• December 18, 2014, 02:29:10 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New BETA firmware for DGL-5500 v1.13.b02. Visit it's board for more information.

Author Topic: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory  (Read 1833 times)

niclights

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« on: November 19, 2012, 12:58:10 AM »

Hi
I wonder how i can restore my router to its defalt settings if my reset button is broken and the router has lock the mac of my pc.
Can i connect the router to my pc and access it from it?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2012, 01:02:28 AM by niclights »
Logged

sm00thpapa

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 01:08:17 AM »

What does this mean "the router has lock the mac of my pc." Did you try sticking a toothpick or a q-tip in the reset to try and reset it? Is the re-set button broke or is it broke off like in missing?
Logged
Asus RT-N66U, D-Link DIR-655 B1, WRT54GL V1.1, WRT54G V6

niclights

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 01:20:05 AM »

I made a misstake och and instead of accept the mac of my pc I have choosen deny.
The reset is broken and i can't restore by that way. because i can't accept the router by my pc when i write 192.16.0.1.
the button is not working at all, i used a pen before and something went wrong.
Logged

sm00thpapa

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 03:41:22 AM »

Sorry dude I can't understand your English. Open the router and see if you can re set it that way. 
Logged
Asus RT-N66U, D-Link DIR-655 B1, WRT54GL V1.1, WRT54G V6

niclights

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2012, 07:17:44 AM »

Thanks for you reply, i tryed to oppen it but it was not so easy :-(
Logged

davevt31

  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1249
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2012, 10:34:37 AM »

Do you have another compter to use to log in?  Also you could try and buy a cheap NIC to put into the computer and connect through that, as it will have a different MAC address.
Logged

niclights

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2012, 09:11:38 PM »

Thanks, its solved now.
I borrowed My friends laptop och could open my pc.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 28904
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DGL-5500 Gaming Router with StreamBoost™ Technology
Re: Restore the DIR-655 to default factory (RESOLVE)
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2012, 06:56:55 AM »

Glad you go it working.

Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting