• August 24, 2019, 06:33:32 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems  (Read 44654 times)

Raphie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« on: July 23, 2012, 01:32:02 AM »

Hi, I just replaced my DIR-655 with a DIR-857 over the weekend. (factory firmware 1.0)
The router only does 5GHz & 2.4Ghz Wifi and DHCP

LAN works fine, i've had several IP issues after switching, but once all MAC addresses had been add to the DHCP table it works ok. The router is connected to a Netgear 108T switch which connects all the wired devices. I can reach the DIR-857 webinterface from any device connected. so far so good.

Now... without any reason the the dir-857 drops the wan connection.
It doesn't show it in de webinterface (i still got my ISP WAN address and when i refresh i get it immediately back) but the webbrowser gives a DNS lookup error for internet adresses (local addresses are still fine)

the DNS servers of my ISP are fine and the WAN page of the dir-655 shows the same values, but does not show this problem.
Also the signalvalues of the CISCO cable modem are fine.
the config is stable with the DIR-655, but not with the DIR-857

Thoughts?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47712
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 07:30:51 AM »

I would try the following connection platform first to help eliminate any connections issues between the modem and router as this is the preferred method for connecting routers and modems and other devices:
ISP Modem>DIR-857>Then network switch><all wired devices to the switch.

Some things to try: - Log into the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Try turning off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2012, 07:32:27 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Raphie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 12:31:38 AM »

did all of that, even replaced all wired devices outside the DHCP pool with static IP adress
things i noticed, the DIR-857 DHCP server seems a bit wonky, it doesn't release clients very well and when you roam between 5GHz and 2.4Ghz some devices seem to maintain 2 ip addresses from DIR-857 perspective and "get lost" (loose internet connection)

Also having 24.GHz and 5GHz both on at the same time, seems to stress the router too much.
Router gets REALLY HOT

now ALL wireless devices have a DHCP reservation, ALL wired devices have a static IP outside the DHCP pool.  and only 2.4GHz is on. This seems to work stable. However I would like to use 5GHz as well.

Strangest thing happened with my Synology diskstation. If i leave IP on dynamic. it will NOT pick up the allocated IP address from the DIR-857, while it did that perfectly on the DIR-655, which more or less confirm my feeling that the DHCP server is a bit volatile
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47712
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 07:01:46 AM »

ALL devices should be placed with in the DHCP pool and should set reservations ON the router for all devices.

I recommend doing a factory reset and turning off ALL devices accept ONE PC to manage the router. Set a reservation on the one PC and save settings, then turn on the next device and let it connected. Reserve and Save.

It's normal for this router to run hotter than the 655, different CPUs and more features than the 655.

I recommend using mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

What region are you located?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Raphie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 09:04:03 AM »

I'm located in the Netherlands and I do appreciate the help, but I'm just getting frustrated.

I run WPA AES only and N only (N+A on the 5GHZ band when on) as I have no B/G devices, or A devices in 5GHz (but you can't turn that off)

I'm having 3 laptops, 2 iPads, 2 Dune Mediaplayers, Panasonic Vierra TV, Dreambox, docking station, Airplay speaker, Apple TV and 2 Airport Extreme's V2, a Synology D1512+ and 3 NETGEAR 108T-200 switches

Adding everything outside the DHCP pool static for wired and DHCP allocated for wireless works fine. But all hell breaks loose when a device mac is not predefined in the router, or not static defined outside the DHCP pool. Or when a device that's not allocated, is being turned on, or off. The router chokes and WAN is lost (DNS error)

Unfortunately I'm now able to replicate the behaviour, AND being able to prevent it, by asigning everything. But it still doesn't solve the router DHCP server being wonky. This is buggy behaviour and should not happen.  

on my DIR-655 (rev a) I only reserved my dreambox as it had portforwarding configured. And EVERYTHING just worked, devices being turned ON/OFF NEVER DHCP issues or IP CONFLICTS.


« Last Edit: July 24, 2012, 09:06:34 AM by Raphie »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47712
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 09:22:25 AM »

I might talk to your regional DLink support office and ask about this. This is something we have not seen here in the U.S. Could be something with FW. I see there isn't newer FW for the EU units, yet.  ::)

Let us know what they say.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Raphie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 10:04:20 AM »

Dlink Netherlands? don't make me laugh, they go with release firmware and one would be happy if one gets one single FW update during the product lifecycel.

Now with 5GHz on 2.4Ghz craps out all the time. still connection but very slow both WAN and LAN
going back to my DIR-655 for now. This unit is not good. See if the store wants to exhange it for a netgear.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47712
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2012, 10:17:23 AM »

Good luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Raphie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2012, 10:40:31 AM »

ThnX, We'll see what happens, DIR-655 up and running again.
Logged

Sianspheric

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2012, 06:25:07 PM »

Hi Raphie

Did you figure out something ? I've bought a DIR-827 and got the exact same problem. From time to time i got not internet access. Lan is working fine but not the Wan. Logging into the router i can see that the DNS are ok. Each time i need to power cycle the router or in the Wan Settings page of the router i do a DHCP release / renew. After a couple of minute the connection is back online.

For one week i even tried to disable the Wireless and still got this issue from time to time. I also put back my old dlink router on which i never had this issue and still then no problem at all.

Thanks,
Logged

leon0101

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #10 on: March 03, 2013, 05:44:41 AM »

Hi,

I think your problem could be really simple and covered in the original manual:

Go into the router settings - 192.168.0.1

'Setup'

'Manual Internet Connection Setup'

You'll see 'Reconnect Mode' and under this you will have three choices; 'Always on' 'On Demand' or 'Manual' These settings mean the router is 'Always on' - always connected to the internet, or 'On Demand' - only connects when there is a demand or 'Manual" - you have to manually connect it to the internet each time you want to enter the web. By default I believe it is set to 'On Demand' meaning it only connects when there is demand. So, set it to 'Always on' save it, and the problem should go away.

 :)
Logged

zarkuon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2013, 01:48:50 AM »

...
You'll see 'Reconnect Mode' and under this you will have three choices; 'Always on' 'On Demand' or 'Manual' These settings mean the router is 'Always on' - always connected to the internet, or 'On Demand' - only connects when there is a demand or 'Manual" - you have to manually connect it to the internet each time you want to enter the web. By default I believe it is set to 'On Demand' meaning it only connects when there is demand. So, set it to 'Always on' save it, and the problem should go away.
...

That's fine, but doesn't fix the problem as this option is only available for some of the connection types. I'm using static IP and there is no such option in that case. I tried however to go trough all the possible connection types and switched the option to "Always on", just to check it doesn't make some hidden link to options which shouln't be used for Static IP - the issue still exist.

Edit: I forgot to mention that any chat program continue to work during the "connection drop" - I'm able to send/receive messages trough skype for example while unable to browse internet.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2013, 05:21:27 AM by zarkuon »
Logged
D-link DIR 857 FW1.01b09 for EU region

nestolea

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2013, 03:03:51 PM »

Quote
Edit: I forgot to mention that any chat program continue to work during the "connection drop" - I'm able to send/receive messages trough skype for example while unable to browse internet.

Thats a precious addition! This means that you didn't loose the network connection. There seem to be only WWW-problems.

What is your setting under "Setup" --> "Parental Control"?
Any entries in "Advanced" --> "Website Filter"?
Logged

zarkuon

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Replaced DIR-655 with DIR-857 > connection problems
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2013, 05:18:36 AM »

I'm using the FW for EU region - check the signature which I just updated. However first I tried with V1.03 and 1.04 probably from NA region - the same behavior.
Yes, the issue is with WWW, but randomly appars - I just got it again - while using the forum I tried to refresh the page and .... IE gave me error page. Restart of the router to get it working in 1 minute instead of ~5 and the site is working again. So it's not a specific page which has the problem...
Also my game tried to update and failed - I don't know which protocols it uses.
Logged
D-link DIR 857 FW1.01b09 for EU region
Pages: [1] 2 3