• November 18, 2019, 05:24:57 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1  (Read 29541 times)

wrc559

  • Guest
Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« on: August 08, 2012, 06:15:04 AM »

I INCORRECTLY, managed to make this router upgrade its firmware to my old DIR 615c1 firmware. I had kept selecting the wrong firmware for the device, Now its bricked.

I cannot get any IP address under DHCP or manually for the device so i can log on and reinstall the correct A1 firmware for the device  :'(

Is there any tools Dlink has for unbricking devices relating to their DIR 632 routers.

This router is 2 days old and its already bricked. Not to sure if its human error or modem error, But when i selected the wrong firmware it hung for about 4 minutes before shutting of to restart then just never restarted.

Should i seek an RMA?
Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2012, 06:44:10 AM »

Please try the following crash recovery procedure:

  • Place the proper firmware on the hard drive of a local PC
  • Connect a network cable directly from the local PC to one of the rear router ports
  • Unplug the power from the router. Hold in the reset button and plug the power back in. Continue holding for 10 seconds and then release.
  • Statically assign an IP address to the wired computer in the same IP subnet range: 192.168.0.x (where x is any number between 2 and 254). Assign the computer Subnet Mask to 255.255.255.0.
  • Enter the IP address of the router (192.168.0.1) in Internet Explorer
  • The crash recovery page should appear. Browse to the location of the firmware on the hard-drive of the local PC and click the Send button.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 06:48:54 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2012, 07:17:08 AM »

Keep this for future reference:
Emergency Recovery Mode
If you can't get it working after trying the Recovery process, you'll need to contact DLink and get the router RMAd back to DLink for repairs. Keep us posted on how it goes.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 07:31:02 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2012, 11:38:05 AM »

Were you able to reset your router?  ???
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2012, 11:43:00 AM »

Any status on this?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Paegus

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2013, 07:28:55 AM »

/Raise from your grave my son!

I have this same issue but the above fix isn't working per-say.

I've recently acquired a DIR-632A1 and on applying the WPS-pin security fix (DIR632_FW_103) it came up saying the signature was wrong and the device would not be reprogrammed. From there the router just stopped workung.

As mentioned I've run through the emergency reset options above and while the page loads, I choose the original firmware (DIR632A1_FW101NAB03) and click the send button. I can see the LAN led flickering away happily for a moment, then stop. The power led continues its regular orange blinking.

I left it for two hours to see if it needed time to do its thing but it's still just sitting there, orange power led, no LAN activity.

Reloading the webpage brings me back to the same page...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2013, 07:32:32 AM »

    Link>
Welcome!
  • What region are you located?

I recommend trying IE or FF. Chrome has been known to cause problems.
Can you access the routers web page at all?

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.


If any of this still fails, you'll need to phone contact your regional D-Link support office and get the router into RMA if they will support it.

/Raise from your grave my son!

I have this same issue but the above fix isn't working per-say.

I've recently acquired a DIR-632A1 and on applying the WPS-pin security fix (DIR632_FW_103) it came up saying the signature was wrong and the device would not be reprogrammed. From there the router just stopped workung.

As mentioned I've run through the emergency reset options above and while the page loads, I choose the original firmware (DIR632A1_FW101NAB03) and click the send button. I can see the LAN led flickering away happily for a moment, then stop. The power led continues its regular orange blinking.

I left it for two hours to see if it needed time to do its thing but it's still just sitting there, orange power led, no LAN activity.

Reloading the webpage brings me back to the same page...

[/list]
« Last Edit: July 18, 2013, 07:54:41 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

håkon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2014, 08:25:26 AM »

Hello! i got the same problem.. i flashed my Dir 632 whit V 1.03 i had v 1.01 i thin i booted fine but after i went fore som more coffey! The device had booted an no dhcp is running as we speak on this divice no more! but i got lan status but 169.x.x.x adresses. ive set an class C on my lan ip but still cant ping the device ore accses the router it self! i also flashed it back whit the "old" firware using the firmware recovery tool and i hoped thath would work but no better! mabye i doo someting really wrong?  but i GOT lan and i see the leds power opp og lan on router is active! i really cant help understand this! the fail safe firmware isent it fail safe?

Help me please! :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2014, 08:38:17 AM »

Link>Welcome!


  • What region are you located?

Please try this:
Emergency Recovery Mode

Be LAN wired to the router with a PC.

PC 3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.
  • Disable any downloading client software managers, i.e. Torrents or similar.

Hello! i got the same problem.. i flashed my Dir 632 whit V 1.03 i had v 1.01 i thin i booted fine but after i went fore som more coffey! The device had booted an no dhcp is running as we speak on this divice no more! but i got lan status but 169.x.x.x adresses. ive set an class C on my lan ip but still cant ping the device ore accses the router it self! i also flashed it back whit the "old" firware using the firmware recovery tool and i hoped thath would work but no better! mabye i doo someting really wrong?  but i GOT lan and i see the leds power opp og lan on router is active! i really cant help understand this! the fail safe firmware isent it fail safe?

Help me please! :)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

håkon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #9 on: November 06, 2014, 09:44:00 AM »

Sorry im tired.. so maby i have written bad.!

Well im located in norway. the router is from ebay! and it worked out of the box. i wanted the newest firmware bofore i was going to set it up. so i flashed it whent for a coffey! and when i came back it was no dhcp running cant ping it and cant see it whit wlan...
i set my ip adress 192.168.0.X
try to ping it but i cant so i dont understand! :( why wuld it fail when its the Orginal firmware? ?? i used firefox! and i seemed fine! the router is an dir-632 and hw versjon A1 f/w 1.0.0 this is strange i flashed a LOT of routers and aps! all worked fine! this did not! :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47908
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Device Has Been Bricked DIR 632A1
« Reply #10 on: November 06, 2014, 09:49:29 AM »

Try the recovery mode...

FYI, this model router was never marketed or supported in your region and has been phased out here in the NA region. I recommend to try to recover the router using the process linked in my previous post and or send it back to the seller on ebay and find you something that is supported in your region:
http://www.dlink.com/no/nb/home-solutions/connect/routers
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting