+  D-Link Forums
|-+  D-Link SharePort™ Mobile» DIR-505 » DIR 505 Cannot log on in repeater mode
Username:
Password:
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: DIR 505 Cannot log on in repeater mode  (Read 34754 times)
waly
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: June 25, 2012, 05:03:38 AM »

I have brought a DIR 505 but cannot log on when switched to repeater mode, any help?  Is it the bug of DIR 505?
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27603


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 07:08:38 AM »

What does the manual say?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2012, 06:00:18 PM »

The manual says very little, using many pages.  But repeater mode does work - for a while. Tell me exactly what you did when you tried it.  Did you connect to the DIR-505 wirelessly?  Did you see the wireless setup wizard?  If not, type "dlinkrouter" in your address bar and try that.  I will comment that my DIR-505 drops the connection to the "real" wireless station every 10-15 minutes, then gets it back again.
Logged
brownbox
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2012, 02:39:16 PM »

I have brought a DIR 505 but cannot log on when switched to repeater mode, any help?  Is it the bug of DIR 505?
I also cannot log in using the Repeater Mode.  I'm using an android device.
I can log on using Router Mode and Hotspot Mode (not Repeater mode)

I thought it had to do with the Old Firmware.  So I Updated to the new version 1.01.  No Luck.  Still can not log in under Repeater Mode -- using Android.

I get the feeling that all 3 modes work OK on Apple Products - Not on Android.

-----------------------------------------
Also waly what type of device are you using? (I assume it's android) provide a much info about your device a possible,  Thanks
« Last Edit: July 02, 2012, 09:50:39 PM by brownbox » Logged
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2012, 04:36:12 PM »

1.02 is the current firmware version.  Repeater mode worked fine for me with a PC - well, "fine" other than it dropping the connection to the hotspot every 10 minutes or so.  I doubt that Apple vs. Android matters.

When you use repeater mode you'll first connect using the default SSID as indicated on the included card (and on the DIR-505 itself), unless you changed this.  Once you are associated with that network, open the browser, go to http://dlinkrouter, and the login page should appear. You can then use the wizard to set up repeater mode, selecting the "real" network.  When the DIR-505 reboots, you'll have to go back to your WiFi settings on your device and connect to the new SSID.

I generally prefer to uncheck the box "Use the same Wi-Fi Network Name for the Extended Network if I am at a hotel or other place where others I don't know might want to connect to the SSID.  If it's just in my home, then I'll leave the box checked.  With it unchecked you get to specify a different SSID and password.

Also, note that the DIR-505 will not accept connections for 2-3 minutes after the LED turns green. Be patient.  If your device tells you that it can't join the network, wait a minute and try again.
Logged
brownbox
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 07:10:51 AM »

1.02 is the current firmware version. 
Where can I download Dir 505 firmware version 1.02 ?

When I go to the Dur 505 support page.  It says the latest version is 1.01 (not 1.02)
http://dlink.com/us/en/home-solutions/support/product/dir-505-shareport-mobile-companion


Please supply a link or directions to download the firmware version 1.02 (if it really exists).
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27603


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 07:29:04 AM »

It's highly recommended to run the unit with out updating if your not experiencing any issues. If the v1.02 is not posted then it's not meant for release to public as of yet and you'd be using any thing not published on the web site at your own risk.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2012, 07:34:07 AM »

It looks as if 1.02 was withdrawn.  It had been posted.
Logged
priller
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2012, 08:10:41 AM »

This has been resolved in firmware version 1.03.

This version was uploaded to dlink.com on 7/11/2012.  Working nicely now!  

« Last Edit: July 12, 2012, 08:13:39 AM by FurryNutz » Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27603


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2012, 08:25:50 AM »

Enjoy.  Wink
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DGL-5500>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
DRHamp
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2012, 03:27:03 PM »

When I Plug in the DIR 505 - I get the green light.  Using my Android Transformer Prime tablet, I can see the DIR 505 in my wireless connections and connect and enter the password provided on the card.  I get a continuous "obtaining ip address"  I cannot connect via the web browser at http://dlinkrouter  - I get "webpage not found"  so I am unable to set up my home network wireless.

I just received the DIR 505 today.............Any suggestions?
Logged
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2012, 04:24:11 PM »

First, I recommend waiting 2-3 minutes after you see the connection show up. It takes the DIR-505 a while before it can start accepting connections.

I have seen the repeated inability to get to the login page on my Win7 laptop. If you have waited long enough, all I can suggest is restarting your tablet to see if that helps.  You may also want to try disconnecting from the wireless and then reconnecting.
Logged
DRHamp
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2012, 04:41:39 PM »

Thanks, I'll try that
Logged
Bamsen
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2012, 02:14:13 AM »

I have the same problem, and I tried both firmware 1.0.2 and 1.0.3.
My main router is a D-Link DIR-615.

Any news on this problem?
Logged
holmes4
Level 3 Member
***
Posts: 122


« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2012, 07:51:37 AM »

It's working ok for me, using my iPad to access the setup wizard.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.