• July 15, 2020, 11:53:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N  (Read 10630 times)

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« on: December 03, 2012, 08:41:05 AM »

When I first saw this router it looked very interesting device and a lot it could handle.  I purchased it and put it to work. In general all is working as expected.  I liked the 8 ports and they are all taken now.  This was one of the reasons I went after this device.  Wi-FI is working great.  I disabled intrusion as it was taking lots of its performance.  My ISP is comcast and I have a cable modem that is connected to its WAN port. Only issue I have is on my mobile device.  I have xabber app running as a xmpp client of an openfire server that runs on my local LAN attached synology NAS device.  The client connection  was switching fine when the mobile android was moving from Local Wi-FI to 4G network.  Now with this router it is connecting fine over the 4G using DDNS name,  but unable to connect when moved back on local Wi-FI served from DSR-250N.  I have to change the name from DDNS name to local LAN hostname of my NAS device in order to connect back.  I have setup FW rules in place for the ports needed and like I said when I'm on 4G network I can connect fine on my openfire server.  Once the mobile device switches to local Wi-Fi on my home it can no longer use DDNS name to connect to the same openfire server.  If I switch the router back with my old DIR-655 everything works fine and the connection establishes back using local Wi-Fi with DDNS name.

Anyone has any idea what could be wrong?  It is definitely in the DSR250N but I don't want to believe it is a bug or something. I may need to setup something else on this wonderful device.

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 09:25:48 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

I recommend contacting DLink support, level 2 or higher for this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 09:40:16 AM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?

I recommend contacting DLink support, level 2 or higher for this.


Thank you for the quick reply.  The hardware version is A1.  I upgraded its firmware to latest 1.05B20 on day 1 without starting any other configuration.  All went well with the upgrade and no errors.  I am in North America region (GMT -5).  The ISP modem is an "Arris TM702G" stand alone.  As I mentioned on my post if I put back my old DIR-655 the app works great.

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2012, 09:47:12 AM »

I would phone contact Level 2 or higher support. There are differences between the DIR and DSR series, so we hope it might only be a configuration issue at this point.

FYI, it's recommended to always try your DLink products out of the box with out upgrading. Units work well out of the box and it's recommended not to upgrade unless you are seeing issues after testing and we have troubleshot the problem or you are effected by what FW fixes that is seen in the release notes for FW updates.

Keep us posted on how it goes with phone support.



Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2012, 10:13:09 AM »

I would phone contact Level 2 or higher support. There are differences between the DIR and DSR series, so we hope it might only be a configuration issue at this point.

FYI, it's recommended to always try your DLink products out of the box with out upgrading. Units work well out of the box and it's recommended not to upgrade unless you are seeing issues after testing and we have troubleshot the problem or you are effected by what FW fixes that is seen in the release notes for FW updates.

Keep us posted on how it goes with phone support.





You got a point there and I agree with you, but anytime you open a support call and you are not running the latest firmware on device, regardless of the issue you have they will tell you to update the firmware first.  So I thought to be done with that step.  Yes, I opened a call with them.  Will see what I get.  I exhausted all my efforts and tried all different things.  Only way is to do VPN and always use hostname of the device but there are other devices I'd like to connect remotely without VPN. 

Will keep you posted.

Thanks,
Logged

danilovav

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 424
  • Alexandr Danilov
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2012, 10:37:54 AM »

Your solution is NAT loopback - access from LAN to LAN via public portmapping.

I'm not sure, can DSR make it or not.

But, if you have NAS inside, you can install any DNS server (ex, dnsmasq or bind) to it and assign your DynDNS name to NAS IP statically.
Logged
BR, Alexandr Danilov

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #6 on: December 03, 2012, 10:49:03 AM »

Thanks for the feed back Danilovav. Good info. Thank you for sharing.

 ;)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2012, 12:02:55 PM »

Your solution is NAT loopback - access from LAN to LAN via public portmapping.

I'm not sure, can DSR make it or not.

But, if you have NAS inside, you can install any DNS server (ex, dnsmasq or bind) to it and assign your DynDNS name to NAS IP statically.


I think you might be right on that.  When I put this router in place I turned on DHCP but reserved an IP for my NAS appliance.  Instead of dealing with DHCP reservation  I will try to give the NAS a static IP out of the range of DHCP pool that I have setup.

Thanks,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #8 on: December 03, 2012, 12:50:56 PM »

Let us know if that works for you.

Good luck.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2012, 08:09:17 AM »

I had no luck last night trying to fix this issue.  The good news is at least I know what it is now.  Alexander was correct and pointed me on the right direction.  Looks like this router does not support NAT loopback.  Oh well, it is not stated in the manual and I guess is considered a security feature so it should not be looked as a router's fault.  I just have to deal with it and find a solution for that. Looks like it will take a while for DLink support to get back to me.  I don't even have an confirmation e-mail yet that they received my ticket.  Looks like the apps need to include two fields and deal with local name and DDNS name for mobile devices that change connectivity.  I won't hold my breath on this as it might take quite long.  I tried to put the NAS device on a different VLAN last night and creating a subdomain just for it so my mobile device and its Wi-Fi connectivity are on a different subnet.  This did not work on a quick test I did, and I hope it doesn't work:) as I see no need to create additional paths and routes to satisfy NAT loopback issue.  My NAS serves other things and really don't want to introduce extra hops in the LAN network.  Unfortunately I don't have any LINUX machine to run dnsmasq, even if I get one it means this box has to be up and running on the network to provide DNS services.  Only appliance that is 24x7 is my NAS device and I don't want to rely on other pieces to provide services for my LAN other than NAS and router itself.   
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2012, 08:28:15 AM »

You might see if someone could remote in using teamveiwer and review the router settings and maybe do some try some configurations maybe. Might be worth it to see if maybe two people might be able to get it working.  ::)
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

ddywz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2012, 09:21:01 AM »

I think I resolved it.  After several tests the one that worked was this:
1. Assigned a static IP (outside the DHCP pool) to NAS and removed DHCP reservation I had for it.
2. On network config on the NAS I told it to use DNS server from router.
3. Updated "DNS Host Name Mapping" table on router and mapped external name with local 192.168.x .x IP of my NAS

Now the mobile device switches ok.

Thanks for all the help,
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48970
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replacing my DIR-655 with DSR-250N (RESOLVED)
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2012, 09:25:20 AM »

Glad you found the fix and it's working. Thank you for sharing the info. Hope it helps others.

Enjoy.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!