• October 14, 2019, 03:17:09 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: ETA on next firmware?  (Read 7735 times)

VOS

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
ETA on next firmware?
« on: May 19, 2012, 01:32:51 PM »

Any word on the next firmware? I have numerous logout issues where if I stay on a certain page/tweaking the settings too long, it logs me out. Also, I find that I may be connected one time to the internet and the next time I go to use my desktop pc and launch a web brower, I can't connect. I have to reboot the 857 when this happens and it happens on a regular basis.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 01:39:30 PM »

What browser are you using? Try Opera or FF?
These router do auto log out in 1 min of inactivity. Are you using the Save Settings and Reboot Later?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VOS

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2012, 06:11:33 AM »

IE. I'll try one of the others. 1 minute? I get kicked even less than that. But what kills me lately is (for example) connectivity one time, not connected the next. I'm using my desktop pc and if launch IE and go to my homepage, it won't display (IE cannot load this page screen). I then have to reboot the router and then I have connection. I have my mac address to never expire but it gets annoying to have to reboot the router everytime.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2012, 08:42:34 AM »

Something else is going on that is causing this condition.
Any security software running like a firewall?
Seems like something is interfering with your connection with the router as I don't or ever have experienced this issue.
Might swap out all cables, Cat6 is recommended.
Also for IE 8 and 9, try setting compatibility mode as well.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2012, 09:17:25 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VOS

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 11:18:27 AM »

I'm gonna ride it out for a bit as all the settings are about the same when I switched from my DGL-4500 to the 857.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2012, 11:44:08 AM »

Let us know if you can try some different browsers. Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RocNrolla

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2012, 02:37:02 PM »

I've been having similar issues., however I may have solved the issue...looks like one of my DSL line filters was acting up...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2012, 02:53:25 PM »

Odd how a DSL filter would effect the routers UI. Let us know what browser were you using? Does it happen if you try a different browser?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2012, 07:23:50 AM »

Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

RocNrolla

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2012, 03:28:36 PM »

sorry wasn't the filters.... I upgraded the fireware and everything seems stable. also reset the router to factory default and left most of the setting as-is. My Isp is Bell Sympatico ( sucks ) 5bps down and upto 1 mbps up.. My download speeds would drop from 5.16 mbps to just below 2mbps and lower and stay there untill i reset the router. We don't have much choice in internet providers around Toronto canada. Its either Bell (dsl) or rogers (cable) and both are rip offs compared with what most Americans get. I'll keep you posted.

Logged

RocNrolla

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2012, 06:29:39 PM »

OOPS! Stupid user error..LOL had wrong connection setting, must have overlooked this a hundred times. Everything running AOK !  ;D
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47834
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: ETA on next firmware?
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2012, 06:34:17 PM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting