Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Having trouble getting wireless to work on D-Link Wireless N 150 H.R. DIR-601  (Read 6191 times)
Auraelys
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« on: February 27, 2012, 02:22:13 PM »

I followed all the instructions that came on the CD with my D-Link router, but it won't work unless I run an ethernet cord out of port 1 into my computer.  As this completely defeats the purpose of having a wireless router, I'd like some assistance getting this fixed.

Here's all the information I've seen you ask from everyone else:

What Hardware version is your router? A1
What Firmware version is currently loaded? 1.01NA (according to sticker)
What region are you located? Illinois, USA
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? I'm currently wired to my D-Link wireless, which is wired to my modem.  I'd like to be wireless.
Did you set up a admin log-in and wireless passwords? Under Tools/Admin and Setup/Wireless/Manual. Yes. Smiley

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? DSL
What ISP Modem do you have? Stand Alone or built in router? I'm assuming it's stand-alone.  I have a Westell Model 6100 DSL Modem.  It's from Verizon.
What ISP Modem make and model do you have? See previous.  Just don't laugh at how old the modem is!
If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems. I'm assuming this isn't me.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

I'm not completely incompetent, but if you can, please keep the explanation kind of simple.  Networks and routers and all this really aren't my forte.

Thanks in advance!
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27788


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 02:32:36 PM »

Are you getting internet and broswing the internet while wired?

Need to set up the wireless under Setup/Wireless/Manual when you go to the routers web page at 192.168.0.1.

Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only.
What wireless devices do you have connected?
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27788


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 02:39:12 PM »

I would venture to say that your modem as a built in router already.
Westell Model 6100 DSL Modem

If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems.
To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged.

I would call your ISP and ask them if this can be done, if not, see if there is a DMZ option on the modem and input the IP address the 601 router gets from the Modem and input that into the DMZ on them modem.

Keep us posted.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Auraelys
Level 1 Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2012, 07:26:59 PM »

To answer your question on the previous post--yes, I get internet while I'm wired, but not when I go wireless.

My D-link router's ip starts with 50.40, so I'm guessing that means it is bridged.  Everytime I call Verizon (my internet service provider) to ask what the problem is, they tell me it's because I'm using a non-Verizon-brand-wireless-router.  (Which can't be true, as I've used a Netgear wireless router faithfully up until I installed this one.)  How do I fix this bridging problem?

Thanks for all your help. Smiley  It's greatly appreciated.
Logged
FurryNutz
Poweruser
  ▲
▲ ▲
*****
Posts: 27788


D-Link Global Forum Moderator


WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 07:08:30 AM »

Ya figured they say something like that, even though they are not the standard in wireless. Maybe for cell phone however not for computer wifi. Once the modem is bridged and if your not getting a 192.169.0.something in the WAN IP address under Status/Device Info/Wan section, then your getting a public IP address and all is good up to the router.

Now for the reason your not getting any internet thru the Wifi if connected there.

You have set up a SSID name that you can see on the PC that you are trying to connect?
What wireless modes are you using? Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
Try single mode G or mixed G and N?
What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/Auto TPIK and AES. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only. Try turning OFF Security as a test to see if you get connected and internet. Anything here?


Any other WiFi routers in the area? Use InSSIDer to find out.
Turn off Short GI and Extra Wireless Protection if you have it. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
Logged

Cable:50mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6180>DIR-815>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3x4500s,DGL-5500,DIR-857,835,827,815,880L,868L,865L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655,645,601,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Theme by webtechnica.com.