• February 25, 2020, 08:04:54 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: No Static Routing on D-Link routers???  (Read 9115 times)

crocodile69

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
No Static Routing on D-Link routers???
« on: December 03, 2012, 01:31:07 PM »

So under ADVANCED > ROUTING I was trying to set up a static route on the LAN side to connect to a second router, but it turns out it doesn't allow you to do that!!

(Yes, I realize that this has been an issue with D-Link routers for the past 5 years at least, but yeah, I just found out about it yesterday, since I never had to use this feature before. There are some hacks online for how to force a DIR655 to accept the setting you want, but that no longer works on the new routers, the firmware is totally different.)

So here I am, looking at a router that doesn't do routing...

Thank god though there's an "app" for setting "the router" from "the cloud".
What has this world come to.... :'(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No Static Routing on D-Link routers???
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 01:38:56 PM »

You Phone contacted DLink with this questions to see if it's supported and to make sure the configuration is correct? What other router are you trying to router too?

IMO, routing for the avg home user isn't something good unless your an advanced user. Ya, I agree, if the routing feature is an option on the router, then it should work. Could be a configuration issue, maybe, however avg users not not going to be doing alot of that anyways. Why Dlink probably removed it from the 655 and other model routers. Again these are simple SOHO routers. These routers do work at routers and work as designed.

I would call up DLink, level 2 or higher to verify that your configuration is correct and should work.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

crocodile69

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: No Static Routing on D-Link routers???
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 01:56:13 PM »

I was trying to connect to my old DIR827, as a separate network, with IP (for example) 192.168.2.0.

The firmware does not include that option. You can only set a static route on the WAN side, but not on the LAN side.
(if you look in the ADVANCED > ROUTING page, on the right there's the "Interface" column, with a select box that contains only 1 option, WAN. If you look at the page source, that box has <option value="WAN-1">WAN  ([YOUR current WAN IP])</option>
There is no other option allowed in the firmware, so no way to choose LAN instead of WAN.

Nothing that the guys at customer support can do about that...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No Static Routing on D-Link routers???
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2012, 01:59:23 PM »

Ok, didn't know there wasn't a LAN to WAN route.

Tried to put the 827 into the DMZ?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No Static Routing on D-Link routers???
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2012, 02:07:46 PM »

Another reason aside these being SOHO routers, DLink may have keep the full on ROUTE function to there business class routers. I presume those would see more of a need for full custom routing abilities. Just a thought. :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48383
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!