• September 23, 2019, 11:29:18 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS  (Read 3935 times)

astrolabe262

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« on: March 17, 2013, 04:05:58 PM »

Several months ago, I purchased a new DIR-857 to replace my old Linksys router.  I wanted to move to N vice G.  I have to say though that I haven't noticed much difference in speed, and I'm not to sure where to look.  The most frustrating problem I am having  is with my android tablet running the Youtube App.  If I try to watch anything in HD or even HQ, it has to buffer every few seconds.  After looking at some suggestions here, I have tweaked the router settings but it has not helped.

I have upgraded the FW and it is now running 1.03.
I turned WISH off and also Short GI is now off, but there doesn't seem to be any improvement.  When I run my apple TV or my PS3, things seem to stream fine.  It's my darn tablet that I wish would work better.  Would I need a High gain antenna and does the 857 allow for such a thing?

I downloaded inSSIDer and ran it.  I am running on channel 11, but it said there was no overlapping APs. 

My ISP is the local telephone company and there is a 2wire modem managing internet, and TV.  My 857 is attached to the modem.

I have to say I'm pretty tech savvy except when it comes to networking and Wi-fi.  Not sure if anyone can help this neophyte or not.

I have running wirelessly:

PS3, Apple TV, an MacBook Air, 2 blackberries (from time to time) and an ASUS Transformer Prime.  I don't imagine that I am taxing my router in the least.

Don't know what else to tell you, but I am frustrated.  Any help anyone can be would be appreciated.

Logged
Semper ubi sub ubi

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2013, 07:45:20 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Was a factory reset performed before and after the FW update?

What ISP Modem Mfr model # do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2013, 09:08:30 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

astrolabe262

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 05:22:49 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
A1

Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
1.03
What region are you located?
Canada
Was a factory reset performed before and after the FW update?
Yes

What ISP Modem Mfr model # do you have?
2Wire 3801 HGV
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

I have called my ISP help desk and he suggested that I remove my router.  Does anyone know if the 2Wire will be adequate for me?
Logged
Semper ubi sub ubi

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 06:09:04 PM »

what model is the 2wire modem? Does it have 5Ghz WiFi? Do you use or have any client devices that use 5Ghz? Does the 2wire have 450Mb WiFi?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

astrolabe262

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2013, 06:41:50 PM »

My 2Wire modem is a 3801 HGV and my ISP is MTS Manitoba Telephones.  If I am reading things right, it is only wireless b and g and has no 5 GHz radio.
Logged
Semper ubi sub ubi

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47768
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Shouldn't DIR 857 be faster than my old 54GTS
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2013, 06:55:04 AM »

Well 2wire modems are usually bridgeable.

You could try what poster listed in reply #2:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=49338.0

The 857 has better features and better Wifi than the 2wire does. I presume you have other services that require the 2wire modem? Phone or video?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting