• December 05, 2019, 08:45:22 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?  (Read 13125 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"? (NOFIX>NEWROUTER)
« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2013, 06:55:46 AM »

Good to hear. See you over on the 826L forum.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Vemmef

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2013, 07:22:08 AM »

I'd still like to know if anyone who has a DIR-815 with the latest firmware can look for the "Access Control" feature, as I may want to add a third modem+router in the basement later on, for late-night gaming use.

It seems to be a very nice & affordable unit and I am hoping they added that feature back in with newer firmware, as Access Control is present in even their low-end models like the DIR-601 that I can buy for 15 dollars.

Thanks in advance.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2013, 07:31:28 AM »

If your still using the 826L, and if you want additional WiFi coverage, I would not recommend another modem or router, use one of the following instead:
D-Link DAP 1360, 1513, 1522, 1525, 1533
D-Link DIR-865L

As for my 826L, I'm really liking it. Working well for wired and wireless gaming. Have one xbox on 5Ghz radio and my xbox is wired. Gaming is great. I feel the 826L will be a good follow on router to the DIR-825.

Do you still have the 815? or did you return it?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Vemmef

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #18 on: March 19, 2013, 07:37:10 AM »

You don't get it, and it's exactly as I stated, I want a second router for a second modem for basement/gaming use, mostly at night. I know all about bridges and repeaters, but it's pretty clear what I am looking for - an inexpensive secondary router for a secondary modem that I already own.

And trust me, it works far, far, far better than using a more expensive extender/bridge/repeater as you can a) save money on the device and power usage, b) lower radiation by not having multiple routers/modems on at the same time (I have them all hooked to UPS's) c) have direct control in case anything goes wrong/configuration requirements, and d) get much better transmission rates, even a direct wired link from modem-router-xbox 360 if you need it.

I have a DAP wireless N300 bridge and it sucks royally compared to a complete setup, as passing the DIR-826L signal through 3 floors is stupid compared to just setting up a complete modem+router config right next to the Xbox 360/PS3 for less money (modem is 15 bucks).

Anyone have further info on the presence of "Access Control" in the latest firmware of the DIR-815?
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 07:44:30 AM by Vemmef »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #19 on: March 19, 2013, 07:42:52 AM »

The 815 does not have Access Control features. If you need access control features you'll need to go with a different model router.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Vemmef

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #20 on: March 19, 2013, 07:49:00 AM »

That's 100% guaranteed? The guys at D-link support said it wasn't included in the base model/release firmware (which is what's emulated online) but might have been added to the subsequent firmware releases. They were at a real loss as to why it wasn't there, as the "Access Control" feature is on virtually every model for the past 5-6 years, right down to the lowest-end DIR-601 model.

Damn it, I'm just going to BB at lunch and buy one, load the latest firmware and see for myself. If it doesn't work, then I'll just return it for another DIR-826L as I know that works fine.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #21 on: March 19, 2013, 07:59:40 AM »

Why not just get another 826L? If your 1st one works well, then another will be a bonus. Why waste the time on the 815.

If you do get another router, any model, just be sure that you run different channels on the routers. You can use the same SSID and PW however the channels need to be different, so say upstairs, set it to 11 and the one in the basement, set it to 1. You might consider lowering the power output of the radios as well from High to Medium or Low being in close proximity as a suggestion.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 08:05:39 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2013, 08:30:05 AM »

Checking the NA and CA web sites, I see that the CA web site has a Rev B model out now. And there is v2.02 FW available. I presume this version probably has Access Control. The release notes don't mention it. Looking at the user manual, which is probably the same one from Rev A doesn't list access control either.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ph0enix

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2013, 04:15:00 PM »

Just to let you know DIR-815 Hardware Version: A1 Firmware version: 1.03 does not have access control
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #24 on: March 20, 2013, 08:08:44 AM »

Thank you Ph0enix for checking this out.  ;)

It's not listed in the Emulator either:
http://www.support.dlink.com/emulators/dir815/100/advanced.htm

I see the Canadian site has a Rev B, however downloading the UM for that model results in the same issue. No Access Control features. So we'll presume for now that DLink did not include this feature in this model router.

If users are looking for Access Control features, please review other model routers, i.e. 857, 827, 825, 836L, 826L to name a few.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 11:33:11 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47947
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-815 - New Firmware Support "Access Control"?
« Reply #25 on: March 26, 2013, 07:12:11 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]