• August 03, 2020, 08:23:35 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Network storage configuration  (Read 3966 times)

eebclee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Network storage configuration
« on: August 06, 2015, 09:23:49 AM »

I can not get network storage to work on this camera (DCS-2132LB1) or my DCS-2332L, I'm hoping someone here can help.

Here's my current configuration, although I've tried many things:



This is a share drive on a mac ( OS 10.8 ) with the SMB sharing option on.  I have no trouble accessing this from Windows 8, but the cameras won't use it.

I've tried several things over the last week.  I thought maybe it was having trouble with the typical Mac Firstname[space]Lastname userid so I set up a sharing account with no space in the user name.  No difference.  I connected an external drive and set that up with sharing, again tested with Windows 8, but that didn't make the cameras any happier.  I've tried changing the permissions on the director (and external drive) all the way to giving any user full access, no change.

They have no trouble sending the same files to email, so I know I have everything set up correctly except the network storage.  What am I doing wrong?
« Last Edit: August 08, 2015, 12:10:54 PM by eebclee »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 12:41:54 PM »

I think Mac needs smb:\\ in the path

However not sure if this will work on this camera...
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

eebclee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2015, 07:26:36 PM »

If I add smb: the camera just deletes it when I save the settings.  Windows doesn't need the smb: to access it.  That gave me an idea though, and I shut off AFP sharing so that SMB was the only option on the mac, but that also made no difference.  Puzzling.


Logged

legi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 05:10:52 AM »

I Have same problems with D-Link Cameras DCS-2332 and 2210.
No way to figure out how to get this thing to send Mail, ftp or Synology. Always Test failed. I started a ticket at D-Link, but no response since 3 days.
The problem with the save seems to be that you have to reboot the camera and the the next save is ok. I don't have any more ideas tried numerous variants.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2015, 07:00:16 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

What Mfr and model is the main host router?

I Have same problems with D-Link Cameras DCS-2332 and 2210.
No way to figure out how to get this thing to send Mail, ftp or Synology. Always Test failed. I started a ticket at D-Link, but no response since 3 days.
The problem with the save seems to be that you have to reboot the camera and the the next save is ok. I don't have any more ideas tried numerous variants.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49027
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2015, 07:01:04 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.

If I add smb: the camera just deletes it when I save the settings.  Windows doesn't need the smb: to access it.  That gave me an idea though, and I shut off AFP sharing so that SMB was the only option on the mac, but that also made no difference.  Puzzling.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

eebclee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2015, 12:09:20 PM »

First camera:
DCS-2132LB1 (HW version B1)
Firmware Version 2.02.05

Second camera:
DCS-2332L
Firmware Version 1.03.06 (I think there's a newer version for this one, I'll try updating it.)  (Updated, no change.)

I'm in California.

Router: Airport Time Capsule 802.11ac version 7.7.3.  Both cameras are connected by ethernet cable, not wifi.

As an aside: as a work around I tried using a service to email the files to cloud storage, but Google locked me out of gmail for that . . . apparently they don't like you using their email service for that.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2015, 01:39:09 PM by eebclee »
Logged

eebclee

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Network storage configuration
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2015, 01:37:00 PM »

After trying several more things over the weekend, I gave up and set up a very restricted  FTP server.  I don't recommend this solution, almost no one uses FTP anymore for good reasons.  It would be nice if D-Link provided more options (like SFTP, even better Dropbox/Google Drive/OneDrive etc. support, or at least a reliable SMB implementation.)

legi -- as several others on this forum have reported the "Test Failed" message is meaningless.  On email and FTP settings it usually says "Test Failed" on both my cameras even when it's working.  You just have to test it yourself -- set up an event that will try and send an image as see what happens.  Pretend the "Test" button isn't there.
Logged