• November 18, 2019, 06:06:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WEAK Signal  (Read 8457 times)

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
WEAK Signal
« on: March 16, 2013, 07:34:36 AM »

Im only able to get wifi from the Router if im in the same room, When i leave the room My Laptop fails to stay connected.

My 655 never had this issue, So is the 857 a weak router?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2013, 11:34:23 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual or under Setup/PARENTAL CONTROL/Set to>None: Static IP or Obtain Automatically From ISP.
Enable Use Unicasting (compatibility for some ISP DHCP Servers) under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
If IPv6 is an option on the router, select Local Connection Only or Disable IPv6 options under Setup/IPv6.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and IPv4 Multi-cast Streaming, Disable IPv6 Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
WAN Port Speed set to Auto or specific speed? Some newer ISP modems support 1000Mb so manually setting to Gb speeds can be supported by the router. Advanced/Advanced Networking/WAN Port Speed
Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2013, 02:31:52 PM »

Ive tryed most of your tricks, As of now I have Wifi, But i get random drops now.

Thanks for the help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2013, 04:24:02 PM »

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
What security mode are you using?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless. What are the current settings?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2013, 05:47:53 PM »

Modes Mix n-g
2.437-chan 6 seems to be the best of the worst.
Channel width is at 20

WPA2 only
AES
Cordless phones=yes, But they never affected my Dir655

Current setting is High. Dropping this? Would that not drop signal?
Logged

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2013, 06:14:49 AM »

Installed InSSIDer.

10+ connections in my area.

I have tryed Channels they are not on, Still no good, I drop Wifi ever few mins for 2 secs at a time.

I think this Router is going back, This many issues, Plus the amount of issues i have read on this site alone tells me this router was a BAD idea.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2013, 11:15:14 AM »

Does this happen on both radios or only 2.4Ghz? I would turn off the 2.4Ghz radio and do a short test with the 5Ghz radio only if you have a device that can use 5Ghz. I presume that 5Ghz will result in better operation since 2.4Ghz seems busy in your area.

Having that many other neighboring WiFi in your area is probably the root cause. The "Good Nieghbor Policy" is part of this since ALL mfr routers now have this policy. Just means that all router have to try and be nice and play together in close proximity. This is probably causing the router to stop since your area is congested with other WiFi near by. I have a friend in NY that has 30-100 neighboring WiFi and his is stable since he lowered the power output of the radios from High to I think he's using Low or Medium now on his 857. You should try this as well.

This router is a great router and has worked well for me and others. Most issues seen are configuration issues and external conditions that can effect any router. If you get into a different router, you may see the same issues.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2013, 01:13:30 PM »

Im not able to test the 5ghz, I have nothing running on it.
And i agree with you on another router, It could happen with any company based on the amount of 2.4GHz users in my area.

My 655 channel is 1+6, And coveres a Much bigger area on InSSIDer.
Why cant the 857 run as good Being so much newer with better tech?
Why does my 655 Perform so much better?

I copyed all the same settings as the 655, That didnt work.

Im able to get the routers wifi to work, Its the random connection loss that has me very pissed at spending 177$ Can on this paper weight.

I do still say thanks for the Help, But from what i have read, The Wifi is the bottem of the barrel with this router vs other leading companies.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2013, 01:18:11 PM »

Have you attempted to lower the power of the 2.4Ghz radio yet? Try Medium and Low?

What Rev HW is the DIR-655? If it's a Rev A, I believe some Rev As didn't have the "Good Neighbor Policy" and thus may be a reason why it's working better as it doesn't have to abide by those rules.

If your not using the 5Ghz radio, it maybe time to start using it. This can and will probably help get away from your 2.4Ghz congested area. You can upgrade PCs and Laptops fairly easily to 5ghz. Seem like if you are not using the 5Ghz radio, you maybe not taking advantage of what this router can do for you.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2013, 01:27:43 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2013, 01:48:33 PM »

with that Advice, I would love to switch too 5GHz,
But why dont my Tablets or PS3 have problems, Just my 2 Asus K72F laptops?

If i wanted to switch to 5ghz, What do i need for my laptops to work?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #10 on: March 17, 2013, 03:06:24 PM »

Are the laptop wifi adapter drivers up to date?

Upgrading to WiFi on LTs is fairly easy, sometimes the WiFi adapter card can be replaced with cards that support both radios. If there isn't any available supporting adapter card, you can install one of these:
DWA-160, DWA-162 and DWA-182 for example.

If your PC are mobile and if your dont want to use one of the USB options, you could LAN wire connect to one of these for when you are home:
D-Link DAP 1360, 1513, 1522, 1525, 1533 series are some of the home and small business class devices. Then you can just disconnect the LAN wired if you go mobile using the onboard WiFi when your not at home.

There are some options out there any can work well for upgrading to 5Ghz.



Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Chromey316

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2013, 05:34:26 PM »

ill be trying again this weekend. if it fails again, ill post the video here and send a direct feed too dlink of me driving over the router with my Jeep a few times.

Router should not require a phd too set-up
Logged

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2013, 12:07:48 PM »

with that Advice, I would love to switch too 5GHz,
But why dont my Tablets or PS3 have problems, Just my 2 Asus K72F laptops?

If i wanted to switch to 5ghz, What do i need for my laptops to work?

You do not need to switch completely. With the DIR-857 you can use both, 5 GHz and 2.4 GHz, at the same time! Just join your devices supporting 5 GHz to this network and leave the other ones at 2.4 GHz.

Furthermore, you will have a nice chance to compare the quality of the two networks this way...    ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47912
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WEAK Signal
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2013, 09:39:15 AM »

Any status on this?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting