• November 29, 2020, 11:35:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 2540B Time Server?  (Read 3221 times)

rljames

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
2540B Time Server?
« on: April 04, 2013, 05:41:42 AM »

NTP time server at "ntp1.dlink.com" appears to be an hour early for US Eastern with Daylight Savings in effect.
"Enable Daylight Saving" is checked as it should be.
The "Offset" and "Start/End" dates are set appropriately.

(Displays correctly when "Enable Daylight Saving" is unchecked but it should be enabled...)

Ideas?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 06:59:42 AM »

Does the modem allow for a custom NTP server input? Try using time.nist.gov
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

rljames

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 07:59:56 AM »

Does the modem allow for a custom NTP server input? Try using time.nist.gov

No. Only pre-defined "ntp1.dlink.com" and "ntp1.dlink.com.tw".
UM does not explain either one.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 08:11:13 AM »

I think it has to do with location of these servers. To bad that the modem doesn't allow for custom addresses. I'd phone CS and see why the time if off. Or try changing the Offset maybe. We seen this before in the DIR series routers as well.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

rljames

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2013, 08:35:33 AM »

Location of servers having an affect makes no sense. They should be standardized. Otherwise, why bother? And additionally, the firmware allows for setting of "Time Zone" which should adjust time accordingly.

Only "Daylight Saving Offsets" available are +/- 2:00 in increments of 0:30. No 0:00 Offset is provided.

(Just curious - Do people actually use these modems? Seems pretty buggy and lacking in many areas, not the least of which is documentation...)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49371
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2013, 08:43:07 AM »

Actually people probably do, however are using them in bridge mode. You might just consider doing this and using an external router like a DGL or DIR series router. Usually modems don't need any sort of managing by end users once they are up and running. And in most part don't offer as many features as external routers do. Specially ISP modems. I see that there are some features that are similar in nature to DLink routers however still doesn't hold a handle to DLink routers. I would recommend either bridging this modem and using an external router or find a different model modem or different brand if this modem does not meet your needs or contact DLink support to find out what the deal is.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

rljames

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: 2540B Time Server?
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 09:01:10 AM »

I am using Bridge interface for LAN 1 passed to a (non D-Link thankfully) wireless router.

Remaining LAN ports have been configured for, and AFAIK operating OK, under PPPoE.

I want to use 2540B firmware to manage, and protect, the PPPoE ports.
Logged