• March 30, 2020, 08:11:59 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect  (Read 8013 times)

rwinger

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« on: April 09, 2012, 07:29:39 AM »

So I have had my router now for a year and was having no issues. I then found out there was a firmware upgrade so I installed it. Now when I am playing game in which I am connected to battle.net (SC2 or WoW) I will get a message about my "achievements are unavailable" "disconnected from battle.net" then I get the "connected to battle.net" message. This will not disconnect me from the game I am playing but just the general chat and it will take me out of the party in which I am in. Can anyone give me a hand with this?

thanks!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 07:39:13 AM »

Welcome!
What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on routers web page under status.
What region are you located?
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router?
What ISP Modem make and model do you have?
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.
If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the 4500 gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ.

Some things to try:
Turn off ALL QoS or Disable Traffic Shaping (DIR only) GameFuel (DGL only and if ON.) options. Advanced/QoS or Gamefuel.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option under Setup/Internet/Manual.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices ON the router. Setup/Networking
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.
Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP under Advanced/Firewall.
Enable uPnP and Multi-cast Streaming under Advanced/Networking.

What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
Try single mode G or mixed G and N on 2.4Ghz and single mode N on 5Ghz?
Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
Try setting a manual channel to a open or unused channel.
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Any cordless house phones?
Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI, WLAN Partition and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Turn off all devices accept for one wired PC while testing.

Might have to set up some port forwarding rules for Battle.net
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rwinger

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 07:56:04 AM »


What Hardware version is your router? A1
What Firmware version is currently loaded? 1.02NA
What region are you located? Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? PC - Wired XBOX&PS3 Wireless

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Cable
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? Stand Alone
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? Arris TM722

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 08:08:40 AM »

Be aware that we've see some issues with Arris modems and external routers.

Are you getting a 192.168 address under Status/Device Info/Wan section or some other address?
Also for gaming, I would recommend getting into a different router, say a DIR-655, DIR-825, DGL-4500 as these are great routers for gaming and offer additional QoS for gaming and such.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rwinger

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2012, 08:29:45 AM »

I have gone ahead and done all the changes that you wrote in your first reply. I will see if anything happens and go from there. Thanks for all the help!!!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2012, 08:30:47 AM »

Keep us posted on the results.

Maybe someone can review your router settings with you using teamviewer if your interested. Its safe and secure.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

rwinger

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2012, 08:38:28 AM »

Within 2 mins it did it. I would be interested in the teamviewer deal if you would be willing
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2012, 08:39:49 AM »

Send me a PM with ID and PW. Please be wired to the router.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 48520
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Battle.Net Disconnect Then Reconnect
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2012, 09:02:28 AM »

BTW, I have the 825 router, it's a great one. I also have the 4500 and 655 too.  ;) If you get the 825, you can turn the 601 in to an AP if you like.
Turning a router into an AP.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!