• October 21, 2020, 03:50:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available  (Read 23515 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« on: April 16, 2012, 10:51:36 AM »

Seems to only fix Shareport that got broke in v2.07NA:

ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655_revB/Beta/DIR655B1_FW208NAB01Beta.zip


Let us know what your experiences are.

Again this is only Beta. Not guaranteed or supported officially.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 07:43:03 AM »

I loaded this on my Rev B last night.

1. Seems to fix the Shareport issue as I was able to connect to my printer and print to it from my Mac Book OSX 10.6.

2. The IPv6 Route window still has the typographical errors.

3. I'm also noticing the following: After loading code and setting up the router for reservations, Wifi, NAT, turning off WPS and enabling multicast and setting a manual 1000Mb WAN port speed. I'm seeing constant activity on my network switch and device LAN LED indicators after saving all the settings and rebooting. I noticed this a few times while using v2.03 as well. Anyone else notice this? I don't see this behavior on my other routers. Seem to have some sort of impact on network performance too. This throwing an ARP scan for some reason or getting into some sort of odd state? Doing a Factory reset of the router clears this condition and normal network activity resumes. Only seems when I go to configure, save and reboot does this condition occur. I didn't get a chance to test with wireshark. I'll do another setup tonight and see how it goes.

4. Also noticed that the router would not clear previous settings after selecting Restore Factory Defaults using Safari on OSX 10.6 after coming back from the reboot.  :-\

Any feedback appreciated for this build.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2012, 10:02:40 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 05:38:47 AM »

I'm seeing constant activity on my network switch and device LAN LED indicators after saving all the settings and rebooting. I noticed this a few times while using v2.03 as well. Anyone else notice this?

Are you talking about the LEDs of connected lan ports flashing?  I've had this happen at times.  I decided to investigate it with tcpdump (a packet sniffer).  I found out that the router likes to send out ARP requests for all ip addresses in it's range even though most of the IP addresses aren't even leased out to client devices.


My DHCP rage is 192.168.18.100-192.168.18.199
Here is some output I've captured showing this:
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.199 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.198 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.197 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.196 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.195 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.194 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.193 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.192 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.191 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.190 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.189 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.188 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.187 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.186 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.185 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.184 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.183 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.182 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
14:d6:4d:31:ff:82 > ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff, ARP, length 60: Request who-has 192.168.18.181 tell 192.168.18.1, length 46
« Last Edit: April 20, 2012, 05:43:31 AM by nicknml »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 06:55:32 AM »

Great feedback Nick,
Yes, after doing a factory reset, I don't get constant LED activity however after going in and doing some configuration and settings and rebooting and the router comes to ready, ALL LEDs with anything connected on wired connection starts to constantly blink. I did a syslog and saw the following repeatedly after the router connected to the ISP modem: mroute: pending queue full, dropping entries..

I also saw this a few times on v2.03. I was able to clear this behavior on v2.03 by doing a power cycle most of the time or I reloaded a good saved config file.

v2.08 seems to not want to work correctly. Internet and connectivity is ok however I presume this impacts performance.

I would go back to v2.03 for now.

I've made DLink aware of this.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 11:56:44 AM »

I've also noticed when accessing the web interface by it's ipv6 link-local address, sometimes a page will fail to load, but I'm still trying to figure out if it's the router itself or my pc.

Logged

nicknml

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2012, 03:29:47 PM »

I'm also getting an error in the log at times:
   "/rootDesc.xml not found, responding ERROR 404"
Logged

romicva

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2012, 11:24:53 AM »

I was forced to install it on my RevB and got USB back.
There are strange occasional slowdowns...
Is this the reason you are suggesting to stay away?
Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2012, 12:03:00 PM »

Yes, for some reason the router is constantly doing something and creating activity that syslog is reporting repeatedly after connecting the router to my ISP modem. Not sure why. Network activity should not be constantly active unless there is actual data activity going like downloads or streaming. So I don't recommend using this version for actual daily use. V2.03 seems the be the best and is most stable and works well with everything.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

romicva

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2012, 08:04:02 AM »

Thank you for your reply. Your information is consistent with what I see on my network.

The reason I upgraded 2.03 was annoying occasional signal loss. I could never pinpoint the reason for the dropouts. I never managed to troubleshoot it. Any guidance on improving reliability of 2.03?

Is it hard to downgrade the firmware?

Thank you for all your help. It is really appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2012, 09:49:22 AM »

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.


Wireless Installation Considerations
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out. How Many?

Turn off WISH, and WPS under Advanced.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition,and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Cat6 is recommended.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.

Thank you for your reply. Your information is consistent with what I see on my network.

The reason I upgraded 2.03 was annoying occasional signal loss. I could never pinpoint the reason for the dropouts. I never managed to troubleshoot it. Any guidance on improving reliability of 2.03?

Is it hard to downgrade the firmware?

Thank you for all your help. It is really appreciated.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

volkris

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2012, 04:31:50 AM »

This beta actually fixed some problems for me outside of Sharepoint.

Most importantly, for IPv6, the previous version just stopped working with my connection to my tunnel broker. IIRC, the router would not give itself an address and so nothing else could route through it either.

The version before that stopped sending router advertisements to the wireless network; it would only send them to wired. It's unknown whether THAT was fixed in the last version since the lack of a self-address killed the process before the router advertisement stage.

So with this beta, both issues are fixed and my ipv6 is working like a champ! Feel free to ask for clarification if this reply was too unclear...
Logged

whoo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #11 on: August 11, 2012, 09:48:26 AM »

Hi,

Thank's for this new release.
It's working fine for basic default setup.

#ipv6
Ipv6 with 6rd working fine.
Trouble with Wifi is solved.

Great !


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2012, 11:12:53 AM »

Don't see any other issues?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

epsoft

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #13 on: August 20, 2012, 05:19:20 PM »

Hy, I have a connection through PPPoE from my ISP, connect to ISP, but not assign IP in DHCPv6 LAN
   I come back with PrintScreen about this issue. Firmware 2.03NA and 2.07NA same issue. Thenx.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49273
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Beta v2.08NAB01 Available
« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2012, 05:22:55 PM »

Is the ISP modem bridged and is the 655 using PPPoE as the connections? Is IPv6 supported from your ISP and on the ISP modem and on the PCs?

If your trying to get IPv6 on LAN devices, it needs to be enabled I think on the router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!
Pages: [1] 2