• October 14, 2019, 08:26:38 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: IP Connection Issue  (Read 5872 times)

HolyDuFF

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
IP Connection Issue
« on: July 03, 2012, 08:48:15 PM »

Hi, i just got my D-Link DIR-857 and everything works fine except one thing. I can't connect to my server using my public IP address (212.107.157.49). If i try to connect to my website that is connected to my public IP address through a web browser everything works fine even if i type my public IP address it works. But when i try to connect to one of my Counter-Strike: Source servers via my public IP address or via my domain it won't work. I have to use the internal IP address of my server (192.168.0.199) to be able to connect to them. Also if i add the server to my favorites on the game or on steam it won't show up. It only shows up if i use the internal IP address. Also i can't download anything from my Counter-Strike: Source servers like a map if i don't have it cus the server sends the files from my website that i can't connect to except via a web browser. I also use a plugin called SourceBans that comes with a web interface made in php. And you connect all your servers to it so if you ban a player from one server they will get banned from all the servers that are connected to your SourceBans installation. The problem here is that the server it self that hosts the webserver with the SourceBans installation, MySQL and the Counter-Strike: Source servers can't connect to it self via my public IP address. And when i add the servers to my SourceBans installation i must use the servers internal IP address for the SourceBans installation to be able to connect to my Counter-Strike: Source servers. And that is a big problem because people often goes to my SourceBans page and clicks on the servers and then they click on connect. And then they are supposed to connect to the server but they will connect to my servers internal IP address so the connection will fail for them. As i mentioned before this is a very big problem for me so help would be very appreciated. Thx in advance :)

Hardware Version: A1
Firmware Version: 1.01
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IP Connection Issue
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2012, 09:03:59 PM »

What region are you located?


What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.


Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

HolyDuFF

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IP Connection Issue
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 10:12:01 PM »

Thx for replying. I tried everything you wrote w/o any luck :(

Q1: I believe it's cable. My connection is 100/100 Mbit/s via optical fiber.
Q2: I don't believe i have a modem. I connect my WAN cable to an ethernet jack in my wall.
Q3: See Q2.
Q4: See Q2.
Q5: It says 212.107.157.49
Q6: See Q2.

I'm going to save all my settings to a file and restore my device to factory defaults and see if it works with default settings.

EDIT: Restored my device to factory defaults and went through the quick installation and then forwarded all the ports needed. But it didn't solve the problem :(

EDIT2: The clock on the router seems to be having problems aswell. Every time i reboot the router it rollbacks x minutes. So the time stamps in the logs are not correct.

EDIT3: Not even DMZ works :(
« Last Edit: July 03, 2012, 10:57:31 PM by HolyDuFF »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IP Connection Issue
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2012, 08:11:07 AM »

Have you setup any virtual server settings for this yet? Might give that a try.
Try using an ntp server to collect the time.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

HolyDuFF

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: IP Connection Issue
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2012, 09:29:50 AM »

HTTP is set on virtual server but not the servers or MySQL. I will try to set everything to virtual server and see how it works. Where can i get an ntp server?

EDIT: Using virtual server to open all the ports solved the problem :)

EDIT2: Fixed the clock using an ntp server as u said. Thx for all your help :)
« Last Edit: July 04, 2012, 10:32:38 AM by HolyDuFF »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IP Connection Issue (RESOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2012, 09:12:00 AM »

Enjoy.  ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting