+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link Cloud Routers» DIR-826L» Can't get the Router to work as an access point
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Can't get the Router to work as an access point  (Read 13771 times)
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« on: July 15, 2012, 07:50:06 PM »

Followed the directions in the manual. Essentually:

Manually assign the DIR-826L an IP
Disable DHCP
Disable UPnP
Plug one of the LAN ports on the DIR-826L into a LAN port on my router connected to the internet

When I do this, the Wi-Fi clients connected to the DIR-826L are given an IP from the master router, however the clients get a dLink generated 404 error at Accesst_Point_IP/error-404asp

I can open the DIR-826's configuration pages from a wi-fi connected client or a wired PC on the main network.

What am I doing wrong?

Update: OK, I have tried everything I can think of and I can't get this working... no matter what I do, it seems to want to route the traffic to the WAN interface on the DIR-826 even though that isn't the gefault gateway. Also, when connected to the AP through Wi-Fi, I can't access other computers on the LAN, which is very odd... it seems this thing wants to route all traffic through the WAN interface, even traffic that is supposed to stay on the LAN subnet.

Any ideas?

« Last Edit: July 15, 2012, 08:38:41 PM by schwaggs » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 07:36:04 AM »

Review this: Turning a router into an AP.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 07:12:11 PM »

That is the exact process I followed. The same steps are in the DIR-826L user manual. Still no luck.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 07:21:08 PM »

This is a first. Seems like if your using the sticky and have everything wired and configured correctly, it should work. I'm wondering if this model router is designed to prevent AP mode. DLink doesn't officially support these routers as APs, only has the main host router using the WAN Port and not passive thru the LAN port, and everything wired to the back or wireless clients off the radio. I didn't see any information in the manual about AP mode, just how to configure the router has a main host router and wifi for clients.

I would presume that if your needing a device for WiFi and rely on your modem as the host modem and router and your looking to just add WiFI to the system, then I would recommend checking out a DAP model device, such as a DAP-1525, 1533 or 1522. These can provide you with WiFi in AP mode with out having the router function.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2012, 06:10:59 PM »

Yea, I saw the DAP devices but they cost $30 more for less functionality and couldn't quite understand the logic in paying the extra cost unless I am missing some feature the DAP devices have over the DIR-826L.

Anyway, I have tried everything I can think of so it appears to me that something has changed. Something this router does that my DIR-825 does not is presenting a 404 error when the WAN port does not have connectivity. Maybe something in that implementation broke the ability to use it as an AP...
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2012, 06:19:34 PM »

Well, these routers are supposed to be routers with wireless as the Host AP. Not really meant for bridging or relaying. I could see something being changed to prevent them from being used as passive APs. With out getting my hands on one to check, anything is possible.

Well, maybe use the 826 has your host router and find a used 825 on fleabay or amazon for cheap and turn it into an AP.  Roll Eyes
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2012, 10:32:11 AM »

I thought of using the DIR-826 as the main router and re-configuring my DIR-825 as the AP but I think I will just return this and wait for it to mature. I was reading through some of the problems others are having with it and I don't feel like being d'Link's QA department. Its a shame as the features of this device are attractive.

BTW, using this as an AP is supposed to be a supported configuration as the instructions to configure it as such are in the manual. Seems like D'Link didn't even bother to test the product with their own instructions...
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2012, 10:40:51 AM »

On what page of the manual are you seeing this information about AP? Found it on pg 11 of the user manual I think. Seems to be supported as a wired AP to an existing router. Interesting. They failed to mention that a user should change the IP address of this router if your going to use it in this fashion.  Undecided To something like 192.168.0.50. I presume you did the same here on yours?  

I'll pass this along and see if we can get any information on it.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2012, 11:02:38 AM by FurryNutz » Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2012, 06:46:29 PM »

Yea, I created an IP reservation in the DIR 825 DCHP server for the DIR-826L so other devices wouldn't get the same IP and set a static IP as the DIR-826L's as the instructions say the 826 can't support DHCP on the LAN ports. I could log in to the 826 from my LAN and configure it just fine so I know that part was working....
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2012, 08:02:33 AM »

So does the router work as the Main Host router?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
schwaggs
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2012, 07:54:27 PM »

I decided to take it back and stay with my old router/access point to let the firmware mature. I may try it again in a year or so when the platform has matured.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2012, 08:20:57 PM »

I would recommend an DAP model device that is more designed as an AP.
Good luck.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
TokenOlGuy
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #12 on: November 20, 2012, 11:07:44 AM »

Yep I had the same problem until I updated with the last update...  Clicking search for upadates on the router itself no workiy but googling the "dir-825l" and update found a couple and I installed the last one. The router was already configured and networked per instruction in the manual.  I could ping... say Google from a comand prompt but the Web page quiry spawned the router "Opps ..... page"  After the firmware update it started working...   dir826l_fw_102.bin is the name of the firmware you need but I'm a dummy and don't have it's web address...  perhaps the moderator can provide a link   good luck
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27620


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #13 on: November 20, 2012, 12:03:03 PM »

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=51258.0  Grin
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
rchang
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #14 on: December 05, 2012, 03:45:33 PM »

Yep I had the same problem until I updated with the last update...  the Web page quiry spawned the router "Opps ..... page"  After the firmware update it started working...   dir826l_fw_102.bin is the name of the firmware you need but I'm a dummy and don't have it's web address...  perhaps the moderator can provide a link   good luck

Exactly my problem. Can't find firmware update 1.02 though. Can only see 1.01. Did 1.02 get pulled? Does 1.01 fix this problem too?

-R.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.