• November 21, 2019, 05:50:14 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Media Server Problem  (Read 19934 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #15 on: April 19, 2013, 07:05:53 AM »

I recommend following this to see if it might correct the issue.

1. Don't save current configuration settings.
2. Factory reset the router.
3. Re-send the v1.01 B9 FW.
4. Do one more factory reset after the FW file has been processed.
5. Set up the router from scratch, do not re-load any saved configuration from file as there are differences seen between FW versions that causes differences in saved configuration files. So after you set up the router from scratch, generation a new saved configuration to file.

Ensure that your drives you are using for Windows formatted to either FAT32 or NTFS:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=50054.0

Check with a Windows PC after you have enabled the Media Server, with Windows Media Player, it should see the connected drive or SD card and the contents. I'd put a few MP3s and some MP4 or some forum of video files on your test drive or card.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2013, 06:36:45 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2013, 03:46:50 AM »

Ok,

You convinced me...and if this doesnt work, next round of beers on you:-)

I keep you posted on the outcome.

Cheers
/Leo
Logged

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2013, 04:33:43 AM »

FurryNuts,

I did follow your instructions, and  can sadly report that nothing changed. Its the same guessing game, will media server show my movie folders? Renaming folders seems to improve things, but not always.
I cant understand what this is. Cant someone at D-Link acknowledge that the media server is NOT fully
working?

Cheers
/Lennart
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2013, 01:57:09 PM »

Does the devices see any media files if they are put in the root folder or at the top level? Test some MP3s and MP4s at the root of the drive or SD card you are using to test.

If still nothing, I'm going to recommend that you phone contact DLink support and ask for level 3 or higher support for your region and inquire about this.

Let us know if you find anything out.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2013, 10:47:14 AM »

I have 6 folders on the top level. Only one folder showed up on the media server. I copied one mp3-file to the top level, and it shows up.

Im viewing the network disk in three different ways, DLNA from my PC, DLNA from my bluray-player, and as a mounted network disk from my pc. Can this setting cause some unwanted interference? Another thing I noticeis that my mount point  shows up as 192.168.0.1/usb(b1) OR 192.168.0.1/usb(a1), no SD card mounted on the router. So after restart I never know in advance the mount Point. That tells me that there are some inconsistencies in the internal logic on the DIR-857. Unless you don't have anything more to suggest, I will follow your advice earlier on the level 3 support here in Sweden.

Cheers
/Leo
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2013, 11:03:35 AM »

Im wondering if there is a problem with the level of folders or even if multiple levels of folders are supported. If you can see multiple files at the root level, this maybe the only support it has. Test multiple video and music files at the root level.

I would ask support about this and see if multiple folders should be normally supported or not.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2013, 11:52:08 AM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2013, 12:01:30 PM »

Cable, 100 Mbit/s down 10 Mbit/s up. what about the b1/a1 switching mount Point then? Any clues?

Cheers
/Leo
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2013, 12:05:22 PM »

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Not sure why it's changing unless they make it that way...or there is a bug.
I found a v1.02 beta on DLinks Russian web site. Care to give it a go? I can't promise anything...

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2013, 12:19:40 PM »

I have internet access directly into my apartment, so I cant give you that information, a cat 6 Cable from the socket into the router. I would give that russian FW a try but...my wife is killing me if I take down the router anymore, and even
if I did, I would really appreciate some info on what the different FW versions out there are fixing. I cant see any information on whats changed, so I you have any info on that, Im willing to give it a try.

Cheers
/Lennart
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #25 on: April 29, 2013, 12:28:35 PM »

Reason for asking about modem is to see or find out if there is a built in router by chance. These can effect how the router gets some information like Time.

Unfortunately there isn't any information on what this beta build does or fixes. It would be a trial and error kind of thing. You can downgrade to v1.01 should the v1.02 beta not work. If your users are needing the router, I would pick a time when you can test the router out when nobody is needing the router or connections.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

leooel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #26 on: April 29, 2013, 01:29:03 PM »

I wait on testing that beta, curious to know about your findings on support for multiple folders on top level, Before I continue...this may be "by design", but I doubt it, since I've seen missing folders on lower level as well.

Cheers
/Leo

PS If you want you can share the link to that beta version.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #27 on: April 29, 2013, 01:31:33 PM »

ftp://ftp.dlink.ru/pub/Router/DIR-857/Firmware/Old/

Please follow this for doing the upgrade and don't load any saved configurations from file. Lets try this from scratch after you load the FW and do a factory reset before and after sending the file:
FW Update Process
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server Problem
« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2013, 10:57:52 AM »

Did you want to give that Beta a try or try our v1.04NA?
http://www.dlink.com/ca/en/support/product/dir-857-dualband-hd-media-router

I have forwarded this onto my contact at D-Link. Can't promise anything. I'll keep poking about on this.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]