• September 17, 2019, 02:41:33 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load  (Read 20296 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2012, 09:50:39 AM »

Would be interesting if you get yourself another DLink router and see if you exhibit the same thing on it. Say another 827 or try a 825 or if you have one available, an 857 to test. Might also try this router on a different ISP network, say test at a friend, neighbor or families place?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #16 on: April 22, 2012, 12:43:16 PM »

I could try it at a friends place next time I go im sure. This is my second 827, as I did exchange it about 2 weeks ago. I did try hooking my 655 back up and it was fine while downloading torrents etc with the same settings. It did not report any issues under wan, but did report about 4 gazillion packet drops and errors under wireless, which is part of the reason I replaced it. It was getting tired.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2012, 12:59:09 PM »

Understood. Check it out at your friends place if you can. Will see if DLink can come up with anything.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2012, 03:04:36 PM »

Thanks for all your help FurryNutz :D (quite the name haha)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2012, 12:56:17 PM »

 ;D
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Slimline

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #20 on: May 05, 2012, 01:23:24 PM »

Just an update, I have been awaiting a firmware update to see if it could alleviate my issue. However my stubbornness and love of uTorrent caved, I downloaded and tried tixati as a torrent client and no lock ups with the 827 with QOS enabled. I am baffled. I tried completely uninstalling uTorrent and reinstalling with no luck.

I believe you asked me to try a different torrent client near the beginning of this thread, I should have done it sooner. I just couldn't understand how a program that had zero ill effects with the computer or previous router suddenly doesn't play well with the current one.

Anyways! Problem solved in the meantime.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47755
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: 827 locking up/force rebooting under heavy bit torrent load
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2012, 07:39:06 AM »

Good to hear that you got it resolved. Sometimes it takes additional steps and caving in to check things out. There is a Bit Torrent post that I captured and placed in the FAQ Library last week. You might take a look at it and see if it helps the one BT client if your still wanting to use it. Most BT issues stem from the clients and how they are set up. Ya, there mostly setup to use maximum bandwidth and connections. Seems like sometimes, that isn't the best configuration. Anyways, enjoy for now. Should work well for you.  ;)
« Last Edit: May 14, 2012, 03:04:56 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]