• December 12, 2019, 12:55:47 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: LG BD-570 Bluray  (Read 3326 times)

lukeshow

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
LG BD-570 Bluray
« on: March 16, 2012, 08:48:02 AM »

Hi all,

New to posting to the forum, but have searched here before for answers.

I have dir-655 that I have wired to an LG BD-570 bluray.  I have a couple of issues that may all be related:

1. Netflix loads shows very slowly
2. When using PlayOn and trying to access script content (i.e. TvLinks, etc) I get a "network may be congested" error
3. I can't update the firmware on the LG when it calls for an update.  I get a message that it cannot connect to the server

It should be noted that when I skip the router and daisy chain through my computer's ethernet port 2 and enable "internet sharing" on ethernet port 1 (coming direct from my modem) none of these problems seem to exist.


I've tried some of the fixes on this forum before that seemed to be similar problems to what I've had (putting the LG in the DMZ, etc)... but it only resulted in no results at all, or having to reset my router to factory settings and starting over.


Please help or link to a page that you think might help!

Thanks so much everyone!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: LG BD-570 Bluray
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 09:25:17 AM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Prefered set up of the router with modems and PCs is in the following way:
ISP Modem> DIR-655><Wired and wireless devices nad PC connected to the router.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 10:12:11 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

lukeshow

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: LG BD-570 Bluray
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 10:07:40 AM »

Wow... thanks FurryNutz

I'm at work right now, and will try to answer these questions/tweak the setup when I get home.

Thanks again!  I'll let you know how it goes
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47982
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: LG BD-570 Bluray
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2012, 07:41:59 PM »

Any status on this? Curious if you got this working better.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting