• September 15, 2019, 05:32:08 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U  (Read 36476 times)

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« on: May 29, 2012, 11:06:52 PM »

Hello all,
i have DSL-2750U modem router and i would like to setup QoS there and would like to make it right.
I used to have DIR-655 in the past and Netgear WNDR3700.

So right now i made some testing setup which goes as follows :
wall RJ11 goes to DSL-2750U -> UTP to internet port of WNDR3700
DSL-2570U has also DMZ setup to netgear

Netgear i think i have setup correctly for QoS yet there are a lot of posts on netgear forum that QoS in that one doesn't work properly (i made setup today so i have yet to test it. In the meantime (and anyway) i would be interested in how to setup D-Link.
The thing is that setup there looks totally complicated. Until now i didn't have DSL but there is nothing else available here.

I made screenshot of all the tab in management. I would assume other DSL D-Links have it similar/same so i won't list what everything is in those options but i can do that if that is necessary.


Thanks for help
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 07:33:31 AM »

You may want to bridge the 2750U since it has a built in router. Have two routers on the same line can cause Double NAT
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 08:01:44 AM »

Oh i am sorry i think i have asked incorrectly in original post so if i rephrase into different question...

If i wanted to remove netgear from the network completely and wanted to use dlink for QoS, how do i set it up correctly?

In the meantime i will study the double NAT topic you posted, thanks for that.

Reading the manual and checking the interface i can't see how to disable the NAT or switch it to bridge mode.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 08:29:16 AM by KouDy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2012, 08:10:31 AM »

This modem is a pretty complex unit. I don't have any experience with this unit however I have had experience with routers and there QoS settings a bit less complex to set up. Not sure if any of the Gaming, QoS and Gamefuel stickies in the FAQ Library will help you however some of the information might be good enough to help you set something up. Is there any thing in the 2750Us manual about setting up QoS?

I would also get ahold of DLink for this modem and ask as well. Hope you can find some good information. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2012, 08:35:32 AM »

Either manual fails or me (quite possibly both as second is almost sure :D ).
Manual is here. QoS section described on pages 69-71 says basically "QoS settings are 'here' in interface and you are able to set them". It looks like that to me at least.

I think for now i will be fine if i switch NAT off while getting more info on QoS setup of...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #5 on: May 30, 2012, 09:42:54 AM »

That sounds like an easy work around. Then you should be able to use the external router better. Again, if your going to use an external router, I would definitely bridge the DSL Modem and let the external router handle the PPPoE and network management. If if your going to use the DSL Modem as your host router, turn that external router in to an AP.
Turning a router into an AP.

Keep us posted on how it goes.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2012, 10:39:45 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2012, 10:12:10 PM »

I am not able to disable NAT in D-Link. I know where but if i do it my internet connection is gone.

Either way i have managed to reach D-Link support line. Despite like one hour long call they were not able to advise me on proper setup (hard to blame them). So they suggested they will check and call me back with how to setup stuff correctly. I gave them ports 5060 and 5061 (SIP phone) as high priority for example. I hope that from there i will be able to pickup rest of the settings.

If all this fails, i have drafted and email to D-Link support so i will contact them by email. Where i can give them more ports to setup with different priorities.

I hope to bring some more news or even guide on how to setup QoS in DSL-2750U soon.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2012, 07:29:09 AM »

Ok, sounds good...if you can come up with a guild, I can post it here: FAQ Library

And we can direct people to it. Your help and contributions will be appreciated. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2012, 10:03:42 AM »

If i get it done, it will be my honor to have such post there in library for others.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2012, 10:46:48 AM »

Please review some of the other stickies there for some format reference and such. Please include screen captures or window captures of the modems UI pages as well. Be as detailed and descriptive of the process as you can.

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2012, 09:37:43 PM »

Yes i know, i have put together several quite nice guides for various things so i know the drill.

Anyway my whole thing might be delayed because last day i had serious connectivity problems. I just replaced DSL-2750U with modem i originally got from provider so i may need to apply for some warranty. I sure hope it's just wrong setting somewhere inside the modem

EDIT : Turned out i had to reset to factory default and set everything again to make it working properly.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 10:42:24 PM by KouDy »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2012, 10:17:55 AM »

keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

KouDy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2012, 01:09:36 AM »

I am sorry for so long silence.

Eventually i did not manage to resolve settings for this modem despite talking to D-Link. They kept giving me answer how to set it completely ignoring me telling them that fields to fill there are not present (they were trying to set routers like DIR-655 there but DSL-2750U is completely different unit.

In the end i am not using that modem anymore as i moved to other place and i am back on DIR-655 for now.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Proper setting for QoS in DSL-2750U
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2012, 06:10:30 AM »

Maybe next if you have to use that modem, bridge it or use the DMZ  in conjuction w the 655 router.
Enjoy
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting