• December 15, 2019, 10:37:52 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Help Set Up  (Read 4491 times)

gstocke19

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Help Set Up
« on: May 13, 2013, 05:14:48 PM »

Hello, I just purchased the router off of Ebay and I received it today. I have set up a few routers so I thought this wouldnt be so bad but I can not seem to set this thing up! I tried just about everything and I cant find an answer. The router isnt recognized when I plug in via ethernet to set up the network. When I try to edit the admin via 192.168.0.1 nothing happens!! Am i doing something wrong??
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help Set Up
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 05:36:12 PM »

Link>Welcome!

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again.

Ensure the PCs network configuration is set for Automatic Obtain IP addressing.
Can you ping the 192.168.0.1 address from a command line box?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gstocke19

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Help Set Up
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 12:45:02 PM »

The hardware version is A3, and the firmware is 1.7.

Using charter high speed internet through a cisco cable modem (DPC3008)

I turned off firewall and antivirus and nothing, its like my computers are not recognizing the router. I happened to connect to the internet and get into the admin settings but had no option to set up a wireless network. Now i cant even connect to the internet anymore. Charter wont help and and DLink service will cost me 70 dollars.

I have been using FF, safaria, chrome, IE to try everything out too. I dont know how to "ping" either! Please i need help!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47985
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Help Set Up
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2013, 12:55:41 PM »

What OS version are you using on the PC?

Ok, lets try this,
Ensure that your PC security is turned OFF temporarily. You can turn it back on later.
Ensure that your PC network settings are not set to a static IP address and set for Automatic Obtain.
Do a factory reset on the 4100. Use the back reset button.
Disconnect the ISP modem cable from the WAN port on the back of the 4100, leaving the LAN cable connecting the PC to the router connected.

After the 4100 reset, open up IE and go to 192.168.0.1...Do you see the routers web page at all?

Ensure that you have good working LAN cables, swap out if needed.

Be advised that the DGL-4100 does not have WiFI. WiFi was supported on the DGL-4300 and 4500. The 4100 is a wired router only.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting