• October 21, 2019, 05:58:33 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't seem to Log In  (Read 8634 times)

rozonkomo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Can't seem to Log In
« on: June 15, 2013, 01:19:16 PM »

Hello,

I've tried looking around the forum for people with similar issues but I haven't found one quite close enough so hopefully someone can lend me a hand.

I've had my router for about a year or so, and I haven't had many problems with it to speak of before this.  I recently had my motherboard burn out (last week), and had to get it replaced. After getting everything all set up again I'm still able to get online, but I've been having some connectivity issues over the last two days or so, I've been getting kicked offline for anywhere from one to ten minutes at a time at about thirty minute intervals. I wanted to see if it was a router problem so I put in my IP address and went to log in only to find my log in information wasn't working and the default (blank) wasn't either. So I manually reset the router to factory settings, but I still can't log in to the router settings. I hit "log in" and it goes to http://192.168.0.1/login.cgi and just sits on a blank white page. It doesn't reload/refresh, and it doesn't present any error message. Honestly, now I just want to get back in so I can put my settings back in since the router has been reset but I can't even do that. I'll worry about the connectivity issue more once I have this sorted out.

Thanks for any help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2013, 01:26:00 PM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Router and Wired Configurations
Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
  • Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options, Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
  • Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
  • Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
  • Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
  • Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
  • Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
  • Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
  • Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.
  • Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
  • Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.


What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rozonkomo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2013, 03:54:38 PM »

Hardware version: A1
Firmware: 1.02NA (according to sticker)
Region: NA
Wired/Wireless: I have 1 device for each, both work intermittently
Factory Reset: Yes, that's what started this.

ISP: Verzion, Cable
Modem Manf, model: Zoom Cable Modem 3.0, Series 1079; Model 5341

Anything after this in the configuration that's asking me to look at information on the router's web page can't be done -- that's the problem I can't log in to that page. When I try to log in (after a factory reset with default log in information) the page just comes up blank white with no error message, refreshing just causes the page to load indefinitely.
Logged

rozonkomo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2013, 10:26:42 PM »

So my problem has changed a little with my own tampering. I'm finally able to get into my router's web page and change the settings from the default. I did this by turning off the proxy server option in my Internet options. I have tested this, simply checking and in checking this box determines whether I can view the page.

However, now my problem is back to connectivity. Turning off the proxy server option prevents me from connecting to any other page on the net while on my desktop. When I try troubleshooting my connection it claims the that there are hardware issues with either my modem router or both, barring that it says my LAN doesn't have a valid ip configuration (iconfig says there is no connection). If I leave the proxy on I get an error claiming the configured proxy server is not responding. Somehow I've worked my way into a problem where my desktop can't connect back to the Internet at all and I'm reduced to searching for help and explaining this on my iPad. I don't know why my wireless device works while my desktop claims there is no connection between my router and modem.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2013, 10:28:34 PM by rozonkomo »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2013, 07:11:49 AM »

    Unless your ISP requires you to use a Proxy Server or you have a Proxy Server set up on your network, it's not recommended to use a proxy service. You'll need to either keep the Proxy disabled and disable any other SW based networking programs like NetworkMagic, etc while connected to the 601 or you'll need to consult with you Proxy Mfr to get information on how to configure it to work with external routers.

    Recommended system set up should look like this:
    ISP Modem>DIR-601<>Client LAN Wired and Wireless devices connected to DIR router. No proxy is needed or recommended.
3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rozonkomo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2013, 07:25:11 PM »

Well the proxy was apparently set up through Spybot S&D2; I didn't even realize it had done it. I've turned it off, but my disconnects keep happening. I am working with your recommended set up since manually turning off the proxy. At this point though I'm not sure if my disconnects are coming from Spybot issues or from something more hardware related.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't seem to Log In
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2013, 07:38:30 PM »

There could be some issues with the ISP signal going to the modem and or WiFi interferences.

Were here to help you figure it out if we can.

Keep us posted. 
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting