• November 27, 2020, 09:22:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WISP Repeater mode  (Read 11662 times)

AndreasR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
WISP Repeater mode
« on: August 13, 2012, 01:51:43 PM »

Hi,

I am trying to use an DAP-1160 in WISP Repeater mode.

Obviously, the DAP-1160 uses the same SSID for router access and for clients. How can I be sure that clients connect to the DAP but not to the original router?

Cheers
Andreas
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2012, 01:56:26 PM »

Not sure if you can do that since some of the connection will be based on signal strength and distances from the host router and the DAP with the clients. Usually when a device gets farther from say the host router and is closer to the DAP, the device could and should switch over to the DAP automatically. Sometimes devices have to be restarted to effect the change. It's all based on what the devices are signed to so and set up for.  
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 01:59:42 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

AndreasR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2012, 02:12:45 PM »

Thank you!

Is there a device that has two different SSIDs? One for router connection and the other for clients?

Cheers
Andreas
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2012, 02:20:29 PM »

Some routers and maybe some DAPs have guest zones. You can have different SSIDs if you chose too however isn't recommended. If your host router has 2.4 and 5Ghz radios, then this can be different SSIDs.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

AndreasR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2012, 02:23:57 PM »

Hi,

the router I need to connect to accepts one client only. So I want WISP Repeater mode to put more than one client into the network.

Cheers
Andreas
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2012, 02:27:39 PM »

Then you may want to shut off the radio on the host router and use the DAP in AP mode. Then you'll be able to connect more than one client to the DAP.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

AndreasR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2012, 10:44:17 PM »

I have no access to the router. It is a hotel router that takes money for each client - once the access is paid, it is bound to the client mac address. So I need ONE client (DAP-1160) that in turn acts as a router. Hence, WISP Repeater mode.

Cheers
Andreas
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49369
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: WISP Repeater mode
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2012, 07:24:40 AM »

It maybe either the host router only allows for one client or the DAP is not correctly set up to for multiple clients in this WISP mode. Again, the mode might be due to the host router limiting the number of clients to connect. I would contact DLink support about this and see if there is any such limitation if the host router only allows for one client to be connected to there AP and make sure your DAP is correctly configured for use.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CAX80>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.