• September 28, 2020, 04:46:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files  (Read 26319 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« on: August 02, 2012, 09:16:33 AM »

So I wanted to make owners of this model router aware that we've seen some problems with doing a Factory Reset of the router before and after loading FW files, then loading a saved configuration file. Seems that after doing a factory reset and loading FW and then trying to load the saved configuration file is failing on Windows and OSX.


It's always been recommended to do a factory reset before and after sending FW and normally it works for all the other router models. Not sure why the 857 is not behaving as expected.

So I'm recommending that for anyone doing a FW update or needs to update, do a dirty FW update and just load the FW file over the routers current configuration with out doing any factory resets before or after the update has been applied. If you do so, this will cause the saved configuration file to fail to load and you'll have to set up the router manually from scratch.

For any one wanting to provide feedback or information if they have seen this or wants to test this out, please let us know here. If you have saved configuration files and need some of the information or setup configurations and the file won't load, use NOTEPAD++ to view the configuration file and gleem the information needed.

DLink as been made aware of this problem.
I hope this will be resolved soon.  ::)


Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 08:16:23 PM »

Well I'm happy to report that after v1.02 has been loaded and configured for the past week or so, I used Mac OSX 10.8 and Safari today to save off the configuration file, did a factory reset, used the Wizard to do a basic setup, then re-loaded the saved configuration file and this time it loaded correctly and the router restarted correctly and did not give me any error message about the configuration file not being loaded correctly. Wonder if this was a v1.01 FW issue. Seems to have been resolved.  ;D
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 06:55:09 AM »

NICE, so then I guess it is safe to say to load the new F/W 1.02, do a hard reset on router and reload saved router config.....and all will be well in the world  ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 07:09:32 AM »

Let us know how it works out for you man. I had loaded v1.02 and set up the router and didn't save or restore from anything since v1.01. I just saved what I had on the router as v1.02 had been loaded, factory reset the router then restored from the saved v1.02 config file and it loaded. I think there was something wrong in v1.01.  :-\
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2012, 08:30:53 PM »

So I finally got around to loading F/W 1.02. Using my Toshiba laptop I have installed Win 8 32-bit enterprise and IE10 and Firefox 15.

1) Downloaded a fresh F/W1.02 .bin
2) Saved my Config. bin and also print screen my existing configurations, just in case.
3) Push the reset button on the 857 and let it reset.
4) Access the router using IE10 and installed the new F/W 1.02, everything loaded up nicely no hiccups
5) Went to reinstall the Config bin and it failed, under both IE 10 & FF. I did not do the basic setup before hand as one member has done and he was successful in installing the Config bin.
6) Manually reinstalled all my Config from the saved print screen...literally saved my ass.

Router is up and running thus far no problems on either my Wired or wireless. Seems to be stable and running well. Next time I think I'll run the basic set up and then install my config. bin

keep you all posted
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2012, 07:14:22 AM »

Possible issue with v1.01 and v1.01 configuration files loading on to v1.01 and v1.02. You shouldn't see any issues with v1.02 and it's configuration files generated under v1.02, unless IE10 or Win 8 maybe introducing problems. I would try IE 8 or 9, maybe even compatibility mode. Does it happen with Win 7?

So I finally got around to loading F/W 1.02. Using my Toshiba laptop I have installed Win 8 32-bit enterprise and IE10 and Firefox 15.

1) Downloaded a fresh F/W1.02 .bin
2) Saved my Config. bin and also print screen my existing configurations, just in case.
3) Push the reset button on the 857 and let it reset.
4) Access the router using IE10 and installed the new F/W 1.02, everything loaded up nicely no hiccups
5) Went to reinstall the Config bin and it failed, under both IE 10 & FF. I did not do the basic setup before hand as one member has done and he was successful in installing the Config bin.
6) Manually reinstalled all my Config from the saved print screen...literally saved my ass.

Router is up and running thus far no problems on either my Wired or wireless. Seems to be stable and running well. Next time I think I'll run the basic set up and then install my config. bin

keep you all posted

Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2012, 07:31:03 AM »

Possible issue with v1.01 and v1.01 configuration files loading on to v1.01 and v1.02. You shouldn't see any issues with v1.02 and it's configuration files generated under v1.02, unless IE10 or Win 8 maybe introducing problems. I would try IE 8 or 9, maybe even compatibility mode. Does it happen with Win 7?


When I loaded FW 1.01 on Win7, it was fine. But I did a dirty upgrade, meaning I just installled FW 1.01 over the existing FW 1.00 and config. When the router was done installing 1.01, my original config was ALL there.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2012, 07:34:58 AM »

I did the same thing, then I saved the v1.01 config to file, factory reset then tried to load the v1.01 saved config file and it failed.  :-\ v1.02 seems to be working fine though for me.

Let us know how your 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz connected wifi speeds are under the Status/Wireless if you would. Are you devices connecting at there maximum WiFi supported connected speeds?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2012, 05:05:16 PM »

The 5GHZ is reading anywhere from 60-80M, and the 2.4GHZ is around 54M.  :-\
 
Don't know what the stats where with 1.01. With 1.02 I am getting the same signal strength, no change really. When I SSID the community noticed somebody else with a Dual band Linksys is running in my frequency range :'(. Some interference from that network, may go lower if it is adversely affects my 5GHZ, well see.

Overall the router had been running smooth, just like before and will see in the next 24-48 hrs. Had a chance to play Xbox last nite, running fine over the wireless 2.4. ( NO WISH settings)

I configured the WISH setting this morning, will see if it makes any difference. over the wireless now!!!!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2012, 08:34:58 PM »

How far are the devices from the router. What speeds
Do you see if in that same room, say 4-6 ft? What are max speed connections of each device?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

HS-1971

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2012, 11:03:18 PM »

I did the FW update to 1.02 without any resets or loading of the configuration file. My router works fine without any issues.  :D
Logged

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2012, 11:46:20 AM »

How far are the devices from the router. What speeds
Do you see if in that same room, say 4-6 ft? What are max speed connections of each device?

My 5GHZ lappie about 4-6 ft away is getting 116M w/ 100% signal strength.

Ipad 3 is 4-6ft away from router and seeing 62M over the 5GHZ  :-\
« Last Edit: September 15, 2012, 11:49:30 AM by Lexist2112 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2012, 05:02:10 PM »

How about at 2.4ghz?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

Lexist2112

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 197
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2012, 03:05:27 PM »

How about at 2.4ghz?

On the 2.4GHZ , wireless devices are seeing around 54M.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49215
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 Factory Reset and loading saved Configuration files
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2012, 03:15:57 PM »

same room? all at once? Single device? I presume thats not the max they can do?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2