• October 20, 2019, 10:18:04 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP  (Read 6467 times)

neilronaldson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« on: November 25, 2013, 05:01:39 AM »

I also bought one of these, as i already have a Dlink adsl router - so the 2 should work nicely together.
i have given mine a static ip .4 and my dhcp range starts from. 10

I have had to change it from N to B because of the fitbit aeria scale (does not support N).

so i have gone from 300mbps to 11mpbs - CRY!

Anyway it works fine for a while and then i cant ping it...so i have to reset it (power cycle it).  It f*****d out so badly recently that i had to reconfigure from scratch...

There is also the Watchdog setting which u can ping a device - i ping my ads router, if it cant ping it it automatically should reboot....which it doesn't.

It was the cheapest at the time and seem it designed to work with my adsl router, thought that would be the one to buy...

i see everyone has issues with this device - freezing or freaking out and just stops working...

I've downloaded the lastest firmware, lets see if it improves...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2013, 07:45:23 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DAP? Look at sticker under DAP.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DAPs web page under status.

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something thats already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any cordless house phones?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, HT 20/40 Co-exhistance and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

neilronaldson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2013, 09:56:40 PM »

I have no issues since the last time i rebooted it approx a week now, i think

Hardare version C1
Firmware version 3.02
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 08:44:25 AM »

Ok, hope it works well. Come back and visit if you need more help and information.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

neilronaldson

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2013, 08:54:04 PM »

Since i removed the watchdog, its been working perfectly as a repeater...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47844
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2013, 06:50:57 AM »

Glad it's working for you now.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

DennisOlof1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: From south africa, Re Dlink DAP-130 AP
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2013, 06:41:29 AM »

neilronaldson, you should still upgrade the units you have to v3.04 firmware as v3.02 had some nasty bugs.

Logged