• September 18, 2019, 04:46:49 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: QoS 2Mbit Limitation  (Read 25830 times)

shm0

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2013, 12:58:03 PM »

You said you got it working for BigChucks 857.
Did the auto measurement dislplay "not specified" or displayed it the 10mbit upload rate?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2013, 01:05:35 PM »

We'd have to ask...i don't remember. All I do remember is that when we manually used 2048 and set to Cable, speedtest.net reported about 2Mb on the UP. After setting Automatic UP Link, we saw 10Mb on speedtest which is what he is paying for.  :-\

Which I thought at the time that maybe the 857 wasn't having this problem.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2013, 02:46:20 PM »

Im here. Let me get my tests together! brb

Here is comcast speed test but this accounts for speed boost. http://stage.results.speedtest.comcast.net/result/244437012.png

I will run the Shaper Probe test shortly.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 02:48:34 PM by BiGxChucK »
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2013, 03:06:33 PM »

When look at the file name its version 1.01B9 And from last Year...
I think it even hasnt the bugfix for the exploit that was floating around the internet some time ago.

FYI: It was the exploit where devices answered UPnP requests on the WAN interface:
http://www.h-online.com/security/news/item/Millions-of-devices-vulnerable-via-UPnP-Update-1794032.html

I was told by an D-Link employee that the new FW versions in NA didn't fix the security problem completely and therefore D-Link Europe didn't bother to release a new version at all...
Logged

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2013, 03:26:09 PM »

DiffProbe release. January 2012. Build 1008.
Shaper Detection Module.

Connected to server 4.71.254.149.

Estimating capacity:
Upstream: 11408 Kbps.
Downstream: 88938 Kbps.

The measurement will take upto 2.5 minutes. Please wait.

Checking for traffic shapers:

Upstream: No shaper detected.
Median received rate: 11125 Kbps.

Downstream: Burst size: 4885-7133 KB;
Shaping rate: 56709 Kbps.

This test says I'm running 11.125 Mbps Upload and 56.709Mbps Download at that moment. Im generally in this area. 10-12Mbps Up and 50-60Mbps Down

For more information, visit: http://www.cc.gatech.edu/~partha/diffprobe
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

shm0

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #20 on: April 19, 2013, 04:07:28 PM »

Can you please check your Qos Settings Page.
What does it say under Measured Uplink Speed ?
Logged

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2013, 04:15:08 PM »

Can you please check your Qos Settings Page.
What does it say under Measured Uplink Speed ?
nable Traffic Shaping :     
Automatic Uplink Speed :     
Measured Uplink Speed :   Your broadband internet connection has surpassed
  the uplink measurement requirement. 
Manual Uplink Speed :     kbps  <<   Select Transmission Rate 128 kbps 256 kbps 384 kbps 512 kbps 1024 kbps 2048 kbps 
Connection Type :     Auto-detect xDSL Or Other Frame Relay Network Cable Or Other Broadband Network 
Detected xDSL Or Other Frame Relay Network :   Not detected 
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2013, 04:16:15 PM »

I will try to do a screen grab or screen shot once i figure out how too. it seems complicated.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2013, 04:27:13 PM by BiGxChucK »
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #23 on: April 19, 2013, 05:13:34 PM »

Can you please check your Qos Settings Page.
What does it say under Measured Uplink Speed ?
I have it set for automatic, but yes the highest you can choose is 2Mbps. I don't understand it but from what I gather most websites in the US only have a bandwidth of 5Mbps, I could be wrong.

I was confused by this Uplink speed issue as well. I have ran test after test on my speed using the Shaper Probe and I continually get 50+Down and 10+Up. I will probably run a speed test with my PC on my wireless network to see what  get.
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

shm0

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2013, 05:38:21 AM »

it seems when you get the

Quote
Your broadband internet connection has surpassed the uplink measurement requirement. 

message.

QoS is just disabled at maxed out connection.

Can you make a file transfer (ftp or something) and do i a ping at the same time?
post the results here pls.

how can it be that dlink doesnt fix this? im really sad.
Logged

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2013, 12:55:53 PM »

it seems when you get the

message.

QoS is just disabled at maxed out connection.

Can you make a file transfer (ftp or something) and do i a ping at the same time?
post the results here pls.

how can it be that dlink doesnt fix this? im really sad.
Not sure how to do the ile transfer and do a ping test. Maybe Furry can do that? I really dont understand any of this stuff. I can surf the web and play Xbox, thats the extent of my computer saviness
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

shm0

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #26 on: April 20, 2013, 01:10:39 PM »

would be really nice if furry could check this.

normal web surfing doesnt stress out your line anyway. so you can play xbox normally.

i really need this QoS Thing working. I have 5+ PC and some Mobile Phones running here in my network.
Uploading Photos etc.

I buyed this Router because of the QoS and now it isnt working. somewhat disappointing.
And that issue is there since almost a year now and dlink doesnt fixe it until now.
are they serious?

and the dir 857 isnt the cheapest modell for home market. for that many i whish i had somewhat of support?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #27 on: April 20, 2013, 02:47:43 PM »

I'll attempt to have a look at this however I believe I'm on the break point on this as my ISP service is 50/2 and I have seen it where the message appears that the measurement surpasses the requirement. I typically always set 2048 on my routers anyways.

I'll attempt to contact D-Link about this and see if there has been any progress. I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for level 3 or higher support and inquire about this.

If your not satisfied with the 857, I would recommend a DIR-865L, 845L, 836L, 826L or 835 as these have higher rated UP Link settings as seen here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=44869.0

This is a FW code condition and is only seen with ISP Uplink speeds higher than 2Mb.
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 03:15:33 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiGxChucK

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Really Bro?!! Come at me!!
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #28 on: April 21, 2013, 08:55:18 AM »

For what its worth, I have 2 cell phones, iPad,  one wired Wii U, one wiireless Wii U, wireless Wii, wired PC and my Xbox 360. Granted they dont use the upload side of my interwebz as much as my xbox. Last night my boys were streaming netflix on their wired Wii U, pc, ipad, phones were all on while I was playing xbox and the servers I was playing on ran smoothly.

I was 52-7 on one server before I was kicked by an admin. Lol, badmins
Logged
Xbox One/360:BiGxChucK
Battlefield Bad Company 2, Battlefield 3 & 4 recovering competitive player.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47759
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: QoS 2Mbit Limitation
« Reply #29 on: April 21, 2013, 09:00:02 AM »

Kicked by Admins?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4