• November 21, 2019, 04:03:01 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5

Author Topic: DIR-857 vs DIR-865  (Read 38046 times)

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #30 on: July 24, 2012, 09:25:20 PM »

And another issue . The only computers that show up as valid choices on the Virtual Server "Computer Name" pulldown are the dynamic DHCP clients. Those that I have setup DHCP reservations for do not appear. Of course I can type them in manually (and I have, having setup HTTP and HTTPS to forward to my WHS, although I still can't seem to get connected to it, so I have to wonder if the forwarding I setup is actually working).

I am beginning to wonder about the completeness of the test plan for this firmware ;-)
--
bc
Logged

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #31 on: July 24, 2012, 10:11:57 PM »

Turns out the WHS issue is not UPNP after all. Its a loopback issue. Cannot connect to my local website on the WHS from inside the network. When I connected from my phone over LTE (with WIFI off), it did work.
--
bc
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #32 on: July 25, 2012, 11:52:41 AM »

I would create a new thread here in the 857 forum for all suspect problems you find on the 865. Any product review or observations you can post in this thread. Both of these threads and any other 865 related posts will move to the new 865L forum when it's created.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #33 on: August 02, 2012, 12:49:36 PM »

For what its worth, I noticed a 1.01 firmware on the Dlink support site for the 865 so I flashed it. None of my issues were resolved. Even after restoring my settings, the admin password had been set back to blank (is the admin password not saved to the config?). The DNS relay issue persists (when DNS relay is not set, I end up with 4 DNS servers, 2 are the static OpenDNS ones I setup in the LAN configuration and 2 were dynamic ones obtained from my ISP). Finally, loopback connection to my Windows Home Server box still doesn't work (i.e. I can't connect to it by pointing to its homeserver.com address, I have to use its local LAN address, e.g. 192.168.x.x). None of these are showstoppers though, more annoyances than anything else.

Also even though the 865 does have a stronger WIFI signal than the 857, my "problematic" location continues to be a pain (its my media room way way upstairs). I cannot get my phone or tablet to get decent reception up there. I finally broke down and hauled my old DAP-1522 out of the closet and set it up an an AP (connected to the network over the 500 Mbps powerline ethernet that all the wired devices up there are connected to). Now I'm getting very strong signal and excellent throughput. Oh well ... at least the DIR-865's signal is stronger on the lower floors, so it was worth it for that reason.
--
bc
« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 12:51:09 PM by rlcronin »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #34 on: August 02, 2012, 01:17:37 PM »

Great feed back. Glad you got an AP going. I believe any router would have range issues with multi floor buildings.

If DNS relay is enabled, what are the results if you leave it enabled and set DNS to automatic on the clients while just using ISP DNS?

I'll forward this on to DLink for review.

Again, any other problems you might see, please start a new thread with the DIR-865L title. Eventually it's own forum will be created and we'll move everything over there.

Thank you.

« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 01:21:44 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #35 on: August 04, 2012, 09:09:46 AM »

With DNS relay enabled and using only my ISP's DNS (i.e. the primary and secondary DNS server addresses on the 865's Internet configuration page are blank), everything worked fine.

I tried the same scenario (that is, the p/s DNS addresses blank) with DNS relay NOT enabled and lo, that doesn't work either.

So it seems that it doesn't matter if you configure p/s DNS server addresses or not, if you uncheck DNS relay, DNS lookups fail all the time.

Since its a hard failure regardless of the server configuration, that should be easier for the firmware engineers to find and fix.
--
bc
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #36 on: August 04, 2012, 01:39:48 PM »

I got response back from DLink and they said that they have not been able to reproduce these issues your seeing. They said they tried 3 different browsers and each one successfully saved passwords and the router retained it after a reboot.

They also check the DNS settings and said the DNS function is working as designed as expected. I'm wondering if there is a configuration issue on yours or something not being set correctly. I know that in normal default operation, DNS P/S fields are blank, DNS Relay is ON and the router will automatically get DNS addresses from the ISP modem. This will change if you input manual DNS addresses into the blank fields, then the router should use these specified addresses instead of the automatic detection of DNS.

I would presume that if the admin PW is not being set, I would try a different PC to manage the router as a test and see if the problem exhibits there, and if so, it's possible the router could be at fault and needs to be RMAd to DLink for review. I would at least call and talk to Level 2 support and get some help.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using Link> teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

Thanks for all the feed back and keep us posted.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2012, 02:18:13 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #37 on: August 05, 2012, 08:12:20 AM »

Regarding the password issue. The password is not lost after a simple reboot. It is lost if you restore the settings from a file. To recreate, login to the router and setup an administrative password. Save the configuration to disk. Log out. Log back in using the new password to verify it works, Then restore the saved configuration from disk. After the router reboots, when I try to log back in with the very same password that worked moments before I restored the configuration, I am told the password is invalid. Using a blank password works.

So I conclude that  the administrative password is either not being saved when the configuration is saved to disk, or else there's some issue with restoring it.
--
bc
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #38 on: August 05, 2012, 08:24:32 AM »

So what your seeing now is different than what you posted in #29?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #39 on: August 05, 2012, 08:35:30 AM »

So what your seeing now is different than what you posted in #29?
With respect to the password? No. Same issue. The router admin password is not restored properly when settings are restored from a file.
--
bc
Logged

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #40 on: August 05, 2012, 08:47:07 AM »

They also check the DNS settings and said the DNS function is working as designed as expected.
Regarding the DNS issue, just to be certain we're comparing apples to apples here, can you verify that when they checked into this, they had a DHCP connection to their ISP, had alternate DNS servers defined in the Primary and Secondary DNS servers fields of the Internet connection configuration page and had DNS relay enabled in Network setup? Here are pictures of my Internet connection page and my Network page:

http://goo.gl/3NUGo
http://goo.gl/1oqqI

With this configuration, I end up with 4 DNS servers defined when I do ipconfig/all. The first two are the ones I had in the primary and secondary DNS server fields and the last two are my ISP's servers. It should only be the first two.
--
bc
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #41 on: August 05, 2012, 09:17:01 AM »

You said in post #29 that upon rebooting the router that the Admin PW is not saved. Is this a normal reboot or a reboot after the configuration file has been loaded? Just trying to clarify here.

With respect to the password? No. Same issue. The router admin password is not restored properly when settings are restored from a file.
--
bc
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47921
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #42 on: August 05, 2012, 09:19:56 AM »

Can you post a capture of your Status/WAN section page when you are using manual DNS and post a picture of the CMD box of the results of the IPCONFIG /ALL listing the 4 DNS addresses? The routers IP configuration is irrelevant here.

Regarding the DNS issue, just to be certain we're comparing apples to apples here, can you verify that when they checked into this, they had a DHCP connection to their ISP, had alternate DNS servers defined in the Primary and Secondary DNS servers fields of the Internet connection configuration page and had DNS relay enabled in Network setup? Here are pictures of my Internet connection page and my Network page:

http://goo.gl/3NUGo
http://goo.gl/1oqqI

With this configuration, I end up with 4 DNS servers defined when I do ipconfig/all. The first two are the ones I had in the primary and secondary DNS server fields and the last two are my ISP's servers. It should only be the first two.
--
bc
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #43 on: August 06, 2012, 04:33:04 PM »

You said in post #29 that upon rebooting the router that the Admin PW is not saved. Is this a normal reboot or a reboot after the configuration file has been loaded? Just trying to clarify here.

Sure, no problem. It's a reboot after restoring the configuration file.
--
bc
Logged

rlcronin

  • Guest
Re: DIR-857 vs DIR-865
« Reply #44 on: August 06, 2012, 04:55:32 PM »

Can you post a capture of your Status/WAN section page when you are using manual DNS and post a picture of the CMD box of the results of the IPCONFIG /ALL listing the 4 DNS addresses? The routers IP configuration is irrelevant here.

Certainly, here's the IPCONFIG output for my ethernet adapter when the router has been configured without DNS relay checked:

http://goo.gl/f2YZU

And here is a picture of the Status/WAN page:

http://goo.gl/kRmrJ

And here is the same when it has been configured with DNS relay checked:

http://goo.gl/HCuZv

and

http://goo.gl/PUdJR

You'll notice that although the IPCONFIG output is different for the two cases (the first showing the 4 DNS servers (the two I configured and two from my ISP) and the second showing only one server, the local address of the router), the WAN status page is identical in both cases (except for the amount of time it had been connected since I released and refreshed the DHCP address from my ISP).

When in the configuration with the 4 DNS servers, I cannot get *any* DNS queries to work. Ping commands from a Windows command prompt fail. Attempts to open any webpage fail.

Interestingly, though, I also tried using the System Check tool on the Router's TOOLS page and typed in www.google.com and it told me that www.google.com was alive, even though when I put www.google.com in as a web browser URL, the browser was unable to resolve it. I suspect Windows is freaked out about having been given the 4 DNS servers, whereas from the router's point of view, everything is OK.

I suspect that the DHCP server in the router is what is broken here.

When DNS relay is not enabled, it seems to be giving Windows all 4 addresses, the statically configured ones AND the dynamic ones from the ISP. If there are static DNS servers configured, it should give out those addresses to clients. If there are no static addresses configured it should give out the addresses from the ISP. It should never give out both sets.
--
bc
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5