• July 19, 2019, 08:00:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK  (Read 13062 times)

rmoff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4

Hi,
I have a DLINK 605L, and am connecting to an L2TP over IPSEC VPN. The connection to the VPN works absolutely fine, but after several hours will drop out.

When it drops out the rest of my internet connectivity is fine. I can still connect to a web server running on the same IP as the VPN. But I cannot re-establish the VPN. On the VPN side it goes through the IKE stuff, and then I see "L2TP Server : Retransmission Timeout, Deleting the Tunnel"

If I reboot my DLINK, then the VPN connect works fine. I've looked in the dlink log but there's nothing logged when the VPN connect fails.

This happens with firmware 1.12 and also 1.13.

Is there a config option on the dlink which would account for this behaviour? Is it a fault in the product?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47578
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 07:40:25 AM »

Link>Welcome!

What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Has a Factory Reset been performed?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
Double NAT
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking. This ensures each devices gets its own IP address when turned on and connected, eliminates IP address conflicts and helps in troubleshooting.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.

Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Also are there any connection options under Setup/Internet/Manual/Connection Type for ALWAYS ON?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rmoff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 08:14:12 AM »

Hi,

Thanks for the welcome.
I'm in UK. I've tried wired + wireless connection to the router. Yes I've done a factory reset.

It's a cable DSL service with Virgin Media. I'm using their SuperHub in modem mode i.e. bridged.

Traffic Control is disabled. I don't have advanced DNS servers as an option, nor DNS relay.
I'm using assigned IPs on the DHCP server.

I don't see an option for Endpoint Independent under firewall config.
uPNP is enabled, as is multi-cast.
There aren't any connection options under Setup/Internet/Manual/Connection Type for ALWAYS ON?

thanks, Robin.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47578
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 08:21:57 AM »

Has the remote VPN been trouble shot for any configuration issues?
Has this VPN worked before using this router or is this a new router?

I the 605L handling the internet connection with the ISP modem? What mode is the 605L set up for currently under Setup/Internet/Manual?

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rmoff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2012, 08:25:43 AM »

Hi,

The remote VPN works fine, and it works with this router -- it's just that it periodically stops.
For example, it's working fine now, and has for the past five hours. If I leave it connected overnight, it'll probably have dropped in the morning.

When it does drop, then I have to reboot the router for it to be able to connect again.

Internet connection is set to Dynamic IP.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47578
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2012, 08:42:02 AM »

Seems like the router looses the connection and the ability to reconnect if the connection is lost due to signal form the ISP service, modem or something else.

I would phone contact D-Link support, level 2 or higher and ask them if there is an issue with the router re-establishing connections if the connection is supposed to be constant. Seems like this issue is somewhere between the handling of VPN on this router, FW and something maybe upstream.


Let us know what they say.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rmoff

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Connecting to a remote VPN - after a while I need to reboot my DLINK
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2012, 08:44:23 AM »

OK will do. Thanks for your help.
Logged