• August 18, 2019, 03:06:27 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Motorola SB-6141  (Read 23316 times)

MintBubbleSpawn

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Motorola SB-6141
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2012, 12:42:04 PM »

*Update 2

Fixed!

Tried everything from setting changes to FW re-install. and nothing. until, I restored the modem to factory settings on the 6141 using the UI and while the 4500 was on and connected.

after talking with my isp's level 3 tech I learned that they were seeing my router as a NIC card from my PC  and not the 4500. "due to the fact I installed it hooked up to the PC before I added the 4500 into the mix. it seems the modem locked onto the NIC of the PC. and kept those settings even after hooking the 4500 up to the modem for the first time.

Anyways, Thanks again to Furry and all who gave insight into what could be the issue. not sure if anybody else is having this issue, but I hope this post will help.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Motorola SB-6141 (RESOLVED)
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2012, 12:44:43 PM »

Good to hear you got it resolved, Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

XS

  • Level 4 Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Motorola SB-6141
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2012, 02:58:21 PM »

Oh so you never reset the modem when you connected it to the 4500 initially?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Motorola SB-6141
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2012, 11:05:23 AM »

Here is a break down.

SB6120:
4 channels down, 4 channels up(4x4). Still the gold standard.

SB6121:
4x4, new case, MoCA filter.
Update:
Found this on a off site review of the SB-6121. This might work for users of this model on Time Warner Cable ISP Services- Not guaranteed though.
"I didn't feel like paying TWC money to lease a modem. I talked with multiple reps at Time Warner Cable (TWC) and they all said that they do not support the SB6121, but do support the SB6141. I really didn't want to spend $125 on a modem and because of someones post about how they have to support it (FCC regulations), I decided to buy one of the used SB6121 modems for $65. Once I was able to speak with someone at TWC (took 30 minutes of holding) I told the rep my MAC address, but told them my model number was SB6141 (supported in my area). Because the MAC address is the only thing that matters and they just wanted to check that I had a supported device there was no arguing and it took all of 2 minutes to activate. Again this was after two different reps told me the SB6121 would not work on their system.

I have only been using the modem for a short period of time, but have not had any problems. My ping time increased by about 5ms (not sure why), my upload speed didn't change, but my download speed increased by 5 to 10mb/s. This was without changing my internet plan.
"


SB6180:

8x4, new case, MoCa filter. Very hard to find.

SB6580:
8x4, new case, MoCA filter. Modem/Router Combo

SB6141:
8x4, new case, MoCA filter. Short answer, its uses a different tuner then the SB6180. Similar performance.

SB6183: Arris Branded
16x8,

SB6190: Arris Branded
32x8,
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r31079834-ALL-SB6190-is-a-terrible-modem-Intel-Puma-6-MaxLinear-mistake
« Last Edit: November 14, 2016, 01:40:04 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

kargo27

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 685
Re: Motorola SB-6141
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2012, 01:02:20 PM »

Nice info Furry!
« Last Edit: May 20, 2012, 09:37:30 AM by kargo27 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47683
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Motorola SB-6141
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2012, 01:19:17 PM »

Will probably make this a sticky for SB modems.  ;D There turning out to be some good modems. I really like em.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]