• September 17, 2019, 02:23:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Dir-815 wireless problems  (Read 8993 times)

eballard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Dir-815 wireless problems
« on: July 09, 2012, 01:07:33 PM »

Hi,

I have had my DIR-815 router for a while now and normally connect via ethernet to my iMac no problem.  I set up the wireless network using the wizard online and everything worked perfectly for a short period of time (few days).

The ethernet connection to the router works perfectly and is steady providing a good stable internet connection. I have just moved my imac and I am now connecting wirelessly which is also working great, I also use my apple tv wireless and also works great.

However when I am trying to connect using my macbook, or my wife and I's iphones I have issues.  They will connect to the internet for a very short period of time 10-15 secs then the network will drop.  If I disconnect from the wireless network from the devices and reconnect the same problem occurs, short connection then disconnects.

When I reset both the router and the modem it appears to fix the problem and then the laptop and iphones can then use the wireless fine...for a day or two and then the problem will occur again requiring another reset of router/modem.

Can anyone help me? Its getting annoying how it will work on some devices but not all.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 02:11:27 PM »

Link>Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?

Some things to try:
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set NAT Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall if you have this option.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

Link>Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 if preferred for single mode N if the channel is clear and unused.

What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?

Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

eballard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 02:30:32 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for the response, I will try the selected options you have mentioned (I believe I have tried some before).

I am currently at work so will test when I get home - only just found this forum but they look great!

I know you probably need more information but is there any thing you can think of at the moment that could cause the above mentioned problems for only a couple of devices?

Thanks again

Ed
Logged

eballard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2012, 08:26:22 PM »

Hi,

Hardware version is A1
Firmware version is 1.00

I am Lower mainland BC, Canada.

I have tried using individual modes before - I currently use my apple TV on 5Ghz and other devices are on 2.5Ghz.

it is currently on auto 20/40Mhz and is on channel 6 - I have a WPA/WPA2-PSK protection.

Wireless devices connected are :

apple tv (5Ghz)
iMac (2.5)
2 iphones (2.5)
macbook air (2.5)

There are no cordless house phones.

There are definitely a lot of wireless networks in the building as I am in an apartment building.  I can't seem to run the program from my Mac.

Hope this information is of use.

As of right now everything is currently working ok on the network and there are no issues however it normally takes a couple of days for the issues to arise.

Thanks again for your help.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2012, 07:46:20 AM »

Hi,

Hardware version is A1
Firmware version is 1.00

I am Lower mainland BC, Canada.

I have tried using individual modes before - I currently use my apple TV on 5Ghz and other devices are on 2.5Ghz.

it is currently on auto 20/40Mhz and is on channel 6 - I have a WPA/WPA2-PSK protection.

Wireless devices connected are :

apple tv (5Ghz)
iMac (2.5)
2 iphones (2.5)
macbook air (2.5)

There are no cordless house phones.

There are definitely a lot of wireless networks in the building as I am in an apartment building.  I can't seem to run the program from my Mac. I might presume that if you have "a lot" of other neighboring WiFi near you that the channels are being used up and the router is stopping as it's encountering interference and is trying to find a better channel. Seems to find one then eventually it happens again. One test you can do is to run 5Ghz only for a while and turn off the 2.4Ghz radio and see if the same thing happens. I bet it won't. Might that your building is congested with 2.4Ghz radios. Were seeing this behavior in high populated areas with a lot of WiFi radios all going bear by.You can try to set a manual channel, try 1, then 6 and 11 on 2.4Ghz. Another item you can try is to lower the power out put of the router under Advanced/Advanced Wireless and change from High to Medium. This will create a smaller broadcast footprint. This will reduce the range however might reduce neighboring Wifi interaction and interferences.

Hope this information is of use.

As of right now everything is currently working ok on the network and there are no issues however it normally takes a couple of days for the issues to arise.

Thanks again for your help.


« Last Edit: July 10, 2012, 07:48:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

eballard

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2012, 07:58:31 AM »


Will definitely reduce the power out put as we are only in a small apartment. Will test the 5Ghz only next time if it runs into problems again - after creating this thread it seems to be behaving normally.

Thanks again for your help
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Dir-815 wireless problems
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2012, 08:03:46 AM »

Keep us posted on how it goes. Hope it will work better for you.  :)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting