• July 10, 2020, 06:27:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4

Author Topic: I now understand those who are having wifi issues. ******FIX FOUND******  (Read 29869 times)

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #30 on: August 30, 2012, 02:32:43 PM »

LOL, I wish it was loaded with some other kind of "Firmware" but at this point just coated on the outside with Marlboro Lights particulate.

OK, like the other it was giving me slow speeds but only after 15-30 minutes.  On a whim I unplugged our UVerse 5Ghz AP to see if that was the issue, but it's not.  My wifi speeds drop to 1.0Mbps as registered on the adapter window.

I flashed to 1.02 and reset to factory and then configured from scratch.  Don't know what else to do.  ???

Edit to Add: I changed my channel from 6, to 11 and now it's on 1.  Using inSSIDer I'm not showing anyone nearby on my channel and it's been pretty stable for the past 10 minutes.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 02:35:44 PM by kargo27 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #31 on: August 30, 2012, 02:35:26 PM »

Have you turn OFF all WiFi devices cept for your LT and tested yet?
Theres go to be something with your environment maybe.

Keep us posted. If anything, might ship me that unit.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #32 on: August 30, 2012, 02:37:32 PM »

Also do us a favor and take a screen capture of the Wireless status and post it, with everything connected when this seems to occur.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #33 on: August 30, 2012, 02:38:24 PM »

Have you turn OFF all WiFi devices cept for your LT and tested yet?
Theres go to be something with your environment maybe.

Keep us posted. If anything, might ship me that unit.

No new wifi devices and the ones that are connected are: my and wife's iPhones, son's ipod, son's xbox (wifi), son's desktop computer.  I also have the UVerse RG wifi OFF.  So the only nearby wifi is the UVerse 5Ghz but nothing uses 5Ghz except for 1 XBOX with the wifi adapter and it's rarely used (wife's).
Logged

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #34 on: August 30, 2012, 02:40:40 PM »

Also do us a favor and take a screen capture of the Wireless status and post it, with everything connected when this seems to occur.

Edit: Will do, be back later, have to go exercise....
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #35 on: August 30, 2012, 02:41:04 PM »

When the UVerse 5Ghz WiFi is on, is the 857 5Ghz WiFi on as well?
If so, have you set up manual Channels for each on the modem and 857 using same SSID and pw?
Do you notice any problems if you shut off both 5Ghz radios on the modem and 857? Just leaving the 2.4Ghz radio going on the 857?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #36 on: August 30, 2012, 02:41:45 PM »

Your using chl 1 on the 857 now on 2.4Ghz? Whats the channels set for on the 5Ghz radios?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #37 on: August 30, 2012, 03:42:48 PM »

Your using chl 1 on the 857 now on 2.4Ghz? Whats the channels set for on the 5Ghz radios?

Yes, channel 1 on 2.4Ghz on 857 and the UVerse AP (which is a separate unit from the residential gateway) is 5Ghz on channel 244 or something WAY up there.

I'll turn 5Ghz off on the 857 and see.
Logged

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #38 on: August 30, 2012, 03:50:05 PM »

OK, the 5Ghz on the 857 is now off and my wifi speed according to my adapter is 130Mbps.

Why it's not at 270 or 300 I don't know.  The adapter is set for auto 20/40Mhz so it should be capable of those speeds.  I get those on my DGL-4500 (243-270Mbps).

It's never actually disconnected or dropped the signal yet.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 04:14:57 PM by kargo27 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48952
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #39 on: August 30, 2012, 06:25:21 PM »

Cuz u connected to 2.4Ghz on 857 or modem. Turn off all wireless on modem and then chk ur connection on 857 at 2.4ghz. Then turn of 2.4ghz on 857 and turn on 5ghz and test. Might make sure chl is 30s or 40s on 857.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #40 on: August 30, 2012, 07:07:03 PM »

Cuz u connected to 2.4Ghz on 857 or modem. Turn off all wireless on modem and then chk ur connection on 857 at 2.4ghz. Then turn of 2.4ghz on 857 and turn on 5ghz and test. Might make sure chl is 30s or 40s on 857.

Well, I think I found the problem.  I made a noob move and forgot that I was supposed to use IE to flash and I used Chrome.

I reset to default and flashed and then reset to default again before configuring.  WiFi was then stable and at 243-270Mbps but pages didn't load right on my LT.  So, I reset to default and flashed to 1.02 again using IE.  I forgot to reset to default and began configuring then remembered and stopped, reset to default twice and then configured.  So far, stable but we'll see.

Another odd thing.  When I reconfigured the first time and used the wizard to connect, I got the time zone as Pacific Standard time.  This last time, I got the Bogota, Lima, etc. time zone.
Logged

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #41 on: August 30, 2012, 07:42:22 PM »

OK, now I was back to square one with the slow speeds.

So I reset to default and am now configuring not using the router's wizard nor the CD wizard.

Furry, getting back to your suggestion, I don't have a 5Ghz LT adapter to really test that frequency.
Logged

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #42 on: August 30, 2012, 09:10:34 PM »

I was just typing this post to say that I think I have it stabilized and working and then I lost internet connection but not wifi connection.   ???

I'll have to monitor it still, of course but I did change the channel width to 20Mhz instead of 20/40MHz which seems to have stabilized the wifi.
Logged

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #43 on: August 30, 2012, 10:02:31 PM »

It's my LT's wireless card.  I tried an older LT but with a better wireless card and it's stable and on 5GHz I get 405Mbps on 5Ghz frequency.

Luckily, most LT wireless cards are pretty cheap.  I found the "better one" on ebay for $15.
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: I now understand those who are having wifi issues.
« Reply #44 on: August 31, 2012, 05:36:43 AM »

Kargo, in all seriousness, I would call D-Link back and request a new unit (or another refurbished unit).
« Last Edit: August 31, 2012, 08:07:07 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4