• October 15, 2019, 06:45:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Configuring QOS  (Read 8659 times)

vazeer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Configuring QOS
« on: October 25, 2012, 02:31:02 PM »

I have this Dlink router DSL-2640U from a year and went through its manual and online sections everywhere but can't find how to configure qos as its really too different from other routers.

I want to put voip and some pc (through mac address) to be top priority so that gets all traffic when needed.

here is the screenshot of qos page please help me it very important.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 02:41:46 PM »

With out seeing the hidden drop down menu items, it might be kind of hard to tell how to really configure this modem for QoS. Some of it looks fairly forward in Physical LAN port, Protocol, Source Subnet Mask, UDP/TCP Source Port, Destination IP address and subnet mask, I don't think you need Source and Destination MAC address, however not sure. Not what value to set for 802.1p. Some of these options are kind of close to ones listed on DIR series routers: Gaming and QoS for XBL

I would contact DLink support directly. Level 2 or higher. These are fairly complicated settings and needs someone to help configure them correctly and explain it. As a last resort, you might want to bridge this modem and install a external router that is more easier to use, something like a DIR series.

If you get any information and help and get this modem configured, please post another screen shot so we know what it looks like.

Please keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vazeer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2012, 08:08:48 AM »

As u asked buddy there is detailed screenshot with all dropdown options.
Now please help me gives I need QOS urgently as voip keeps dropping as other traffic is too much on different pcs.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2012, 09:00:50 AM »

Ok, I'm going to ask you to contact D-Link support, you need advanced phone support here so level 2 or higher. This is beyond my expertise and not sure what values are needed here for your set up.

As a last resort, you might want to bridge this modem and install a external router that is more easier to use, something like a DIR series.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vazeer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2012, 04:02:34 PM »

Buddy i have only this router and can't buy other one so can't bridge it so i have to use it.

I don't why DLink made such a complicated QOS which nearly of no use in thesedays where everything is going easy.

I will be waiting for your help. :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2012, 04:23:50 PM »

I have passed this on to my contact at D-Link to see if we can get a hold of someone who has the expertise to help you configure the MODEM and QoS for your needs. I hope we can get someone to help you out. I would ask you to phone D-Link support directly and ask for level 2 or higher support for this advanced configuration. Not sure why D-Link has these complicated setups, I presume maybe these model modems are meant for a more advanced networking platforms and for a enterprise or business class environment. Realistically this may not be a good solution for a home user or small office.

I'll keep you posted on if I hear back on any information. Please phone tech support and ask for advanced support. I would also see if there is a better model DSL modem that is less advanced and has easier user options. Are there any other DSL model modems available in your area?

Keep us posted.

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

vazeer

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2012, 12:46:39 PM »

I know there are other models from dlink with easier QOS but the problem is that this router was bought my roommates so can't change it untill its working and as per my knowledge dlink support is very poor in this area very unprofessional so cant rely on them thats why I came here.

I will eagerly waiting for ur response !
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47838
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Configuring QOS
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2012, 03:02:05 PM »

Will let you know if I get any information or hear back.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting