• September 18, 2019, 09:29:42 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: FTP doesn't work!!  (Read 3176 times)

mhal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
FTP doesn't work!!
« on: April 09, 2013, 09:21:37 AM »

Hi, I have a Dir-655, A4, Firmware 1.31EU.  Windows XP, SP3.

I want to update the firmware to 135EUb02.

The firmware link is a FTP-link. It doesn't work!!!  ???

Other ftp downloads don't work either.

Tried to open FTP ports in Windows Firewall. Doesn't work!!!

Downloaded SmartFTP Client. Doesn't work either.

So I suppose Dir-655 is the problem?

Spent a lot of time on Google. No solutions.

Anyone has a solution??

Thanks!   ;D

« Last Edit: April 09, 2013, 09:23:39 AM by mhal »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FTP doesn't work!!
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2013, 10:08:11 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values


Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming if IPv6 is not being used.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mhal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: FTP doesn't work!!
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2013, 11:23:25 AM »

Hi! FurryNutz  :)

Thanks for the welcome and thanks for a very thorough reply! haha

I think the problem might lie with my ISP.  They have most likely blocked FTP.
I have contacted them and await an answer.

Another thing, do you or anyone else here know where I can download the firmware update, 135EUb02, from a non-FTP server?

Thank you!
 ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FTP doesn't work!!
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 11:42:38 AM »

I don't think there is any DLink files located on a non-ftp site. Most everything is on a FTP server of some sorts.

Can you get attachments via email? I could email you the zip file. It's only 2Mb in size.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mhal

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: FTP doesn't work!!
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2013, 01:10:41 PM »

Hi again!

I can receive password protected compressed files it seems. 7z compressed and pw protected file was accepted. Not unprotected compressed files.

Should I PM you my e-mail?

Thanks a lot!

 :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FTP doesn't work!!
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2013, 01:15:01 PM »

I sent a un-encrytped zip file. Let me know if you can't get it.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting