• December 06, 2019, 07:43:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: 635 loses it completely  (Read 5737 times)

pdaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
635 loses it completely
« on: January 17, 2013, 11:53:36 AM »

My DIR-635 seems to lose all functionality randomly. It could be after half an hour, or it can last for several hours.

I have only had this problem once this summer when I organised a LAN party for the kids. As soon as I started up the 8th computer (used 2 netgear switches to get them all connected) the whole network went down. I turned power on the router off, restarted all computers and limited the number of machines to 7: no problem whatsoever.

It didn't reoccur until almost a month ago. For Xmas we bought a Nexus 7 and added it to the list of devices that use the router.  The complete list of devices is now:

- dell Vostro desktop
- home made desktop
- Synology DS212+ (NAS, only used internally, no P2P, torrents, website, ...)
- HP Photosmart 7210 (wireless)
- Samsung LCD TV
- Samsung 10.1v tablet (wireless)
- Nexus 7 (wireless)

Occasionally I use a laptop from work wireless on the home network.

I have the impression that things start to go wrong once the router has been exposed to 8 machines on the internal network. I recently upgraded the firmware to 2.34EU to fix this and everything worked fine, even under heavy load, until I reconnected the work laptop and the number of known machines had risen to 8 again. After 30 minutes the whole network was gone and I could only fix it by removing the power  on the router.

I have DHCP configured to use the range 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199.
The printer, desktops and NAS have a fixed IP address assigned.

I just managed to get the logs sent to a syslog server and what strikes me as that the log contains a lot of

D-Link Systems DIR-635 System Log: Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.197 to 195.130.130.131
D-Link Systems DIR-635 System Log: Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.197 to 195.130.131.3

lines, where the outside address is either of the DNS servers configured automatically on by the WAN dhcp.

When that happens, the internet connection seems to either drop or become very very slow.

Note that I do not believe that this causing the problem described above.

So my questions are:
- Why are these packets blocked? I don't have any firewall rules set. There is a real impact on internet connection speed when this happens.
- Is there a limit on the number of machines you can hook up to the DIR-635? I haven't found one using Google.
- What else could cause this? The number of internet sessions is always beneath 100.

The router is in the basement, and it is not practical turning it on/off, so any helpful tips would be appreciated.   
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 635 loses it completely
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 12:01:37 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Was the LAN Party needing connection to the Internet while this event was happening or was the event just gaming via LAN and peer to peer gaming?

Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.


Set current Time Zone, Date and Time. Use an NTP server feature. Tools/Time.
 
Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?

Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.


My DIR-635 seems to lose all functionality randomly. It could be after half an hour, or it can last for several hours.

I have only had this problem once this summer when I organised a LAN party for the kids. As soon as I started up the 8th computer (used 2 netgear switches to get them all connected) the whole network went down. I turned power on the router off, restarted all computers and limited the number of machines to 7: no problem whatsoever.

It didn't reoccur until almost a month ago. For Xmas we bought a Nexus 7 and added it to the list of devices that use the router.  The complete list of devices is now:

- dell Vostro desktop
- home made desktop
- Synology DS212+ (NAS, only used internally, no P2P, torrents, website, ...)
- HP Photosmart 7210 (wireless)
- Samsung LCD TV
- Samsung 10.1v tablet (wireless)
- Nexus 7 (wireless)

Occasionally I use a laptop from work wireless on the home network.

I have the impression that things start to go wrong once the router has been exposed to 8 machines on the internal network. I recently upgraded the firmware to 2.34EU to fix this and everything worked fine, even under heavy load, until I reconnected the work laptop and the number of known machines had risen to 8 again. After 30 minutes the whole network was gone and I could only fix it by removing the power  on the router.

I have DHCP configured to use the range 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.199.
The printer, desktops and NAS have a fixed IP address assigned.

I just managed to get the logs sent to a syslog server and what strikes me as that the log contains a lot of

D-Link Systems DIR-635 System Log: Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.197 to 195.130.130.131
D-Link Systems DIR-635 System Log: Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.0.197 to 195.130.131.3

lines, where the outside address is either of the DNS servers configured automatically on by the WAN dhcp.

When that happens, the internet connection seems to either drop or become very very slow.

Note that I do not believe that this causing the problem described above.

So my questions are:
- Why are these packets blocked? I don't have any firewall rules set. There is a real impact on internet connection speed when this happens. The 195 address indicates it belongs to
role:           Technical Internet
address:        Telenet Operaties N.V.
address:        Liersesteenweg 4
address:        B-2800 Mechelen
address:        Belgium
This is probably working as designed to block this if your not acutally doing anything with this service. Its' comming from one of your PCs so either this PC has a virus or bug on it or it's an actual application that may try to access this address. What devices is using the IP of .197?

- Is there a limit on the number of machines you can hook up to the DIR-635? I haven't found one using Google. Theoretical is 255 PCs or devices.
- What else could cause this? The number of internet sessions is always beneath 100.
Does this happen if you turn off the Wireless radio and see if the connections drop?
The router is in the basement, and it is not practical turning it on/off, so any helpful tips would be appreciated.  
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 12:53:38 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

pdaddy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: 635 loses it completely
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 02:32:31 PM »

Link>Welcome!
Hello (I missed that one in the original post)
Thanks for your response. I appreciate your help. My responses are in lined.

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
B3

Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
2.34 EU

What region are you located?
Belgium, Europe

Was the LAN Party needing connection to the Internet while this event was happening or was the event just gaming via LAN and peer to peer gaming?
LAN gaming

Has a Factory Reset been performed? No

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cable
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? Stand Alone
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Motorola
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
Not an issue, WAN address starts with 84.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1. Use IE, Opera or FF to manage the router. Is there a reason not to use Chrome?
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) (tried it, no result) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual. Never been turned on.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking. Has always been on.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Why would this be a solution? Won't this lower security?
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Was on all the time.
Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules. No port forwarding rules specified.

Any cordless house phones? Nope
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? 5, one of which uses the same channel (1) as I do. Both protected by WPA2. I don't know whether that prevents them from interfering.

Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless. Was enabled, never changed.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended. It is a Cat5E cable.


The 195 address indicates it belongs to
role:           Technical Internet
address:        Telenet Operaties N.V.
address:        Liersesteenweg 4
address:        B-2800 Mechelen
address:        Belgium
This is probably working as designed to block this if your not actually doing anything with this service. Its' comming from one of your PCs so either this PC has a virus or bug on it or it's an actual application that may try to access this address. What devices is using the IP of .197? The 197 is a Linux desktop, the machine I use. The 195 addresses are the DNSes specified by Telenet, my ISP. I would expect it to connect to DNS quite often. I don't understand why that would be blocked.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47954
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 635 loses it completely
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2013, 02:37:24 PM »

Can you draw us a diagram of how your system is set up and looks like?
example:
ISP Modem>DIR-635><swtiches and or PCs?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting