• September 18, 2019, 07:21:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655  (Read 20997 times)

EnRIz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« on: May 17, 2013, 01:26:04 AM »

Hi!

For the last couple of months, my DIR-655 has been working fine. But recently the admin page refuse to show up. Rebooting fixed it a couple of times, but eventually i had to Factory Reset using the button on the back of the router to get access to the page. This plus a firmware update made it work for about ten days before I started seeing the same problem again today.

Everything else works, port forwarding to the servers behind the router works, Wi-Fi and Internet access works. I just can't reach the admin page. I enabled the remote Admin since the router is at my mom's house, neither the remote admin or the local admin login page loads.

Does anyone have an idea of what's causing it and how to solve it?

//Erik
Sweden
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47756
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2013, 06:54:37 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.


Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Link>Finding Faster DNS Addresses using Name Bench
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Enable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming for routers that have a Media Server option. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 or Media Server is not being used.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP Server feature. Tools/Time.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

EnRIz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2013, 09:12:53 AM »

Hi.
(Thanks to the mod who moved this to the right place.)

Quote from: FurryNutz
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
It is a revision BX. Since the router is about 130 miles away, i aint 100% sure about the number at the moment. Checking that out and getting back.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
Running this Firmware: ftp://ftp.dlink.eu/Products/dir/dir-655/driver_software/DIR-655_fw_revb_206b02_ALL_en_20120215.zip

Quote from: FurryNutz
Has a Factory Reset been performed?
Did you read the first post? Yes.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Internet Access via broadband switch. DHCP.

Quote from: FurryNutz
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Inteno XG6745 Broadband switch. (Not a modem, it's a switch)

Will try unplugging it and then hope to be able to access the interface so I can disable a lot of stuff, but frankly.

More advices is highly appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47756
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2013, 09:17:16 AM »

Possible connection issue between the switch and router.

Do you know if the router is getting a public or a private IP address on the WAN side of the router?
Look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

EnRIz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2013, 09:58:22 AM »

Got access to admin interface after unplug-reboot.

The WAN IP is the correct one that's delivered from my ISP.
192.168.0.1 is the routers LAN-adress.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47756
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2013, 10:07:18 AM »

Wonder if something got hung up between router and this switch.
Might check cabling and such to be sure.
You might want to do a factory reset and set up from scratch again if this happens as a troubleshooting measure.

Glad it's working now.

Enjoy.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

EnRIz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2013, 10:57:42 AM »

I think you are misunderstanding. The Connection flow looks like this:

Internet <---Broadband Switch (Inteno XG6745) <--- DIR-655 <--- LAN.

I can't see how the switch should affect the admin page on the router. When this happens (Right now, I'm just waiting for it to happen again), both WAN and LAN works like a charm. It's only the Admin page that sometimes just won't load until I reboot the device.

Quote
You might want to do a factory reset and set up from scratch again if this happens as a troubleshooting measure.

I already have, that's why I'm here. :)

I'll post here when/if it happens again. :P Thank you for your help so far.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47756
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Can't access Admin Page on DIR-655
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2013, 11:02:27 AM »

Thank you for posting the network flow, helps us get a better idea of your set up.

Honestly, anything can cause a connection issue to drop. Possible reason of the router not allowing admin page access from WAN side? a sudden drop in ISP service, signal or mis-configuration of the router and ISP services. From the LAN side, could be 3rd party security SW, browser programs, IP address mis-configuration...goes on and on man. Just attempting to make suggestions to you so you can narrow down where and why this might be happening.

Also check the router logs when this happens. Any information during this time frame would be helpful as well. Look for any ISP disconnections or blocking entries.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting