• November 26, 2020, 04:30:59 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue  (Read 11272 times)

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« on: February 22, 2013, 11:23:37 AM »

So I got this D-Link DSL-2740B Router and it is driving me crazy.
At the beginning it worked fine, no problems, but after I connected my new XBOX just once,
it is messing up completly. I already resetted it several times but it doesn't work.

So when I'm playing online games on my computer, it seems like it looses Internetconnection. WiFi is
still connected and the interface of the router tells me that it is still connected to the internet, but i cannot
do anything on the internet anymore. I need to reboot it. Even when I online use internet, it looses connection after a few minutes (1-2 mins.)

I have no clue what to do, please help me.

greetZ,
wunderbh

P.S.: Only for writing this, i restarted the router three times...
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2013, 11:26:31 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Service do you have?
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2013, 11:39:51 AM »

H/W: E1
F/W: EU_5.14
Region: Luxembourg
Wireless
ISP: ADSL2+ (Is it that what is asked? ^^)
ISP MTU: 1492

I have no clue where I can find DHCP?
Every Device already gets their own IP.
uPnP on, Multi-Cast Streaming on.

Settings for Wireless are now:

Wireless Channel: Auto
802.11 Mode : Mixed G N and B
Channel Width: Auto 20/40 MHz
Channel: Auto
WPA-Personal
3 Devices connected: Galaxy Note 2, Sony vaio Laptop and iPhone
1 cordless phone
2 Wifi routers nearby (not using the same channel! mine uses Channel 11)
Short GI and WLAN Partition are not on my Router Settings??
« Last Edit: February 22, 2013, 11:41:54 AM by wunderbh »
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2013, 12:08:50 PM »


H/W: E1
F/W: EU_5.14There is a v5.17 available
Region: Luxembourg
Wireless
ISP: ADSL2+ (Is it that what is asked? ^^) ISP name?
ISP MTU: 1492

I have no clue where I can find DHCP?  DHCP settings are located under Setup/Lan Setup
Every Device already gets their own IP. I recommend reserving the IP address on the MODEM for ALL devices.
uPnP on, Multi-Cast Streaming on.

Settings for Wireless are now:

Wireless Channel: Auto
802.11 Mode : Mixed G N and B Select Mixed G and N mode it it's available. B mode isn't needed much any more if your not using it.
Channel Width: Auto 20/40 MHz
Channel: Auto
WPA-Personal
3 Devices connected: Galaxy Note 2, Sony vaio Laptop and iPhone
1 cordless phone
2 Wifi routers nearby (not using the same channel! mine uses Channel 11)
Short GI and WLAN Partition are not on my Router Settings??

Please review this for your XBL connection:
Gaming and QoS for XBL

Review the user manual for this Modem on page 39 located on the UK site.
http://www.dlink.com/uk/en/support/product/dsl-2740b-adsl2plus-modem-with-wireless-n-300-router?revision=deu_reve

I think maybe using the port information from the Gaming and QoS for XBL sticky might help.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2013, 12:19:03 PM »

For the Firmware can you give me a link to it? I have no idea which one to use (Revision??)

My ISP Name is P&T Luxembourg. They said there are no Problems on the line, so it is the router.

I did now Mixed G and N mode

Do I need to modifiy Qos ? It worked without... BEFORE :/
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2013, 12:35:11 PM »


For the Firmware can you give me a link to it? I have no idea which one to use (Revision??) Same link in my reply to you.

My ISP Name is P&T Luxembourg. They said there are no Problems on the line, so it is the router.

I did now Mixed G and N mode

Do I need to modifiy Qos ? It worked without... BEFORE :/
Possible it might need to be added for a good connection for gaming. I use it on my routers and help others configure it on there routers. Possible that this modem could use it as well. Helps to ensure that your connection between the xbox, modem and your ISP is good. After that, we can't do anything about it or the lag.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2013, 12:40:17 PM »

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2013, 12:52:37 PM »

Well, I took now the package from the UK site there.
Btw, no dutch xD french or german :p

Another Info: I just added my galaxy again (new) and I can use internet without any issues. o.O
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2013, 01:08:33 PM »

Is the xbox wired or wireless when connected to the Modem?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2013, 01:44:31 PM »

wireless of course ;)
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2013, 01:51:24 PM »

Ok. Wired is preferred for gaming however we understand that sometimes running wires isn't an option.

So did you apply the FW update yet?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2013, 02:49:09 PM »

yes i just did it, and I'm just about to configure as you said. At the moment I'm using both, lan and wifi, so i don't know if there are any issues ^^
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2013, 02:50:39 PM »

already i can't choose anymore mixed g and n only, it's g and b or three, but not g and n :P
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2013, 02:52:35 PM »

Ya some of these modems and APs wont do Mixed G and N only.  >:(

Ok, keep us posted on how it goes.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wunderbh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Just.eSports
Re: DLINK DSL 2740B Issue
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2013, 03:00:54 PM »

So, by now I setted it completly up and it "seems" to work. Internet now didn't work for 2 or 3 minutes but now it works again, I hope, that it will keep working.

By the way, is it normal that my ISP cannot get any info's about the router? I already had another router before, which I didn't buy from them but from saturn and they were able to see what router I use.?
Logged
》》》■■■□□□☆☆☆★★★○○○●●●《《《
Noob.
Hahahahaahaha <3
Pages: [1] 2