• October 27, 2020, 02:49:24 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Media Server  (Read 19941 times)

theoffspring

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Media Server
« on: January 02, 2013, 10:57:12 AM »

I've spent the past 2 hours trying to figure out how to enable the media server on this device so that other DLNA devices can see the USB plugged into the router! Under SUPPORT > SETUP it says theres an option to enable the Media Server but it doesn't actually exist! UGHH!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2013, 11:17:13 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8 or 9, set compatibility mode and test again.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

theoffspring

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Media Server
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2013, 02:40:51 PM »

Hardware Version: A1
F/W Version: 1.02 (Came pre-installed w/ 1.01 and I upgraded)

I'm located in Canada.

I've honestly looked everywhere for this option. The "SUPPORT" page on the router software says it exists (http://imgur.com/bSqTI,3Sh5N#1). But the menu option doesn't exist (http://imgur.com/bSqTI,3Sh5N#0).

The official D-link comparison shows that this router provides DLNA Media Streaming (http://bit.ly/VjuKIp) and on its page: "With DLNA, the Cloud Router 1200 not only connects to any Ethernet-equipped device, but virtually any device, automatically."

I've looked through all the manuals and pretty much everywhere else to see how to get this working. E-mailed d-link and waiting for a response now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2013, 02:45:17 PM »

I recommend a phone contact w DLInk for quicker and better responce. Let us know what they say.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 01:05:57 AM »

Hi guys!!

Any news about the DLNA? I'm not able to see the DIR-636L from any DLNA device at home.

I bougth this router, because I wanted to stream from DIR-636L to my DLNA devices, but the only way that I have found is connecting in windows through \\192.168.0.1, but I don't want plug my pc to my TV, I want to avoid this situation

Could you please support me about this issue?

I'm located in Spain, the H/W rev: A1 and my Current Firmware Version: 1.01    Date: 2012/04/24

Thanks Regards!!

EDIT: Of course I have an USB HD connected to DIR-636L
« Last Edit: March 12, 2013, 01:28:05 AM by soyfelix »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2013, 07:37:17 AM »

What is the size of the USB HDD? Is there a mfr and model information?

Hi guys!!

Any news about the DLNA? I'm not able to see the DIR-636L from any DLNA device at home.

I bougth this router, because I wanted to stream from DIR-636L to my DLNA devices, but the only way that I have found is connecting in windows through \\192.168.0.1, but I don't want plug my pc to my TV, I want to avoid this situation

Could you please support me about this issue?

I'm located in Spain, the H/W rev: A1 and my Current Firmware Version: 1.01    Date: 2012/04/24

Thanks Regards!!

EDIT: Of course I have an USB HD connected to DIR-636L
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2013, 07:51:37 AM »

What is the size of the USB HDD? Is there a mfr and model information?

Yes,  wd10000eb035-01 ->http://support.wdc.com/product/install.asp?modelno=wd10000eb035-01&x=9&y=13

I know about the 1Tb limitation, but is there any specific HD?

thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2013, 11:23:12 AM »

I don't see any specific information regarding a brand or type the the web site. Only that it mentions this:
http://www.dlink.com/us/en/support/faq/routers/cloud/what-is-the-max-usb-drive-size-supported-by-the-dir-636l

Was the drive originally formatted using any WD formatting or setup program or was it formatted using Windows Explorer? I have seen it where using a drive Mfr formatting program, even though it says NTFS, there is additional Mfr proprietary formatting on the drive. This can effect how the drive is seen by some of these routers.

Be sure to temporarily disable any 3rd party security programs while your setting this up, like firewalls or anti-virus.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2013, 11:56:57 AM »

Thanks, I read the FAQ before ask here, I tried with other HD and USB key, with the same result, I can access through windows \\192.168.0.1 (not through DNLA) but I'm not able to see the DLNA Server in the others devide that I have, Nexus 7 & Galaxy SII.

As I understood, you mean that some HDs with proprietary format can be uncompatible with the DLNA on this router,right?

I formatted the HD & USB key with the Window explorer in NTS, in order to avoid MBR or other proprietary format and the result it's the same, I'm not able to see the DLNA server. Other thing is that i don't have any firewall or antivirus in these android devices

My feeling is that something router DLNA setup, but I'm not able to find it inside the router configuration. I would like to find the way before send to the shop and buy another one.. :-(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2013, 12:02:38 PM »

Yes some proprietary Mfr formatting isn't compatible with USB connections on routers or Shareport. I would ask you to do a re-format one of your USB drives to FAT 32 and see if this does anything.

Also what file types are you putting on the USB drives? JPG, MP3, Mov??

I recommend that you phone contact DLink support and ask if there is something we are missing. I have the 826L and will try this out when I get home. They are similar in HW however the 636 doesn't have 5Ghz WiFi, where the 826L does.

I looked at the DLink web site and ALL the DIR (L) cloud model routers support DLNA so it should be automatically be seen and I don't think it needs any configuration unless you are remotely accessing the storage in which that does need to be set up.

Let us know if you contact DLink support and if you find out anything. Let us know what FAT32 does.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2013, 12:20:20 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2013, 01:04:10 PM »

Reformatted the USB key on FAT32 and nothing. Definitively is the USB port router or the HD format or the DLNA server .

Because I don't understand what happend, my feeling is some hidden router configuration.

I'm able to streaming from Android to windows media & VLC and viceversa. But not from three differents HD conneccted to the router.

I wrote to the support this morning and I'm waiting them let me know about the issue.

I'm going to update the firmware and try again. I would like to stream to my DNLA devices...:-(

Is there any way to format HD in order to avoid MFR?

Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2013, 01:06:22 PM »

Try partitioning the HD for Extended Partition, not a Primary.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49294
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Media Server
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2013, 04:50:32 PM »

Read updated Review>http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52676.0

I'll confirm this with DLink to see if this is in fact the correct behavior for DIR (L) series routers. If it is and your wanting to use non-Shareport supporting devices with a router and a connected USB drive, you may need to look into a non DIR-(L) series router like one of the Amplifi series routers. I know they handle media streaming to most anything and don't need or require the use of any Shareport application. Something that is similar to the 636 would be either the DIR-657 or 645 routers. There are 8 series routers too, have similar features however they include 5Ghz radios where the 6 Series do not.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2013, 12:41:18 AM »

Try partitioning the HD for Extended Partition, not a Primary.

Hi, Fail again...
Logged

soyfelix

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Media Server
« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2013, 01:00:08 AM »

Read updated Review>http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52676.0

I'll confirm this with DLink to see if this is in fact the correct behavior for DIR (L) series routers. If it is and your wanting to use non-Shareport supporting devices with a router and a connected USB drive, you may need to look into a non DIR-(L) series router like one of the Amplifi series routers. I know they handle media streaming to most anything and don't need or require the use of any Shareport application. Something that is similar to the 636 would be either the DIR-657 or 645 routers. There are 8 series routers too, have similar features however they include 5Ghz radios where the 6 Series do not.

Hi, thanks again, I checked you review, but my SharePort technology is working, for this reason my feeling is that the problem is with the DNLA Media Server, there is no way to setup ON, or something like this.
I can access to any HD in the router USB port through mapping \\192.168.0.1:8181, using the Android app (not always work, but never mind for now) and i can access using a web Browser writing 192... if I'm at home and writing my \\mydlinkIP:8181 if I'm out, in the office, foe example.

Then, my impression is that something related with the DLNA&USB port is not working, as I commented I can stream in my DLINK Local net from/to my devices using DLNA protocole.

In theory the DIR-636L is DLNA certified, and my devices too. I checked at dlna.org

I'm waiting for the DLINK support, I opened a case in the Support Portal.

I dont know if you're able to test it in a dir-636l, It'll be great to check it in another one, in order to know if it's my hardware..
thanks again
Logged
Pages: [1] 2