• August 22, 2019, 05:22:44 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: The router dont show correct time  (Read 10428 times)

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
The router dont show correct time
« on: April 29, 2013, 11:27:01 AM »

I have seen more than once that the router has the wrong time set. I reset it and
after a few weeks its wrong again. I dont know if this is related to my problem with
the media server functionality.

Time zone GMT+1
No Daylight saving
No NTP server used

I set the time manually.

Cheers
/Leo
Logged

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 11:35:42 AM »

So I played around little, enabled NTP server, rebooted, noticed that time was 1 hour behind, make sense since I hadnt checked Daylight saving, so I checked it and rebooted...now the time is 1 hour ahead!!

The time functionality is messed up, for sure. Running FW 1.01

Cheers
/Leo

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 11:37:45 AM »

What happens if you change of the OFFSET?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2013, 12:13:37 PM »

If you by offset mean setting the time zone, I dont understand why I should, since
GMT+1 is the setting I should use in Sweden. But since you asked and I'm such
a nice guy, changing the time zone to GMT+2 renders the correct time!!! Totally
wrong but right ....clearly there is a bug here.


Cheers
/Leo
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2013, 12:30:07 PM »

This might need to be also brought to D-Link EU's attention.
Does the router get a public IP address on the WAN status page? I presume it does. Just making sure.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2013, 12:31:16 PM »

You should configure a NTP server in any case if you care about the correct time just a little bit.

Mine was drifting from one to several minutes per day! Any configuration change followed by a reboot made this even worse.

I remember that I had to play around with the time zone and daylight saving time definitions too, before I got the time offset correct.

FW 1.01, in Germany.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2013, 12:43:17 PM »

You could try this:
NIST Internet Time Servers

Not sure if these will work for EU region or not.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2013, 01:05:28 PM »

We even have some time servers in Europe!    ;)

For Sweden it seems to be quite similar as in Germany:

There is a general pool of time servers in DNS round robin available as  se.pool.ntp.org .
You can select another pool by prepending it with a number from 0 to 3, e.g. 0.se.pool.ntp.org .
Just try with nslookup and choose the one pool you like best. BTW: 2.se.pool.ntp.org seems to be the only one containing also IPv6 addresses.

HTH!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2013, 01:21:32 PM »

Can you send me the links to all the available EU time servers via PM? I'll add them to that sticky for you EU folk.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

seraph

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2013, 06:20:24 PM »

   I've been having a similar issue with two DIR-857s I own.  This is concurrent with another issue that I've been trying to figure out, but it seems related.  Of the two router's, one is a year old, and the other is only a few weeks old.

   Both routers were recently updated to firmware 1.4.  Since then I've noticed that both will run for several hours to several days and then stop successfully giving out IP addresses.  The router log shows that a DHCP request was received, but clients fail-over to a link-local IP address and are unable to get out to the internet or other network devices.  At this point, clients that already have active IPs can still maintain internet access, for a while.  I am assuming the IP lease expires, and then cannot be renewed.  Also, during this time the DNS server lookups often fail.  Eventually the router will become unresponsive to all clients.  At this point I am forced to manually power cycle the router.

   When it boots back up it will work normally.  However, I've observed that both during and after this hang-up occurs, the router's time will drift several hours behind.  When I am eventually forced to manually power cycle the router, the freshly booted router's time is always several days behind.  This is regardless of whether I used an NTP, or have manually set the time using my PC's time.  If I power cycle the router when it is not in the hung-up condition, it will keep pace with correct time.  The routers also seem to keep the correct time up until this hang-up occurs. (I've been checking periodically)

   Aside from the firmware update, I haven't recently made any changes to either router.  I did try to disable several of my standard settings, such as disabling uPnP, turning off the MAC address filtering, setting different time servers.  Nothing seems to help.  I even rolled one router back to firmware 1.3 with no success.  Currently I am prepping to roll back to firmware 1.2, but wanted to post in the event this was related to leooel's issue.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2013, 08:19:35 PM »

Are you using NTP services?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2013, 01:31:45 PM »

Hello seraph,
when the clients start to fail getting addresses via DHCP, is the time of the DIR-857 wrong at this point in time? I am thinking that those two problems may be related. DHCP is a time dependent service. And if the router's time greatly deviates from the clients time, the starting time and validity period of the DHCP leases may get confused.
Logged

seraph

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2013, 04:35:07 PM »

Hello seraph,
when the clients start to fail getting addresses via DHCP, is the time of the DIR-857 wrong at this point in time? I am thinking that those two problems may be related. DHCP is a time dependent service. And if the router's time greatly deviates from the clients time, the starting time and validity period of the DHCP leases may get confused.

I figured this was the cause as well.  I have DHCP lease time set to 24 hours (the default).  If the time falls more than a day behind, it's reasonable to assume that the client rejects the lease offer because it looks to have already expired.  I have personally seen the routers drift anywhere from 15 minutes ahead to two hours behind, but at the time I still had an active IP address with the client machine I had.  If I released the IP address I was able to reclaim it because the lease was still valid.  When I was contacted by other users about not being able to get online, I have saw the drift showing AM times when it's PM (router shows 4am, but actual time is 7 PM) 

Are you using NTP services?

At this point I enabled NTP services to check with NIST's time servers, which required a reboot of the router.  When the router came back online, I checked the time was correct, and I left it to run.  However,  I was notified the following morning that it again was unresponsive.  When I was able to get back to it, I couldn't get an IP address for my own machine.  I was again forced to power cycle.  I logged back in and found that the time was again ~ 4 days behind.  I don't know how often the router checks with the NTP server, but it hadn't helped with this issue.  During later troubleshooting I left one router with the time set manually, NTP services were disable.  I periodically checked over the course of 2 days and had no major anomalies.  The time only drifted by a few seconds, not that unexpected.  However, while I was away, the router once again went unresponsive, requiring a power cycle when I returned.  Again it was ~ 4 days behind when booted back up.

This is the router that had been rock solid for a year.  I decided to roll back to firmware 1.03 to see if it was an issue with firmware 1.04.  However, 1.03 kept the same behavior.  I have just now rolled that router back to firmware 1.02 and am keeping an eye on it.  I will follow up once I have had a chance to let it run.  Since it is nearing the weekend I will continue to check the time periodically.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2013, 04:44:29 PM »

Are you factory resetting the router, sending the FW, factory reset the router once more the set up from scratch?

It would be a good test to see if you could try this at a freind, or families place to see if the problem follows. If it does, I presume the router is bad and needs to be RMAd to D-Link. I haven't seen this with my 857 here. It's using v1.04.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47698
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: The router dont show correct time
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2013, 04:46:27 PM »

You mentioned that you noticed this problem with 2 DIR-857s, I might presume that if 2 are exhibiting this problem, could be an ISP service or ISP modem issue as well.


   I've been having a similar issue with two DIR-857s I own.  This is concurrent with another issue that I've been trying to figure out, but it seems related.  Of the two router's, one is a year old, and the other is only a few weeks old.

   Both routers were recently updated to firmware 1.4.  Since then I've noticed that both will run for several hours to several days and then stop successfully giving out IP addresses.  The router log shows that a DHCP request was received, but clients fail-over to a link-local IP address and are unable to get out to the internet or other network devices.  At this point, clients that already have active IPs can still maintain internet access, for a while.  I am assuming the IP lease expires, and then cannot be renewed.  Also, during this time the DNS server lookups often fail.  Eventually the router will become unresponsive to all clients.  At this point I am forced to manually power cycle the router.

   When it boots back up it will work normally.  However, I've observed that both during and after this hang-up occurs, the router's time will drift several hours behind.  When I am eventually forced to manually power cycle the router, the freshly booted router's time is always several days behind.  This is regardless of whether I used an NTP, or have manually set the time using my PC's time.  If I power cycle the router when it is not in the hung-up condition, it will keep pace with correct time.  The routers also seem to keep the correct time up until this hang-up occurs. (I've been checking periodically)

   Aside from the firmware update, I haven't recently made any changes to either router.  I did try to disable several of my standard settings, such as disabling uPnP, turning off the MAC address filtering, setting different time servers.  Nothing seems to help.  I even rolled one router back to firmware 1.3 with no success.  Currently I am prepping to roll back to firmware 1.2, but wanted to post in the event this was related to leooel's issue.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2