• September 17, 2019, 01:37:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems  (Read 9770 times)

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« on: April 23, 2012, 08:29:45 AM »

DIR-827 FW 1.2

On all client machines (wired and wireless) WAN through put is steady/stable ~20Mbps. I have tested ths peed on 3 windows 7 pro client machines wireless, 1 win 7 pro client machine wired, xbox 360 wireless, and wireless cameras.  no throughput issues.  However, when using IOS devices the speed/stability is dynamic and choppy/unreliable.  Unable to stream netflix and other video as well as other web applications/services.  Traffic shaping is OFF of course based on forum recommendation, but netflix on client machines is flawless.  Any ideas on settings or tweaks?  short GI on , WMM off.  thanks friends!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2012, 08:38:05 AM »

Whats "peed"?  ???

Welcome!
What region are you located?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try:
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.

Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition, WISH, WPS and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2012, 08:48:34 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2012, 08:52:19 AM »

hA! OK, meant Speed.  I did not pee on my router (yet)

What Hardware version is your router? A1

What Firmware version is currently loaded? 1.02
What region are you located? USA
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Both, but issue is wireless

What ISP Service do you have? Cable (comcast)
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Motorola SB6121 (i own this)

Some things to try:

Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking  DOING
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address. DOING

Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking. DOING

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual. I'm in a 2.4/5.0 simultaneous 802.11N only. i am a PURE N ENVIRONMENT.


Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only. USING AUTO, triend 20 only, no impact.

Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel. used Inssider, clean envvironment, and issue only with IOS clients, not windows or linux.

What security mode are you using? WPA2

Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out. short GI not having impact, currently ON, but have had off and no impact.


Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.    YES and YES.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2012, 12:52:29 PM »

Keep us posted...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2012, 12:59:03 PM »

I've made the recommended changes and still have the same throughput issues on IOS devices only. MTU is at 1500 as well.

dir-827 replaced a dir-655 that did not have issues.

Is there any other settings I can try?  the only difference I can really see in the two routers is one is 2.4 one is 2.4/5.0 simultaneous?

I'm trying to avoid and RMA on this unit if possible.  Is there anyway I could maybe send someone my configuration file and let them test another router with IOS device?  as it is happening on 7 IOS devices in our home I don't think it is the device itself.  I have tested 2 of the devices on non D-Link wireless networks (netgear and cisco) and have not been able to duplicate the problem leading me to think it may be a setting issue i have on this router?

thanks again!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2012, 01:04:48 PM »

Do you still have the 655 and can you access it settings to see what you had been using on it?

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2012, 01:07:11 PM »

unfortunately the 655 is now at my mom's house with a factory default . . .

Is there any reason to think the 5.0 band is causing some confusion on the IOS?  Not that anyone here is an apple expert, but could that even be a consideration or doubtful?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2012, 01:13:55 PM »

I would do this, shut off the 5Ghz radio and test single G and N modes on 2.4Ghz with your devices, then shut off the 2.4Ghz radio and test the 5ghz radio on N only and see.

I presume most of your iOS devices support 5Ghz?

Might try reviewing this and test:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=9893.30
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2012, 01:15:20 PM »

will test tonight.  was trying to stick with a pure 802.11n environment to maximize bandwidth.  read in smallnetforums about mixed environments slowing throughput.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2012, 01:19:54 PM »

This is just a test. I run mixed and some single. Just need to see if your seeing issues between the radios. Keep us posted.
A couple more thoughts:
Set WAN port speed on the router to 1000Mb as the 6121 is Gb supporting.
Swap out cables between the modem and router to be sure. CAT6 to be sure.
Turn off ALL Traffic Shapping and QoS options and test.
Could test with DNS relay OFF and you need to set up DNS on your devices though just as a test.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2012, 01:35:39 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

djslikrick

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2012, 07:55:07 AM »

I believe the issue may have been resovled now

i changed off auto20/40 to static 20 and that seems to have stabilized the WAN throughput.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: IOS (appletv, iphone, ipad) WAN throughput problems (RESOLVED)
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2012, 08:01:12 AM »

Good to hear. Keep us posted if you see anything else. Enjoy.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting