• September 25, 2020, 09:25:41 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Problems accessing some urls  (Read 4836 times)

elviob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Problems accessing some urls
« on: September 11, 2012, 12:44:31 PM »

My internet connection is through Cablemodem.
I have a desktop connected to the UTP port and a laptop to WiFi.

The issue is that for some unknown reason, the desktop won't load some webpages or access some internet URLs. But will access some others with no problem at all.

Some of the sites I have problems are:

gmail.com
facebook.com
google.com
pop.fibertel.com.ar (port 110) I can't download emails.
...
among others.

At the same time, my laptop has no problem accessing those sites.
I first thought it was some trojan or virus, but to avoid any speculation, I connected the Cablemodem directly to the desktop and everything works just fine.

I tried upgrading to latest firmware 1.02, but nothing changed.

One thing I tried, is to change the DHCP reserved ip address for the desktop. Then I rebooted and everything started to work ok for a while. But then, when I rebooted the Desktop, again the same problem.

A router reboot won't solve the issue. Wifi always works flawlessly.
Is this a bug or just a wrong configuration?

I would appreciate your help.
Thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2012, 12:56:52 PM »

I might say theres a problem on the desktop. If your LT is working via wireless and getting to those sites, it's not the router. Something on the desktop is not right.

What browser are you using? Try Opera or FF?
If using IE, change to compatibility mode for IE8 and IE9.
Empty browser caches.

Check installed 3rd party security SW. Disable them or make sure they are configured to allow access.
Additional firewalls are not needed while using the routers firewall. Connection issue can come because of this. You only need one.

Check cable between Modem and Router and desktop, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.

What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
« Last Edit: September 11, 2012, 02:06:51 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

elviob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2012, 02:46:47 PM »

Thanks for the reply.
I really doubt the desktop has any issue itself.
First because I can browse flawlessly when I connect it directly to the ISP Modem, and second because I made a Windows fresh install and still have the same issue. I made a test disabling windows firewall and before installing any program.

Regarding the browser, I've tried with IE9, IE9 64 bits, Chrome and FF. All with the same results.

I have also tried to switch cables. I might say they are cat 5e though (one came with the router).
Should I get cat6 cables to test? Does it make sense that some urls are accessible and others don't?

My ISP Modem is a Scientific Atlanta DCP2100R2.


Thanks again!
Regards.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2012, 02:50:41 PM »

Thanks for the reply.
I really doubt the desktop has any issue itself.
First because I can browse flawlessly when I connect it directly to the ISP Modem, and second because I made a Windows fresh install and still have the same issue. I made a test disabling windows firewall and before installing any program.

Regarding the browser, I've tried with IE9, IE9 64 bits, Chrome and FF. All with the same results.

I have also tried to switch cables. I might say they are cat 5e though (one came with the router).
Should I get cat6 cables to test? Yes if you can. Does it make sense that some urls are accessible and others don't? Seems odd that the DT wont but the LT does. One thing you can test, wire the LT to the router and see if the problem is exhibited there.

My ISP Modem is a Scientific Atlanta DCP2100R2. is this a stand alone modem or does it have a built in router that you know of?

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.
Might as your ISP what MTU number setting they recommend. Usually cable ISP use 1500. Wonder if maybe this one might use something different. Call and ask.

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

elviob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2012, 05:42:20 PM »

Today before I posted this, I was experiencing the problem. So I left the router disconnected, turned off and connected directly through the ISP Modem.

I have just connected the router back to configure it as you proposed, and everything is working ok. I didn't change anything. ??? It's the second time this happens, as it was working fine for some time before I reinstalled the OS.

Now I'm really confused.

I respond some of your questions below:



I have also tried to switch cables. I might say they are cat 5e though (one came with the router).
Should I get cat6 cables to test? Yes if you can.
I'll buy a couple of these and replace the cat5e.

Does it make sense that some urls are accessible and others don't? Seems odd that the DT wont but the LT does. One thing you can test, wire the LT to the router and see if the problem is exhibited there.
I couldn't test this yet, as at this momment DT is doing fine. I guess the issue will come back at some point, so I will test this then.


My ISP Modem is a Scientific Atlanta DCP2100R2. is this a stand alone modem or does it have a built in router that you know of?
It's a stand alone modem.


Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. Disable uPnP for testing Port Forwarding rules.

Should I wait for the issue to come back to test all these settings? Some of them are already as you propose.

Might as your ISP what MTU number setting they recommend. Usually cable ISP use 1500. Wonder if maybe this one might use something different. Call and ask.

I guess the MTU is 1472. Am I right? Should I change some configuration with this?

ping www.google.com -f -l 1472

Pinging www.l.google.com [173.194.42.20] with 1472 bytes of data:
Reply from 173.194.42.20: bytes=1472 time=26ms TTL=53
Reply from 173.194.42.20: bytes=1472 time=14ms TTL=53
Reply from 173.194.42.20: bytes=1472 time=12ms TTL=53
Reply from 173.194.42.20: bytes=1472 time=24ms TTL=53

Ping statistics for 173.194.42.20:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 26ms, Average = 19ms



ping www.google.com -f -l 1473

Pinging www.l.google.com [173.194.42.20] with 1473 bytes of data:
Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.

Ping statistics for 173.194.42.20:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),




thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2012, 07:23:51 AM »

Contact your ISP about MTU to officially get what they require. If thats the case then you'll neet to change the MTU speed on the router to match. I bet that will resolve this issue.

I would ask your ISP if they support Motorola SB 6 Series modems, i.e. 6141. Might be time for a new modem.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

elviob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2012, 08:16:05 AM »

Thanks. I'll post any news.
Logged

elviob

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2012, 05:18:07 PM »

Well, it happened again.
I bought two cat6 cables and when I changed the old cat5e cables for these new ones, the problem arouse.
I never turned the DT nor the router off. While I was with this problem, I connected the NT with one of my 5e cables, and it worked perfectly.

So I turned the router off and wait for 5 minutes to turn it on again

And then it started working ok. . (if I don't wait for a couple of minutes, it won't work)

I will keep paying attention if this happens again in other circumstances.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49210
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Problems accessing some urls
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2012, 07:16:45 AM »

I would test a different ISP modem. I would also take the 857 to a friend, neighbor or family's place with Internet and see if the problem follows.

Keep us posted.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!