• September 20, 2019, 04:29:11 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1  (Read 18520 times)

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #15 on: March 08, 2012, 09:05:46 AM »

The problem was that one disk seems to be not really connected. Now I have access to my data again and the system shows the 750GB capacity again.
But, the system still does not show the 2nd disk. I'm really afraid that something is wrong with the 2nd slot, since it is always the right slot which does not show up. I'm pretty sure the disks are in the correct order.
Do you think a reset of the firmware could help?

Resetting the FW should do any harm, but I don't believe it will provide any benefit here either. If you reset the unit to the factory default settings, be sure to save your configuration settings file to your desktop for easy restoration of your user settings.
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1448
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #16 on: March 08, 2012, 09:42:09 AM »

Oh, sounds great. So you are saying I could use an external hard disk case? Anybody has a hint what IFS driver to use for Windows 7 to read the data?
As long as the external case will accept SATA drives then you should have no problems.  As to an IFS driver for win7, have a look in the sticky thread mentioned by JavaLawyer earlier - I didn't have that problem as the client uses linux.
Logged

Bruegge

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #17 on: March 08, 2012, 11:59:43 AM »

As long as the external case will accept SATA drives then you should have no problems.  As to an IFS driver for win7, have a look in the sticky thread mentioned by JavaLawyer earlier - I didn't have that problem as the client uses linux.

I tried the Ext2IFS driver but I got an error when I tried to install it - something like 'not compatible with this Windows version'.. The other two are not for free. If there is no other way I would probably first try to copy it manually via the network.
Logged

shabuboy

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #18 on: March 08, 2012, 01:29:48 PM »

JavaLawyer brings a good point, make sure you have a backup while playing with the disks upgrade. I do have one.

Logged

Bruegge

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #19 on: March 09, 2012, 11:05:24 AM »

By now I have stored all my data on a separate device, reseted all system settings and installed both formated new disks to set up the system. But it still does show only one disk, the left one. It seems like there is a problem with the right slot, since the system still shows the left disk once I changed the disks from right to left..
Let's test the d'link support team..  :(
Logged

palimpsest

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2012, 01:03:36 PM »

Hmmm... I will be doing this pretty soon, I was under the impression there was a way to upgrade the HD capacity without the need for an external copy.

1: Take out one of the current Raid 1 disks
2: Add new disk and config as standard
3: Copy files from one volume to the other
4: Remove old Raid 1 disk
5: Add new disk as Raid 1

Will that work or not?
Resurrecting this old thread...  Can anyone confirm whether this technique works?
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1448
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #21 on: October 26, 2012, 12:34:06 PM »

Sorry I can't confirm that it would work but assuming you have a validated backup of your data from your old RAID array you have nothing to loose by trying it.

If you do try let us know your results.
Logged

vvanchev

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2017, 07:25:36 AM »

Well it's been a while, but I'll tell you the right way ;)
At least the half of it :)
Hope it will be helpful to someone :)

I did full backup to external HDD via usb.

The path is:

Attach USB HDD, then:
Applications -> Local Backups -> USB backups ->
Choose enable -> NAS to USB -> source Volume 1 -> destination ext. HDD -> save settings -> then press usb button in front of the 320L (this starts the process)
With me the backup was completed in about 30 hours (500gb)

Then change the disks with bigger and do the same but choose option USB to NAS.
At this point I received "backup failed: error 8", but it should work...
At least I have full backup to the external HDD with one click.
Now I'm copying the data back manually...
« Last Edit: February 26, 2017, 07:28:57 AM by vvanchev »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #23 on: February 26, 2017, 05:51:49 PM »

Thanks for posting. Hope it helps any future users.

I suggest to get a quicker back up from DNS or xfer of data back to the DNS, would be to xfer the data to a networked PC with a Gb connection for maximum xfer rate speeds. USB will always be a bottle neck and USB performances can't match Gb LAN connection speeds.

Good Luck.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Foz

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2018, 02:16:39 PM »

I did the copying process detailed above but managed to work a way how you needed after.

Leave your old drive in the NAS and add the new drive.

Format the drive as standard to get the full drive formatted.

Copy the data from the old drive to the new one.
 I did this by using the local back up feature so I didn't need to leave a PC running for it to complete. I struggled getting it back up the from the root so had to schedule each folder separately, that might have just been me making an error somewhere but I can't be sure.

Once all the data is copied over remove the old drive and add the 2nd new drive.

Format the new drive as RAID 1 and enable the auto rebuild, saves you have to rebuild manually after.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 47763
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Disk Upgrade - replace both disks and rebuild RAID1
« Reply #25 on: July 29, 2018, 08:43:19 AM »

Thanks for posting. Hope it helps any future users.


I did the copying process detailed above but managed to work a way how you needed after.

Leave your old drive in the NAS and add the new drive.

Format the drive as standard to get the full drive formatted.

Copy the data from the old drive to the new one.
 I did this by using the local back up feature so I didn't need to leave a PC running for it to complete. I struggled getting it back up the from the root so had to schedule each folder separately, that might have just been me making an error somewhere but I can't be sure.

Once all the data is copied over remove the old drive and add the 2nd new drive.

Format the new drive as RAID 1 and enable the auto rebuild, saves you have to rebuild manually after.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>NetGear C7800>DIR-882>DGS-1100>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-3902/2202/1203,DIR-2680,890L,882,880L,868L,DNR-202L,DNS-345x2,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2]