WPA and TPIK only[/b] or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DHuitema

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 07:49:36 PM »

Furry:

Answers to your questions are:

Hdw: B1
Firmware: 2.00 NA
Region: USA

Wired router functions work perfectly, so I've skipped the Router and Wired suggestions.

Results of Wireless suggestions:
Chan width:  already on 20 MHz
Manual Channel selection:  I suspect this is not needed, since I've found wireless works fine with security turned off.    My issue appears to be related to security features, not wireless connectivity.
Security Mode:  already using WPA2 Only and TKIP; have also used (Auto)TKIP and AES.
Other routers: Yes there are several... but wireless works fine without security, so they doesn't seem to me to be an issue.  If they are, what can I do?  I'm already working only about 5 feet from the DIR-601; the other routers are on different floors of my apartment building with reinforced concrete and metal studs between us.
Short GI: tried both checked and unchecked, neither works
WLAN Partition: tried both checked and unchecked, neither works
HT20/40 Co-existence:  NOT AVAIL
Extra Wireless Protection: NOT AVAIL
WMM Enable: tried both checked and unchecked, neither works

I've also tried changing my user password from 13 characters to 8, but it didn't help.  When I sign into another router, everything works fine, so it seems likely to be a problem with the DIR-601.

What else can I do?

****

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 06:52:39 AM »

What devices are you attempting to connect wirelessly? Ensure they are WPA/WPA2 compliant? Some older devices are only WEP.

Try WPA and TPIK? Not WPA2.

Try updating to v2.01:
http://www.dlink.com/us/en/support/product/dir-601-wireless-n-150-home-router?revision=us_revb

If you do, please follow this before updating:
FW Update Process

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DHuitema

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2013, 07:37:52 AM »

Thanks, Furry, but I still need help:

I finally found one problem:

I've misunderstood how to set the device password.  I thought it was set using the Tools/Admin Settings/User Password field ... but I now realize it is for User access to the management interface.

I now know to set the Pass-phrase at: Setup/Wireless/Manual/Pre-Shared Key.


But now, two devices can sign on with a password and a third connects automatically (I don't understand how; I don't recall doing anything that would affect only one device).

Unfortunately the fourth device, an iPhone 5, doesn't even ask for a password now... it just times out and says it can't connect.  HELP!!

****

PS:

FWIW,

1. I think the term Pre-Shared Key (or Pass-phrase; please use just one term, preferably something like "Device Password") is misleading.... and that no Pass-phrase should be automatically created because it gives the appearance that the user need not make an entry in the field.  Users will never use the long (64 character?) automatic Pass-phrase, even if they could see it... which is impossible, of course, since it isn't displayed.

2. In the page Firmware Update Steps you suggested (D-Link topic 42457.0), Step 3 should refer to Tools/Firmware.


« Last Edit: July 27, 2013, 10:11:42 AM by DHuitema »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2013, 10:22:34 AM »

What iOS is loaded on the iPhone 5?

Try WPA and TPIK? Not WPA2.
Try setting the channel width from Auto 20/40Mhz to 20Mhz only.

I use iPhone 4S and have iOS 6.1.2 loaded however my 601 has v2.01 and I always use WPA2 and AES only and don't have any problems connecting the iPhone.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DHuitema

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2013, 11:03:48 AM »

Hi Fury:

My iPhone5 is on 6.1.4, v2.01 and 20MHz.   It has connected to a friend's router perfectly.

Both WPA/TKIP and WPA2/AES give the same failure.

The other devices are now signing on automatically.

What a puzzler!

...****
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2013, 11:21:52 AM »

Winder is there is a problem between the 601 and the iPhone 5.
Is Short GI disabled?
Does the iphone connect if you temporarily disable the wifi security?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

DHuitema

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2013, 11:40:52 AM »

Furry!

GI had been enabled, but disabling it didn't change anything.

Disabling Security worked, and when I re-enabled WPA-Personal... it worked!

In fact, my iPhone is now recognized as "Known" and automatically signs in!

That seems to have solved my issues!  Thanks very much for hanging in there with me!

Best...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49364
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-601 works for Ethernet, but not Wireless (RESOLVED)
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2013, 05:14:56 PM »

Glad it finally working. Enjoy.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!